Caramel Cheesecake Cookies

in #food6 years ago

A Sweet Treat With A Surprise On The Inside!


IMG_6214.JPG

There has been this bag of caramels languishing in my pantry for a few weeks. I originally bought them to make caramel apples with, but surprise, surprise, all of the apples were eaten before I got around to dipping them into melted caramel. How unfortunate.

With the Great Apple Depletion of Fall 2018 a raw memory in the forefront of our thoughts, it was no surprise that my mind floated over the existence of the caramels in the cupboard. As my nephews are dropping in from college for a weekend visit, I knew that I wanted to make them a culinary confection of the welcome to my house kind, and spent a bit of time today pondering what I was going to craft the two visitors for a treat.

It was as I was on the roof of my travel trailer spraying glide out gasket lubricant that inspiration struck me. You see, I don't buy cream cheese in the little packages at the store. Not only are those 8 ounce blocks over priced, but I also tend to need at least 48 ounces of cream cheese in one day around these parts. The restaurant supply store sells cream cheese blocks in three pound blocks at a far more reasonable price. Now we're logging!!

IMG_6186.JPG

I came in from my job on the trailer roof and bucked an 8 ounce hunk off of my cream cheese log. It's always good to let cream cheese soften to room temperature before whipping it into things. A couple of hours later I found myself throwing some cream cheese, butter, sugar and vanilla into a mixing bowl.

IMG_6187.JPG

After I whipped that conglomeration into a creamy suspension, I added a couple cups of flour, and mixed up a nice, simple little dough.

IMG_6188.JPG

Next I rolled double portion sized cookie dough balls, and poked a hole in each ball. Why do this you might be wondering? Well, I stuck a caramel into each one of these holes and rolled the cookie dough back into a nice ball again.

IMG_6194.JPG

IMG_6196.JPG

IMG_6197.JPG

IMG_6198.JPG

Opening caramels annoys me, but children always want to eat a few of the treats, so I exchanged a few caramels for some adolescent caramel wrapper opening labor. The trade was totally worth it!

IMG_6193.JPG

Now, these cookies need to be baked on parchment paper or silicon mats. I have both, but as my daughter was the last to put my mats away, I ended up using parchment paper. You want to bake the cookies for twelve minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Then you get to have a bit of fun! By fun I mean that you get to grease the bottom of a glass, take the cookies out of the oven, press the cookie dough balls with the greased glass twisting slightly in a circular motion, and then sprinkle a little sea salt onto the cookies before returning them to the oven. Don't press your cookies too hard, else a caramel catastrophe will occur.

IMG_6201.JPG

Next, I popped the cookies back into the oven for about 3 more minutes, removed them, salivated excessively while waiting for them to cool enough to eat, and tested their tastiness out by offering them to my son. He was eating his cookie in too fast a way to give me too much in the way of feedback, but I must admit the yum grunts he emanated seemed to project a positive opinion of the cookies.

IMG_6208.JPG

Now, I am going to go put on fuzzy fleece jammies and grab a plate full of cookies to share with my imminently arriving nephews. Good night to you all!!!

Caramel Cheesecake Cookies

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1 bag caramels

Cream together cream cheese, butter, sugar, and vanilla until super fluffy.

Gradually beat in the flour, a little bit at a time.

Grab a double portion of dough out (about a Tablespoon), roll into a ball, punch a hole to the middle, insert a caramel, and then roll back into a ball.

Place cookie dough balls onto a parchment or silicon mat lined cookie sheet and bake in a 350 degree Fahrenheit oven for twelve minutes.

Remove cookies from oven, and using a greased glass, press cookies slightly using a circular motion. Sprinkle with sea salt and return to oven for 3-4 more minutes.

Take cookies out of the oven and let cool for a bit before eating. These cookies are best served warm, so if they have cooled off just pop one into the microwave for ten seconds before eating (or warm in the oven).

IMG_6209.JPG


And as sometimes when I am not being lazy, all of the images were taken on my Canon Rebel digital camera.


Want To Read More @generikat posts?


Click Here!


Sort:  

Friend, how are you? to close this Friday that better than your cookie recipe with its respective story that captivates, good photos explaining very clearly the process, I love making cookies since they cook very fast.

You read a lot and you surely love writing for the quality of your writing I can notice.

Hello there my friend! You are just so kind, I do read a lot, and it makes me happy that you think my writing is quality, that is so sweet of you:)

The cookies were a huge success with my family and friends, my nephew ate at least twenty of them, and I am not exaggerating!

I sure hope you are having a great weekend and got to do a little baking of your own:)

Wow then those cookies were very delicious, thanks for your constant support, friend

a pleasure as always to go through your blog to read your exciting post, today you share a recipe that nothing but the name makes my mouth water, I really want to have those cookies every time you go to read one of your post.

I send you many greetings!

Ah, it is a pleasure to read your comments my friend, they are always so kind:) The cookies really were amazing, I hope that you have the opportunity to make them or eat them at some point in the future.:)

Many greetings sent in return, hope your weekend was great!

These look SO delicious ! I love caramels.

Thank you so much! Sea salt, caramels, and cheesecake are some my favorite things, and those cookies combined all of that awesomeness, lol!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I will try this recipe, they look so yummy.

Oh thank you so much, I sure hope that you get to try them, they really are fantastic!

I must say the Old Guy admires your frugality, Kat! Nicely done.

Ah, my fellow frugal friend, that means a lot coming from you:) Thank ye!

Mmmmmm those look delicious!! Love the idea of cream cheese instead of butter too😊

Thank you so much! Anytime I can use cream cheese I consider it a win, lol! Thanks for stopping by!

Oh boy, those must also be called Diabetic Coma Balls! LOL They sound delicious!

Ha! I am so going to seek your council when I need to name my creations, lol I am going to refer to them as DCB's from now on!

Oh dear, what have I started?! HA HA!!

Really, cream cheese comes in bigger blocks? I had no idea. I love carmels, and have no adolescents so my bag is languishing in the pantry. You can't eat more than two because of the frustration, so they may be there all winter! Your recipe sounds great!

Cream cheese in the big block size is just the best thing ever! I love being able to hack off a huge chunk as needed! It will change your life, lol!

Hmm, we need to find you some caramel openers it sounds like, two pieces at a time is just not enough!!!

And thank you so much!!!

That big block would have been a dream come true when I was cooking for my family, these days the 8 oz packages are probably perfectly adequate for me. Wish I would have known that that was even a thing back then.
The grandkids were here this weekend and I noticed they had absolutely no trouble getting the wrappers off those caramels! But then they also had no trouble getting the lids off the bottles of fruit juice that I had in the refrigerator. Maybe it's just me, and not the caramels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 54933.05
ETH 2284.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31