Japanese Lunch (Mekiki no Ginji) - Food Review Blog

in #food8 years ago (edited)



I went for lunch at a restaurant called Mekiki no Ginji in Bangkok. They have two branches in Bangkok and both have quite a beautiful decor, which is what got me in the door. The food was fresh and the service was on par with what you expect in Thailand.

I had seen this restaurant as i passed in a taxi several times, so when i found myself in the area getting some shirts made, i though i would pop in and have some lunch. I am certainly glad that i did.

The wonderful curved wood with the lanterns in the sands was such a beautiful sight.

The doorway was immense i wasn't sure i would get it all in the picture.

They brought me a free welcome dish. It had rice and cucumber and fish roe and other things i couldn't identify. It was delicious. Of course it was, free always tastes better!

First I had a beer. Yes i know Hoegaarden is not a Japanese beer. They are the ones who had it on special, and i wasn't in the mood for an Asahi. 1 Pint was about $3 USD

I ordered some Sashimi, as for me the best way to judge a Japanese restaurant is by the freshness of their fish. What came out was simply amazing.

They put a bowl of dry ice next to my wonderfully presented sashami to give it the most amazing effect like my food had smoke or fog coming off it. Really something to see for yourself. The fish WAS very fresh. I enjoyed it a lot. Especially the Tuna Tartare.

This was about $6.50

Then i ordered a Chicken Karaage set from their lunch menu, this was about $7. The set came with Miso soup and Rice and some sides. The Chicken Karaage was incredibly hot and crisp. It was served with a sauce that may not have been Japanese, but was simply delicious.

Not bad for $16.50 USD. I really enjoyed my lunch and was completely full (OK, maybe a bit overfull, the Chicken was a very generous serve). I would certainly go back, but next time i will hit their other branch because it is a little easier to get to and i want to photograph their other branch more carefully as it looks much the same but with far more to see (and photograph).

If you enjoyed this post please follow me @foodieandphoto and please resteem this post to your audience.

Sort:  

Yum! Love sashimi. Great photos

You have a new follower! beautiful pics - STEEM ON!

So happy to have you as a follower. I am trying to balance my Foodie and my Photo... But i have far more Photos than Foodie experiences.

no worries, the foodie will show up without any problems.

Looks delicious, I'll have to check this place out!

Branches are Thonglor and K-Village. The one pictured is Thonglor.

Very cool, maybe you will be interested in my work

I am now following you

Congratulations @foodieandphoto! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @foodieandphoto! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @foodieandphoto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50