Indigenous-Inspired Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It's NAIDOC week here in Straya. NAIDOC week celebrates the history and culture of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. I have only been living in Australia for about 4 years so I haven't had the luxury of having too much exposure to aboriginal culture. This week at my workplace one of my work colleagues, Tenisha, has been talking to us about her culture, and saying that the aboriginal culture has lasted so long because the people are so passionate about sharing their culture with others.

I asked Tenisha to give me and my other colleagues some traditional recipes and I am going to share one of those recipes with you guys today as I try to make it for the first time!

🍗 🍚 Coconut Chicken Curry 🍗 🍚

Ingredients: 500g chicken (breast or thigh), 1 onion, 2 carrots, 2-3 potatoes (can be either regular, sweet or a mix - I chose sweet), 1 can of coconut milk, 250ml chicken stock, half a can of peas, 2 cloves garlic, 2 teaspoons minced ginger, and 3 teaspoons of curry powder (can use bay leaves instead), salt and pepper.

1. Chop up all your chicken and veggies! 🔪

2. Fry the chicken, onion, garlic, ginger, salt, pepper, and curry powder until chicken is cooked. Meanwhile boil veggies partway until still firm as we will simmer them further later!🔥

3. Simmer the chicken and onion in the coconut milk and chicken stock for around 20 minutes. Then add the potatoes and carrots and simmer for a further 5-10. Throw in the peas right around the end. I added a couple of bay leaves for good luck!

4. Serve! 🍴 Tenisha's tip was to "Serve with rice but fresh bread and loads of butter is a must!" so I did exactly that!

Delicious!!

I was happy that I got to try a popular aboriginal dish, and learn some more about the indigenous culture of Australia. I love foods from different origins and seeing the similarities between dishes from different cultures. Do you guys have a similar chicken dish that you make?

Want to see another recipe? 😍 Take a peek at this Brigadeiro and Beijinho Recipe if you want to see me make these yummy Brazilian sweet treats with my stepdaughter!


Sort:  

Awww thank you so much @homeartpictures for featuring my recipe on your post!!! I just had a look, your blog looks awesome :)

you are welcome...

i love curry of all kinds :)

Mmm yes. All curry is good curry. Although my favorite is green curry with veggies.

yumm me too!! I don't discriminate... i have equal love for all curries everywhere 😍 🍴

I was just about to go to bed but then seen this blog... now I can't sleep cause I'm hungry now haha

haha sorry! time for a midnight feast @stackin 🍴

Yes, delicious! You went a little coconuts on that recipe. We like that 😍 @hannahlicious

Upvote for getting the good Woolies chicken! 👌🐔

hahaha... thank you @groundcontrol! yes, always prefer the free range ones that come in that reassuring green packet :)

Oh yeah, the purple ones are always full of chicken water, nasty.
Your food looks top shelf!

Amazing recipe dear! It is always great to see different curries around the world!
I do it differently here in Mauritius, my wife who is from Morocco does it differently!
Do check mine when i will post it!

Cheers
@progressivechef

thanks so much :)
Yeah I LOVE curry, so would definitely love to check your recipe when you post it :)

Looks yummy.. Check out mine
https://steemit.com/indian/@gauravchugh/indian-dish-food
Upvoted and followed.. Follow back @gauravchugh Thanks

Yummm just checked out your recipe, I love indian food :)

Mmmm LOVE IT!

One of my favorite foodie activities is to try different cultural dishes. I'm thinking to follow your recipe, and post it with pics.

Will tag you when I do.

Nice post, @hannahlicious :)

thank you @princessmewmew!!! 😍
Yesss me too!
I love trying new foods and I love cooking something new for the first time!!
Yes sounds awesome!!! whats a really traditional south african dish? you should definitely post one, I would love to try and cook along to your recipe :)

Okay! Inspired! I will try this curry recipe in the next week or so then

In South Africa, there are so many different cultures (we have 11 official languages), so there are tons of different types of food.

I must say I think our most typical meal would be braai (barbecue). Lots of chops and boerewors (directly translated - farmers sausage, actual translation - nice and thick spiced sausage), and a good potato salad and braai broodjies (barbequed sandwiches)

We even have national braai day !

yuuuuum, i like the sound of that :) haha a national day to have barbecue would be amaaaazing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51