TASTY FRIED PEARL BARLEY

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Last week, I was convinced by a fellow food blogger friend of mine @healthyrecipe to try out the fried version of pearl barley and I gladly jumped at the offer. Honestly, this kind of food challenge always gets me excited as opposed to me coming up with my routine recipes.


The moment I was convinced to try out this spectacular barley recipe, my mind went into full active mode trying to come up with a unique option that will perfectly suit the dish. Each time I want to try a new recipe the first thought that always comes to mind is, do I have all it takes to get the dish fixed? Secondly, what if all the required ingredients are not available, when will I have the free time to visit the supermarket or the grocery shop to purchase them? Thirdly, should I introduce a unique recipe or stick to the usual way of preparation?

The moment I was challenged to prepare this dish, I knew immediately that this will really take much of my time considering the fact that I don't have any of the ingredients available. So I made a list of all the necessary ingredients I will need, headed off to the supermarket and grabbed as many ingredients as I could.

My mind was occupied with fried rice ingredients since that was the prerequisite for this dish. But on a more serious note, I must confide in you that I haven't tried this recipe before but since my friend convinced me to follow a similar fried rice recipe, I never hesitated to give the recipe a shot. I must also attest that I am glad I did because the dish came out amazingly awesome - tasty, flavourful and packed with highly nutritious ingredients!

One good thing I admire about this recipe is its ability to comfortably suit my vegan/vegetarian friends. However, the only thing that needs to be done differently is to cook without chicken or meat. I am confident that if you prepare it without chicken or any meat that the dish will still turn out so savoury in the end.

Let me also highlight that prior to preparing this fried barley, I considered complementing the dish with a fresh vegetable salad. So without much hesitation, I decided to stick to a mixed vegetable salad I had prepared earlier in the day. This vegetable salad is a combination of fresh tomatoes, cucumber, white onions, purple cabbage, lettuce, sweet green peppers and sprinkled with lemon juice.

Feel free to give this recipe a try and no doubt you'll enjoy every the meal. 

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 ginger
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 parsnips
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 8 Asparagus
  • 2 Knorr cubes
  • 900ml hot water
  • 3 spring onions
  • 125ml olive oil
  • 1 bowl of salad
  • 110g green beans
  • 4 small mushrooms
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 sweet red pepper
  • 5 dried bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 230g red kidney beans
  • 8 diced chicken breasts
  • 500g pearl barley without skin
  • ½ tbsp Schwartz chicken seasonings (paprika & onions)

Here is a short clip on how to prepare this delicious fried pearl barley!!!

Here are other recipes you can try out:

DELICIOUS GRILLED CROAKER FISH 🐠 🐟 🐠 👅 😋 🌿 ☘

THAI CHICKEN & WILD RICE SALAD

LAMB KEBOBS

Read the full story behind this recipe via https://globalfoodbook.com/recipes/fried-pearl-barley

N:B - To my fellow Steemians, If you want me to try your recipe, please feel free to notify me via the comment section.

Thank you for all your support!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by globalfoodbook from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This looks amazing my friend. Looks so incredibly flavorful, I love the ingredients that you used here and the curry with all the fresh veggies in it. Your pictures are making me drool right now. I am about to order a large bag of Organic barley so I can make more creations lol. Another way that you can try that is delicious too is with a soy sauce and sesame oil base with shrimp or meat and use scallions, egg and bean sprouts like a traditional fried rice. Also cold in salads is really delicious and in soups. :D

Thank you for appreciating the recipe. Your choice of ingredients also sounds interesting too. I look forward to your creations too.
Cheers.

It looks amazing my friend. I can imagine the taste from here by just reading the ingredients lol. I am getting very hungry and today have not eaten yet haha. Been doing intermittent fasting lately. No eating until 2 pm, only 2 meals per day, one at 2pm and another at 8pm when I get home.

I gotcha! The idea is to get you hungry and I am glad you have fallen victim to this delicious dish! 😁 😁
Fasting is also good for your health so keep it up. But do keep yourself well hydrated.

Oh yes lots and lots of good quality water for me all day. :)

Well done and keep it up.

also love to break the routine. can you imagine ive discovered recipe tag just few days ago? this is one of bingo! recipes im looking for. its summer time, garden is full of all kind of stuff - just a bit of inspiration needed.

I really like the look of this and like you said this is easy to make Vegan. In fact I think, I'm going to be giving this a go this week... Just wish you'd have posted this an hour ago as I've just made dinner! hehehe

Thank you for your kind words.
There are countless dinners to come in the future so if you've just had dinner today then tomorrow's dinner will suffice 😁

This dish looks so colourful, flavourful and delicious. I like your combination of ingredients. Well done!

It tastes amazing too. Many thanks

wow...great post..look delicious:))

Many thanks. It tastes delicious too.

you welcome:))

Wow excellent post :p

Oh my god this looks so tasty. I think adding a little breast of chicken would make it even better !

Healthy and yummy? Can't beat this!

Happy Monday 🌸

Thank you!
Have a blissful Monday too.

Sounds yummy. I'd like to try to prepare some recipes with barley but where I live (Santiago, Chile) is not a very common ingredient. I would have to replace it with wheat (what we call "trigo mote"). I haven't seen parsnip either.

Tastes yummy too! Thank you.
Yeah, try it with wheat and let me know how it turns out. You can replace the parsnip with carrot or whatever you deem right. Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67