In The Kitchen With Kat

in #food6 years ago

Long Time, No Steemit


Alternative Post Title: Raspberry Thumbprint Cheesecake Cookies!


IMG_4510.JPG

Well, I sure feel like I am fresh out of a race where I had a rabid grizzly bear on my tail as my motivational coach. This past week has been a real meat grinder, as I imagine it has been for many of you all. To be honest, I didn't feel at all like writing much, as we had to say goodbye to our dear Chuck dog on Christmas Eve. He was such a fine beastie, and twelve years with him wasn't long enough. A tribute to his fetching awesomeness shall be forthcoming.

As many a writer knows, one day not writing soon leads to another, which soon leads to seven. It was only today, after rearranging my entire bedroom that I found myself making some cookies for a friend who endured a tragedy last night that I thought to myself, "Hey, I should make a post about these cookies, they look awesome!"

And here we are!


A couple of months ago I created my now infamous (according to my nephew) Caramel Cheesecake Cookies. While I was talking to my tragedy afflicted pal, it occurred to me that he truly adored all things raspberry cheesecake, and I remembered my cheesecake cookie dough recipe. I also reflected on the fact that I had half a bag of raspberries languishing in my freezer, and decided to make a Raspberry Thumbprint Cheesecake Cookie. It seemed like a good idea, I mean, I knew I could whip up some raspberry filling faster than my children can demolish a practically perfect in every cleanly way living room.

IMG_4506.JPG

So, I visited my old post and whipped up a batch of cream cheese cookie dough. I then rolled tablespoon size balls of dough and pressed thumbprint holes into each cookie that sat atop my parchment lined cookie sheet. Into each cream cheese crevice I plopped about a tablespoon of homemade raspberry filling, and after baking them in a 350 degree oven for about fourteen minutes, I sat these babies on the counter top.

IMG_4509 (1).JPG

Judging the speed at which 1/2 of them have disappeared, I think my dear friend will enjoy them:)!


And I enjoyed returning to Writingland. I've missed you all and will endeavor to get back into the swing of things. I hope you all had more Christmas cheer than a certain big box store has cheap fleece blankets, and I look forward to chatting with you all again!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's fully updated but still almost an antique iPhone.


Want To Read More @generikat Posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

We were sitting in my mom's kitchen last night eating Xmas cookies and I noticed that there were no thumbprints! They are one of my favorites, but they were cut from the lineup to make room for lemon cookies that are also great. They just don't have the same nostalgia with them, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooh, there is nothing like sitting at a mom's or grandma's counter and stuffing your face with all manner of Christmas goodies! My grandma's haystack cookies are legend in our crew, lol! I have to say, I do love a lemon cookie, but you are right about the nostalgia factor of the thumbprints. I hope you round up some of them soon.:)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Hey, hey and welcome back to the Writingland! We sure missed you too :)

Really sorry about your puppy Chuck.

Those thumbprint cookies sound and look really delicious hehe

Oh M! Thank you so much, you are just the bestest:)

Thank you so much for the Chuck condolences too, I really, really miss him. It's so strange when a creature who has been around for a third of your life is suddenly gone. Quite a void for sure. The puppies keep looking for him too, but I feel lucky that we had him in our lives as long as we did:)

And I so wish you could enjoy a few of those cookies for a snack, hopefully there was something else around to snack on!

Someday I'd like to know how you made that filling! Or is it in a previous post? So sorry to hear about the old pooch. After that many years, they are part of the family.

I'm so glad that our paths crossed yesterday and I could give you the filling recipe. I'll get around to sharing it on here too, at some point, but it has been a bit of a trial to be consistent in Steemland over the holidays this year. Today we had a proper shooting party on the farm, I felt like I was at a British Country house and should have been donning tweeds and eating partridge or something. There was hot cocoa, so I felt a bit authentic, lol!

And thanks for the Chuck condolences, he will be missed!

Thank you for the recipe! And I bet that was your shooting party I heard all the way over at my house. LOL

Hello my dear friend, Merry Christmas, your cookies look very delicious, really if sometimes I need your writings.
I'm very sorry about Chuck
How do you prepare to receive the new year?
I take this moment to thank you for your support in 2018, by 2019 we will keep in touch to continue reading your stories, I send you a big hug.

Ah! My friend! I do so hope you had a very Merry Christmas and have a Happy New Year!

We kicked off our New Year's festivities with a afternoon of target practice at our shooting range with about twenty friends, then tomorrow I head to the library with my children and help hold a Noon Year's Eve Sock hop party for preschoolers, complete with a bubble wrap dance floor and a balloon drop at noon. Next, we get to go the movies and to finish off our New Year's celebration, we are going to a party at my aunt's house with a bunch of family. It is going to be a day!

Thank you so much for being such an awesome presence on my blog and Steemit, I really appreciate you, and I hope that you have a glorious New Year as well!

And thank you for the condolences, we will miss our Chuck a lot.

We were sitting in my mom's kitchen last night eating Xmas cookies and I noticed that there were no thumbprints! They are one of my favorites, but they were cut from the lineup to make room for lemon cookies that are also great. They just don't have the same nostalgia with them, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awww so sorry about your Chuck. Those cookies are insanely nice looking!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78