📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT - KIMCHI & EGG FRIED RICE - RECIPE INCLUDEDsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

So tell me, how do you feel about spicy food? Because, well, this stuff is packing some serious heat….

Personally, I have to be in the mood for spicy food to really enjoy it. To me it seems like there are different types of spice and I like some more than others. For example, I love things like horseradish and wasabi with their powerful punch that’s pretty much guaranteed to clear your sinuses in an oddly pleasant burn. Then there are the spicy foods that numb your taste buds with blazing fire (I’m sorry, was this food seasoned with molten lava!!!). I’m not sure if that makes sense or not but I’m just going to hope that you’ve experienced the difference between them and know what I’m referring to.

For some reason the guys in my family like it all, but they especially love the latter. Most of the time I just don’t get how they can enjoy dousing everything in spicy sauces to the point where they can’t possibly taste any of it. I don’t know, maybe that’s because I’m a spice wimp, but I like to actually taste what I’m eating thank you very much. Haha, maybe I should take offence as if they’re trying to drown the flavor of my bad cooking. Hey, it’s not impossible and I’ve already admitted to you guys how often I have major fails, so it may even be more probable than I’d care to think.

For my own peace of mind though, I’m going to chalk it up to a guy thing like how they can enjoy hours of watching sports or UFC fights (Which by the way, I actually sat through with them last weekend.) So how does kimchi rank in here? Well, even though it’s more of a tongue numbing heat I feel like it’s worth making an exception because it has so much flavor you can still taste it past the heat.

Okay, and not to give you whiplash by changing subject for a second, but I was just wondering if I’m the only one that’s amazed at today’s date. I don’t know if it’s just me or not, but I’m having a hard time believing that it’s already this time of year. It mean, it has to be because I’ve been looking forward to it for so long that my mind can’t accept the fact that it’s here now and it’s reality. But still, Wow! Do you realize that everyone in the States (and possibly some crazy gringos living outside the borders now, wink wink) will be celebrating Thanksgiving next week????

I feel like I’ve dropped the ball a little bit this year for those of you who do celebrate it. I’d planned to share more recipes that pertained to our Turkey day feasts by now but I’ve kind of failed. Today’s recipe isn’t exactly meant make it onto your menu plans this year. Although, I guess it is always nice to have some great new week night dinners coming up to a big feast. It takes the edge off so you don’t have to slave in the kitchen so many days in a row. That’s actually what inspired this recipe, me trying to keep it simple.

See, my whole family loves fried rice when I make it as a side with Chinese food and stuff, but recently I’ve been making it a complete meal by throwing in eggs and sometimes chicken or pork too. In fact, it’s been such a popular one-dish meal that I’ve made it 3 times already in the last 2 weeks by popular demand. If you knew me and my inability to leave basic things alone or be repetitive in the kitchen then that would mean even more to you. That alone speaks for how much everyone liked it. The only catch is that I make it kimchi optional since only a few in our household can take the heat.

I have a friend who works with Koreans so he eats kimchi most days of the week. He’s getting pretty sick of it honestly and hearing about that keeps reminding me how I still have the homemade kimchi I made a few months ago stored in my fridge. Don’t freak out at that timetable, it actually gets better the longer you let it ferment, but it was also begging to be used to dress up something for the blog.

RECIPE

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes

Yield: 5 - 6

Ingredients

4 cups cooked brown rice (or white)
1 large onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
4 stalks celery, minced
1 (15 ounce or 425 g) can baby corn, drained
1/4 cup peanut or sunflower oil, divided
2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
2 eggs
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
1 cup prepared kimchi *see note
sea salt to taste
sesame seeds for topping (optional)

Instructions

Add 3 tablespoons oil, onion, garlic, and celery to large skillet or wok and cook until celery is starting to soften, about 4 minutes. Add broth and baby corn and continue stirring until most of the liquid is evaporated. Make a space in the center of the pan and pour in 1 tablespoon more oil and crack in eggs. Quickly scramble and break into small pieces as it cooks then stir into the veggies. Now add soy sauce, sesame oil, and kimchi and stir over heat for about 2 minutes to warm, then add the rice and toss to coat. Cook for about 5 minutes more until it starts to darken. Remove from heat and season to taste with with additional salt if needed then serve hot.

Notes

*Kimchi is a very spicy, fermented side dish that is served as a staple with almost every meal in Korean culture. It can be made at home or purchased at most grocery or health food stores in the exotic section. *This is a great side dish for all kinds of Asian main dishes but it also makes a perfect main dish if you'd like to add a few additional eggs or meat such as pork or chicken.

Alright, bottom line here -> You need to try this recipe if A.) You already love kimchi, B.) You love spicy foods but have never had kimchi, or C.) You don’t like spicy food or kimchi, in which case just skip adding it and make the rice!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

Another great post and recipe!
Those pictures are awesome as always!
Thanks for sharing!
Steem on!

Thanks for taking the time to comment . I am Steeming on with you!

Thanks so much for your comment! De acuerdo

STEEM ON!!

Kimchi and fried rice
Both I like
Less portion of rice
And more kimchi please
Then, I'll eat all of these.

Got it, less rice, more kimchi. Sounds like a good plan!

You are the best! Thanks for share. Cheers

Thanks so much for the kind words! STEEM ON!

Thanks for the compliment and you are welcome

I love Kimchi and most spicy foods that include heat from peppers, but I can't stand Wasabi or Horseradish, mustard isn't a favourite either. But yeah, pepper-based stuff, I'll eat that any day!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I really appreciate the work being done here, thanks!

@gringalicious!
I love this one! Sometimes my hubby asked whether am really a Pinay or Korean hahah am sure it's the first.

gets better the longer you let it ferment,

yes! and I finally just finished the one I made last time - just now. And I love how simple this dish it yet it still looks freaking mouthwatering!

Thanks @englishtchrivy. Kimchi is kind a recent thing for me. I have a good friend that is working for a Korean company building a huge bridge here in Southern Chile. He's really the one that has introduced me to Koren food. It's funny, because he is Chileno.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62435.23
ETH 3369.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45