Saigon Attracttions: Hủ tiếu Nam Vang - the highlight of Saigon’s cuisine

in #food6 years ago

Hủ Tiếu is a kind of noodles that is really popular in the South. “Nam Vang” is the way Vietnamese people call capital of Cambodia - Phnom penh. Initially, this noodle was made by Vietnamese people coming back from Cambodia, as what I know.

Hu tieu Nam Vang is in my list of “the dishes must eat in Saigon”. There are too many places selling Hu Tieu with a wide variety of prices, from $1 to $5. I choose Nhan Quan - one of the most well known Hu Tieu restaurants in Saigon to have the first try. I dont know what makes the differences between 1$ Hu Tieu and $5 one. So I pick the Hu Tieu at the middle price - 3$. :”>


D8C4ED88-B07B-4C94-ADBD-805744911DBB.jpeg


  • They bring the big dish of vegi with the kind of vegi that in the north we rarely add on the noodles. But here, it is specialized for Hu Tieu. You can choose to eat fresh one or ask the restaurant to dip it quickly through boiled water. The second way is better for me since it is still fresh but not too tough to eat.
  • There are two kinds of Hu Tieu: dry and with soup. I pick the Hu Tieu with soup even though most of people in the restuarant are having dry one.
  • It looks really mouth-watering with big shirmp, mince of meat, few slices of pig liver, ...
  • Not just good looking, the taste also awesome. I was warned that it may be quite sweet compared to the taste of northern people. But I dont think so, it totally fit with my taste, everything is just enough, just perfect.
  • The noodles is so special, I dont know how to describe but I have ever tried any kind of noodles like that. The soup is savoury with the sweet coming from stewed bone. Shirmps are really big and fresh, you better is prepare a bit soy sauce to dip it in for the better taste.
  • I finish a big bowl of Hu Tieu and even big dish of vegi.

If Pho is a kind of noodles that shows the subtle of Northern people, Hu tieu is the one that shows the generous and liberal soul of Southern people.


@hanggggbeeee

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67