WHOLE WHEAT PUMPKIN PANCAKES WITH MAPLE CINNAMON BUTTER & HONEY (PUMPKIN RECIPE SERIES No. 4)

in #food8 years ago

What's for BREAKFAST?  I have an idea, PANCAKES!!

All of these photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G,  ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!   

It's almost October and in my mind, once that happens, the holidays have begun.  Next month, we have the obligatory task of having a Harry Potter marathon, watch all the scary movies we can, and of course, carve up some pumpkins.  Why is this obligatory, you may ask?  Listen, I don't make the rules

GIF SOURCE

Okay, but pancakes. I think my favorite thing about these pancakes is that they are a completely healthy recipe (possibly minus the brown sugar and butter, but those are still considered healthy in moderation, right?), but they taste like dessert! All the flavors you adore in the autumn are wrapped up in a fluffy pancake form and topped with this delicious maple cinnamon butter! Yuh-um! 

The good thing about these is that you can still make them all through November and even into December if you aren’t sick of pumpkin by then. I can’t think of any breakfast that makes my family as happy as pancakes (with the possible exception of bacon with pancakes)! I’m gonna bet you’re a pancakes fan as well if you’ve suffered through my random rambling to get here. So I’ll leave it here and shut up so you can get to making these! 

RECIPE
 

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 35 minutes

Yield: 6 - 8

Ingredients

Maple Cinnamon Butter:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened to room temp
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla bean scrapings (about 1 bean)

Pancakes:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder

Instructions

Maple Cinnamon Butter:

  1. Stir together the maple syrup and butter with a fork in a small bowl until combined. Add the vanilla and cinnamon and stir very well until mixture is light and easily spreadable.

Pancakes:

  1. Whisk the eggs, milk, pumpkin, melted butter, honey, and vanilla in a medium mixing bowl. In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients and stir until combined, then add to the liquid mixture. Whisk until combined.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat and spray lightly with oil or cooking spray. Pour 1/4 to 1/3 cup of batter per pancake onto skillet and cook on each side for 1 to 2 minutes until browned. Repeat with remaining batter.
  3. Serve warm with maple butter and syrup if desired.


PUMPKIN RECIPE SERIES:

No. 1  GNOCCHI WITH BEER PUMPKIN CHEDDAR SAUCE AND PEAS

No. 2  PEANUT BUTTER PUMPKIN YELLOW CURRY PITA TACOS

No. 3  MALTED PUMPKIN CAKE LAMINGTONS DIPPED in CHOCOLATE


The jury is still out about the " Pay me 100% in Steem Power" button.  What is your opinion?

Oh, and one other thing, there is some noise out there about 'capping' payouts.  I make a real effort to stay away from debates here on Steemit.  And I know my niche is food photography and life in Chile, but I can't help expressing my opinion on this,.. it's a HORRIFIC idea and it it's allowed to carry on, it will destroy this experiment we call Steem.  What's your opinion?


 AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO @rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

 I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to follow me 



Sort:  

Thank you for the recipe @gringalicious!
The photos and the background are awesome!

thank you so much for the kind words

I'm so hungry now! awesome post! :)

Thank you for your encouragement!

You take amazing photos it has to be said. It makes me want to eat everything! Did you ever take a photography course or do you just have the eye for it?

Thank you very much for the compliment. No, I never took a course, self taught. My Dad bought me some videos, but, I never could find time to watch them.

OMG!
A Weakness,
Pancakes!!!
I Would Eat
The Whole Stack,
Then Take A Nap!!
I Saved This Recipe!
YUM!

Naps are amazing. thank you for your support - Steem ON

Yum! Another great and beautiful dish!

thank you so much for your continued support

maybe I'll see how the pumpkin is carved next time?

I hope to have a few posts with some unique carvings. We'll see how things go.
Thanks for commenting

Looking forward to see. :-)

upvoted @gringalicious - pumpkin lover - glad you posted the other blogs on more pumpkin recipes
"capping payouts?" sighs ...
why o why -

mega thanks for the upvote. Glad to hear you are a pumpkin lover, I have more recipes coming. And I was super glad to see that @masteryoda shook off the negative vibs of those suggesting caps. Steem ON

@gringalicious - I am, they're very good for the eyes ...
and looking forward to the next one. <3

coming soon, No. 5 will be today or tomorrow, keep watching. - Steem ON

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65