GNOCCHI WITH BEER PUMPKIN CHEDDAR SAUCE AND PEAS (Pumpkin Recipe Series No. 1)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians!  ARE YOU READY FOR PUMPKIN TIME?! Today, I kick of a new series of recipes all focused around pumpkin.  For all of you up in the Northern Hemisphere, pumpkins are going to start coming fast, hard and heavy.  So, here's a recipe to be more creative with what to do with all those pumpkins.

All of these photos were taken with my Nikon D5300, except for the one of my camera, por supuesto (of course).  All content is mine and original.

As a reminder to you all, I live in Chile.  We have a different type of pumpkin here, but the flavor is pretty close to the variety most of you are accustomed to.  Here, we call this variety, Zapallo which really is simply español for squash.  But, that's the name we use here to refer to pumpkin.

And another note about food here in Chile,... Cheddar cheese is not a common thing here.  Fortunately, and I say again, fortunately, a New Zealand based diary company, Sorpole, with large operations here in Chile, started producing Cheddar about 18 months ago.  When that day came, it was a glorious day for my family.  

The Cheddar here is great quality.  No preservatives or additives. 

I’ve made gnocchi from scratch before but this time I used store-bought that my mom found at our local market. I usually like to do things all the way but I was kind of secretly happy that this was such an easy meal to make with the pre-made. 

Does that make me a cheater-cheater-pumpkin-eater? I know, could I be any more corny? Well, actually, I probably could but I won’t put you through that. Besides, you don’t have time to sit there and read my attemps to be funny.  You’ve got some cheddar cheese to grate because this is definitely a recipe worth trying! 

RECIPE

Prep Time: 35 minutes

Cook Time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes

Yield: 8

Ingredients

  • 2 (1 lb.) packages potato gnocchi
  • 1 cup canned or frozen sweet peas

Beer Pumpkin Cheddar Sauce:

  • 3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup (1/2 of 1 (8 oz) can of beer)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika

Instructions

  1. Cook gnocchi according to package instructions.
  2. While water is heating for gnocchi make the sauce. Melt butter in a medium saucepan over low heat. Remove from heat and stir in flour until there are no lumps. Return to heat and slowly pour in milk and beer and stir until smooth.
  3. Turn heat to medium and continue stirring until sauce begins to thicken; then add pumpkin and seasoning.
  4. Reduce heat to low again and stir in cheese until melted.
  5. Add cooked gnocchi and peas to sauce and stir to coat.
  6. Serve hot.

NotesI like to add meat sometimes. Chicken is great and so is bacon. Try it with any meat you want. 

You have to try this, it's really easy and you'll impress everyone with your culinary skills!


This will be my first post that I am Clicking the " Pay me 100% in Steem Power" button.  I will let you all know my opinion on how it turns out.

 AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO @rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

 I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to follow me.


Sort:  

Looks great @gringalicious... Love that gnocchi!

Awesome, thank you so much for commenting!

Class and it is tasty!

thank you so much for commenting

Sounds & looks delicious! I love gnocci and it's always good to come across tasty recipes to try out :-)

I hope you do try it out and put your own twist on it. Enjoy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45