HOMEMADE MOLE ENCHILADA SAUCEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Would you like to make your own enchilada / mole sauce?

IMG_8153-2.jpg

I have said this many times, but there is very little to no Mexican food in the South of Chile. I remember before we moved here thinking how fun it was going to be have so much Mexican food available, and then we get here and there is none. Big disappointment actually. Well, as a result of the disappointment, I had to figure out how to make everything that my family loves about Mexican food from scratch.

IMG_8162-2-797x1024.jpg

Most recipes suggest adding chile powder for the flavor base. However, I used cocoa, cinnamon, and some jalapenos to add a little picante. It makes the sauce more of a mild mole sauce than a traditional enchilada sauce. It is really good that way. I like making this in large batches and freezing it in portions for later.

RECIPE available upon request

IMG_8168-2-1024x714.jpg




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

You are bringing all the flavors to Chile! : )
I would like that recipe, please. I grow a lot of tomatoes. I'd like a mole a lot more than something really hot. But I've always thought of mole as being mysterious and needing a lot of difficult-to-get ingredients.

Mole is not difficult at all:

RECIPE

Yield: 3 cups

Ingredients

1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 cups crushed tomatoes
1 cup water
1 tablespoon jalapeno peppers, finely chopped (or more to taste)
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Instructions

Heat oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Reduce heat to low and add flour stirring constantly until it begins to thicken. Pour in tomatoes and water and stir until smooth. Add all other ingredients and simmer until thickened. Store in refrigerator or freeze.

That doesn't look hard at all. Very doable. I've got a lot of home-canned tomatoes. This would be a good thing to do with them. Thanks a bunch!

You are welcome!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That looks really good!

Thanks @susanne. Hope you are continuing to settle in?

Cocoa seems like a really interesting addition :D

I have been adding cocoa to a lot of dishes recently. It adds a special depth. I used in a batch of chili last week, and it turned out great. I will reproduce it for a future post

Looks good! Your wonderful pics make me hungry, as usual ;)

@silviabeneforti, you comments are always so nice, thank you very much!

I want that kind of sauce too! Nice work @gringalicious!

Thanks @the-future. Thank you for taking the time to comment

Your welcome. You work is really impressive, so, at least a comment if my vote doesn't worth so much!

Thanks @gringalicious! You have a amazing imagination & talent for cooking!

Not to be outdone, the photo's are always top notch as well.

It looks good :)

@stratilatkryuko, thanks so much for commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45