Grandpa Gotta Cook—Carne Asada, Arroz Y Frijoles

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Food Fight Friday, Mexican Style

You've heard of the old adage, Don't bring a knife to a gunfight? Well, if Carne Asada with all the fixings were a weapon, it would be like bringing a small atomic bomb of flavor to Food Fight Friday!!

Okay, it's not like that at all. As a Grandpa, I need to be careful. There's little ones observing my every move. I just thought I would show you all that I too can get seriously competitive when it comes to Food Fight Friday. Just in a low key, under control, slower moving kind of way. I'll just jab you in the neck, pull your ear, or pinch your cheek. Or something.

Let's get this fiesta rolling.

Ay Yai Yai Yai! [cue mariachi band].

If there were comfort foods in Mexico, among them would have to be Carne Asada, Arroz Y Frijoles. For those of you who aren't in the know, Carne Asada translates more or less to seared meat, while arroz is rice and frijoles are beans. You've probably seen enough Westerns or Speedy Gonzalez to guess at that. Okay, maybe Dora the Explorer.

Carne Asada_Sizzling.JPG

Since this is a multi-layered meal with a few more moving parts (and because I have no idea even after nearing 30 years of marriage what exactly my wife does with the Mexican rice—why would I?), I'm being assisted this week by my better half, who took care of the arroz and frijoles while I fired up the grill.

You can have Carne Asada fried up in a pan, or you can actually do it the right way and grill it. That's where I come in.

Prior to this moment when the finely cut selection of meat is tossed over the gas flames (okay, I'm still using tin foil but I'm loving the less cleanup), they are marinated in lemon juice and salt for as long as you want. In this case, probably an hour, but you can definitely go longer.

After that, it gets the heat treatment, but not for very long, since Carne Asada doesn't need a whole lot of coaxing. Five to seven minutes max, turning them over once is basically all you need. In fact, less may be better here, depending on your families' red meat eating preferences. Whatever you do, avoid dry Carne Asada at all costs.

Carne Asada_Rice and Beans cooking.JPG

Now, before all of that gets going, my wife has been working on the rice and beans. In the one pan, you have the rice, which you can't really see through the boiling red sauce that it cooks in, but trust me, it's in there. In the orange pot are the beans, which can be Pinto, but my wife and I both prefer a Peruvian bean. More flavor, less gas. You can also use black beans if you wish.

Carne Asada_Rice and Beans Done.JPG

Those two take the bulk of the time to cook and prepare. I'd say we're looking at things from already thirty minutes in with another 20 minutes to go.

Once that's all done, there's not much left do but add the homemade salsa verde, slice up some aquacate, and bring on the warmed up tortillas de maiz.

Carne Asada_FinishedJPG.JPG

I have plenty of favorite Mexican dishes, but this combination of flavors is hard to beat. It just makes you want to sit there and eat for as long as you possibly can. Then, try to eat some more. Sighing satisfactorily all the while.

Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh.

You really need a favorite beverage to wash this down. We usually go for a Coca-Cola, but we were out. It was the only thing missing from total culinary perfection. Even if I do say so myself.

And finally I leave you with some dinner music from Mariachi Los Cabritos doing a mariachi mashup of the Disney Coco movie songs.

divider_victorian_thinned.png

About The Post

Grandpa Gotta Cook has joined forces with the folks at Food Fight Friday to bring you this latest installment. If you're interested in joining the food fight, simply a) post on Friday and b) use the #fff tag.

Sort:  

Hi glen. Looks very tasty. Have steaks with a chili peri-peri sauce, also marinated but no beans and rice. We will have fried onions and the meat ,making a steak roll.

That sounds really good. Never heard of chili peri-peri sauce. Is there something that makes it different than a regular salsa or hot sauce? Peri-peri sounds like it's an ingredient or something.

8143BTFiw8L._SL1488_.jpg

That's more or less what you're talking about, right?

What's weird is, there's a surfboard called a Chili Peri Peri, and that's what comes up most when I ran a Google Search. :)

That is Nando's sauce. There version of the peri peri sauce. Good on chicken. Portuguese use it a bit in their cooking as this originated from Mozambique I think.

Oh yeah!! Yummmm EEEEEE!!

Yep. There are a couple of other Mexican dishes I like better, but this is definitely Top 5, and probably Top 3. :) Maybe I'll convince my wife to make some of the other dishes. :)

Yeah thad be good for us all tehe

Nice work, looks better than most of the Mexican joints around my town. My mom is an Asada fan. I usually go the fish taco or chili colorado route. If I am feeling froggy I'll go for a Mole. Thats a lot of flavor in a little sauce. Just recently found my love for guacamole at a local place as well. Heads above the rest. Cook On!

Guacamole would go great with this, but basically it's avocado and salsa with some variations. At any rate, guacamole is definitely something to love.

Mole, mole, mole. I've had it quite a few times, and there are some I like, and others I just can't get into. It can get a little heavy some times, if that makes any sense. Still, you're right, it packs an amazing amount of flavors and your brain has to try to sort out what's hitting it from all sides. :)

My wife will be thrilled to know her meals are outdoing the restaurants since she's from Mexico and doesn't like to eat out at Mexican places because she knows her food is better. :) She's also a fan of fish tacos, but wants to buy them in odd places, like Applebee's. :)

You got me where it counts....
The stomach!!
There are so many forms of kryptonite that weaken me and everyone keeps discovering new ones.
This will lead to definately food comas.
God Speed good soldier.
With this in front of me, there better be a few more plates lined up and ready to de devoured.
D951ACF3-3988-4FEB-A595-0C0F8DB81FDE.gif

Well, considering I didn't have a meal last week, I figured I probably should get some help and try to up my game a little. I think I could probably eat Mexican and then Italian food for the rest of my life.

There have been times during my marriage where the food just kept coming, but those days are long gone my friend. Now, the stomach says, "I love you, but I'm full. Sorry!" The tastebuds will forever be mad. :)

Sometimes you gotta know when to say when and for me that is when I have succumbed to the Food Coma.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-27T22:30:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 174.85/200.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

oh that's right, you totally dropped the ball last Friday, so we deserved something special and it was, I could smell it from here! great job!

Yeah. And I'm not sure what I'm doing tomorrow. Normally, it would be my time to cook again. It's just the two of us and the little one for dinner tomorrow night, and we're still in the 90s for another day or so. I guess I could grill something, but heating up the house to cook just for the two of us doesn't really grab me that much.

It was definitely smelling pretty good here. Have you had Carne Asada before?

never even heard of it. but like I said, I think the food would be worth the trip! lol. order a pizza.

Oh my! This dish looks Aaaamazing! I'm assuming that "aquacate" is avacado? I love avacado. I think my husband and I will have to attempt this dish! Yum!

I think you'd really like it. If you don't have a Mexican carniceria (meat market) nearby (which you probably do), you can ask for the meat department in the Winn Dixie to slice up some Carne Asada cuts if they don't already have it.

That's pretty key because the meat needs to be pretty thin.

After that, there's some blending of the tomato, and I think chicken bullion that goes into the rice. The beans can be what you like to eat.

Lemon or lime to soak with salt for as long as you like.

Oh, and yes, aquacate is avocado, and if you wanted to combine salsa with avocado to make guacamole, that always works. :)

That looks absolutely mouthwatering!

It most certainly is, @creationforce. So, does yours, though! I need to get back to it so I can read all the way through it but the pictures look great. I was trying to hold off having lunch a little longer, but now I'm hungry. :)

Thanks so much for taking time to check out my post, I appreciate that.

Yours reminds me of when we lived next door to a Cuban-Mexican couple who grilled such divine asada and so many other delicacies! Wonderful times and wonderful people! Thank you for bringing back all the flavor

Now you're cookin! Looks great!

Hey, @papa-pepper!

It is very tasty. No doubt you've had Carne Asada before, though, so you know what I'm talking about. I have to say, though, since my wife is from Mexico, she knows a lot of the ends and outs on all of her food, including this one, plus years and years of food preparation. Restaurants usually get the rice wrong. She doesn't. :)

This looks delicious but am too late to have some I guess :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76