THE GREEN SAMURAI SMOOTHIE (KIWI, LIME, WASABI, & GINGER) - Food Photo Shoot & Recipe - QUICK AND EASY!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians!! It's Wednesday! How about a little boost to get over the hump?! A power packed smoothie should do it, don' you think?

It's been a while since I posted a smoothie recipe / photo shoot which is kinda of funny because I make smoothies at least 5 times a week. And I think I can safely say that there are never two alike. They always consist of whatever fruits and berries I happen to have at my disposal that day.

All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G, ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!

I've been wanting to make this smoothie for months, every since I saw someone put wasabi in a smoothie on a buzzfeed video (I'd source it, but I couldn't find it again, sorry). Well, the idea got stuck in my head and of course, like everything else I do, I put my spin to it.

To be honest, a smoothie recipe is kinda, shall I say overly simple. Bascially, you take a blender and throw a bunch of food in it, and shaZAAM, boom, smoothie. Well, not quite so easy, but you get my point.

<

The crew over at @gardenofeden like to use the term 'food formula' for recipe and I think that's awesome. So, with this formula,... it's a really interesting flavor extravaganza! The little kick of wasabi helps bring out the flavors in the fruit, it's amazing. @papa-pepper would probably take this and add some chili and produce a whole different look but with similar effect. I have never been a fan of overly spicy food, but this recipe has just the right balance, in my opinion.

I started out with an exact measured amount of honey and wasabi, then I added more to taste because the end result will depend on how ripe your fruit is, and how fresh your wasabi is. I also use honey but if you are a vegan than you can use agave or another sweetener that you like. GIVE IT A TRY, YOU'LL THANK ME LATER!!

RECIPE

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 10 minutes

Yield: 2-3 servings

Ingredients

1 cup coconut milk
3 small key limes
2 medium ripe pears
3 medium ripe kiwis
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1-2 tablespoons wasabi powder (start small and add more to taste)
1-2 tablespoons honey or agave (or to taste)

Instructions

A. Wash and dry fruits, then juice limes and peel pears and kiwis. Remove pear seeds and add all of the fruit to a blender or food processor.
B. Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth.
C. Adjust sweetness and hotness to taste by adding more sweetener and/or wasabi.

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

yummmmyyyyyy :)

Thank you @witchcrafblog. I always appreciate your support -

STEEM ON!!

Wow, wasabi in a smoothie. Never seen anybody else doing that. Think my hubby might like his one. Think I would prefer the spiciness of the ginger over the wasabi! But will def give it a go! Thanks for sharing and as ever beautiful pics!

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @amy-goodrich

Looks very nice, personally I'd leave the wasabi out but to each their own! :P
Again fantastic shots of the set-up and final finished smoothie!

Thanks @mweich. The great things about recipes is that you can pick and choose what you like -

STEEM ON!!

Wow, I definitely need to try this one! I never would have thought to use wasabe like that.

Thank you for the kind comment. Hope all is well at the Fort. Steem ON!

holy moly that looks amazing

Thanks @aubergedulis. I haven't received a holy moly in a while, so thanks so much. And thank you for taking the time to comment.

STEEM ON!

This looks so incredibly refreshing.

Thanks for commenting @jenkinrocket. I hope you give it a try - STEEM ON!

Хочу...смакота. ммммм

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47