TRADITIONAL UKRAINIAN RED BORSCHT SOUP

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians.  Today, I'd like to share a recipe and photos with you.  This soup is a traditional soup that is very common in many European countries. I know this because it is something that is familiar to two of my sisters. In 2006 my family hosted two beautiful little girls from Ukraine during their visit to the states. We knew right away that God had planned for them to be part of our family all along. In 2007 they became my sisters and have been ever since. 

 It is strange to talk about it now because it seems like so long ago.  You would never know that they were not born into our family if you met them. People tell us all the time that we look so much alike. They are as much gringas as I am. 

 I’ve never tried making borscht before, but we had all the ingredients so it seemed like the perfect time to try it. It is already a very red soup but instead of green cabbage and white onions I happened to have red cabbage and red onions. It made the soup even darker. You could just call this “A Whole Lot of Red Soup” I can see why it is such a traditional dish in Europe. It is so cheap to make and so healthy. 

 Traditional Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 1 hour, 40 minutes

Total Time: 2 hours

Yield: 10

Ingredients

  • 6 cups chicken stock, beef stock, or vegetable stock for vegetarians
  • 3 medium beets, washed well
  • 3 large potatoes, peeled and chopped into cubes
  • 3 medium carrots, thinly sliced or shredded
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 head red cabbage, cored and shredded
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 - 4 tablespoons sugar or to taste
  • salt and papper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon fresh dill, chopped


Instructions

  1. Place beets in a large pot and fill with just enough water to cover them. Cover pot and boil until tender, about 45 minutes. Remove beets from pot to a plate or cutting board and set aside to cool.
  2. Add broth, carrots,and potatoes to beet water and boil covered for about 15 minutes, then add onions, garlic, cabbage, and diced tomatoes.
  3. Peel and slice the cooked beets and add to pot. Cook until the beets lose their color, about 30 minutes. Add tomato sauce, sugar, dill, salt, and pepper then reduce to simmer for 10 minutes.
  4. Serve hot topped with sour cream

NotesMany recipes for borscht add sausage or beef. Feel free to add meat of any kind or even beans if you are a vegetarian. 


I took these shots with a Canon PowerShot SX500 IS.   Normally, I use my Nikon D5300, but I chose to go simple this time.

Hope you enjoy!  Please let me know if you try this and what results you end up with.

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

I love soup, This has so many Different flavours it sounds lovely .

Thank you for the compliment

That's right . For me borscht is one of the best kinds of soup. It is very often included in my daily menu.

Where do you live?

Israel, Haifa )

Delicious! And pictures are great. Love borsch

Thank you for the compliment

Looks great. I always get into conversations about borscht with my Russian and Ukrainian students, but I'm yet to try it. I'll have to make a point of cooking some soon.

You should do it. It's not difficult and it will give you a glimpse into their culture.

wow this loosk wonderful

Thank you for the compliment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39