PHILLY CHEESTAKE NACHOS With PROVOLONE (Food Photo Shoot & Recipe) QUICK & EASY!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians!! Who needs an easy entre for tonight?! It's Wednesday and we need something simple, am I right?

All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G, ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

Ok, so we've already established that today, we need something simple. It's Wednesday and we just need that simple something FULL of AMAZINESS to get us by. Well, here it is, for all you crazy steemians, the lot of you. Simple to make with crazy AWESOME flavor.

I know, I know, there are probably some purists out there that think you can't mess with THE NACHOS, but you guys just need to calm down for a bit. CHILL or in espanol, tranquillo! Listen, we all love the classics, but, let's expand our horizons here and live a little. Trust me, give these a try and you'll thank me later.

I have two brothers and a brother-in-law that can put it away. Also, you may remember from several posts back, I spoke of us hosting a friend of my Dad's from Venezuela. His name is Diego and holy S#i% can he put it away too. So, with that in mind, I've had to come up with some hearty and simple ideas to satisfy these beasts. And, let me tell you, this idea did the trick.

Normally, I like to make things from scratch and I often post semi-technical recipes. I can already tell from my earlier post today (THE GREEN SAMURAI SMOOTHIE) that the Steemit community wants QUICK and EASY. Well, this will fit the bill. I have heard your cry and I am here to deliver.

One of the best things about these nachos in particular is that you get to make all toppings in just one pan! For baking them, I thought an iron skillet would be really cool and course, way more photogenic. I feel like I have neglected to use my gorgeous collection of cast iron pots and pans as much as I should. So I went with it on this post, but listen, I promise these will taste just as good if you just want to bake them on a cookie sheet, it will turn out great, no problem.

However you want to do it, it makes no matter. Once you pull these out to serve, they'll fly away, guaranteed. I really hope you give these a try, YOU'LL THANK ME LATER.

RECIPE

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes

Yield: 6 - 8 servings

Ingredients

1 large bag corn tortilla chips (about 8 cups)
Steak:
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1 (1-pound) sirloin steak, thinly sliced
salt & pepper
Peppers + Onions:
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 medium bell peppers, seeded and sliced into rings
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
salt & pepper
Provolone Cheese Sauce:
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons butter
2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 cups grated provolone cheese
salt & pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190C) and line a baking sheet with parchment or foil or use a greased cast iron skillet as pictured. (The recipe makes enough for about 2 full 12-inch skillets full.)
    Peppers + Onions:
    Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat and add the peppers, onions, then salt and pepper to taste. Cook for 4 to 5 minutes until they begin to soften and onions are almost translucent. Remove pan from heat and scrape the mixture into a separate bowl or dish.
    Steak:
    Add another 1/2 tablespoon of oil to the same pan and place it back on the heat. Add your steak to the pan and sprinkle to taste with salt and pepper. Cook just until strips are barely medium rare (as they will finish cooking in the oven) and again, remove pan from heat. Use a slotted spoon to lift the steak strips out of pan into a seperate bowl, leaving the drippings.
    Provolone Cheese Sauce:
    Now add the butter and flour to the pan and whisk over low heat until completely smooth and beginning to thicken. Slowly pour in milk while still whisking and continue stirring until the mixture thickens again. Add cheese, salt, and pepper and stir until evenly melted. Remove pan from heat.
    Nachos!:
    Now alternate layering your different ingredients in either your skillet(s) or on prepared pan, starting with a layer of the chips, then the pepper/onion mixture, then the steak, then some cheese sauce, and repeat until all the ingredients are added. (Again, if you're doing this in a cast iron skillet as pictured you will only need half of the recipe per 12-inch skillet. The rest can be done an a second skillet or saved for later.)
    Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until the edges of chips and top of cheese starts to brown. Remove from oven and cool for about 5 minutes, then serve hot!

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Looks Yummy!

Thanks @anns -

STEEM ON!!

This looks FANTASTIC. I went to school in Philly, so I love me some cheesesteaks. I also love nachos. Perfect match. :)

So glad you like it. Thank you so much for commenting!! STEEM ON!

Damn, that looks good!

Thanks @bkkshadow. I always aim to please. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Encouragement is always so greatly appreciated!

STEEM ON!

Im drooling! As usual your pictures are awesome, and now im starveing! 😋😚Mmmmmmmmm!👅thanks for sharing! Steem on! 😉👍

Glad I could inflict hunger upon you. Thanks for commenting -

STEEM ON!!

It looks delicious and beautiful !! :)

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59431.63
ETH 2320.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50