Food.is.love #7: Hearty German Schnitzels — discovered in an Unlikely Location

in #food7 years ago (edited)

A couple weeks back, a friend from Singapore dropped by. I introduced Steemit to him, but he has yet to come onboard :( Maybe I need to up those spokesperson skills!

Anyway, since he was in Germany after a family vacation through Northern Europe, we had to feed his belly some German culture.

When in Germany, one should eat like a German

Like good hosts, we brought him to sample the delights of proper German food. One popular German meal item is the Schnitzel — a pounded, breaded, and deep-fried meat cutlet that originated in its neighbour-country Austria.

IMG-20170724-WA0014.jpg

We brought him to. . .

Tennis Club Rot-Weiss Düsseldorf in the Gerresheim district of Düsseldorf.

On the Tennis Club grounds stands an unassuming restaurant that makes a comforting, heavily-pounded-right-before-cooking Jägerschnitzel (hunter's schnitzel, served with mushroom and bacon gravy). :)

The service can be a little slow. Waiting times for the food can go up to an hour if you’re not the first table that places its order, simply because the Lady of the House prepares and cooks all the dishes while the men run the floor.

It’s a family-run restaurant!

If you didn't already catch the 'Lady of the House' statement above, you'll realise you're in a family business once you enter the restaurant.

The servers, bartender, and cook all look like they were manufactured in the same factory. They've all got similar facial features, body build, and even a trademark set of coloured teeth, :)

We got a table by the window.

IMG-20170724-WA0013.jpg

We placed our drink orders immediately. Visitors to Düsseldorf who enjoy a glass of beer should definitely try its local brew — Düsseldorf alt (€1.80).

It has hints of a toasty and nutty aroma, and tastes and smells a little like dark ‘breadiness' blended with a brown ale. It’s also a little astringent and comes with a bitter aftertaste.

IMG-20170724-WA0016.jpg

I am not a beer drinker. I ordered my usual tea. As always, I was delighted to get a biscuit served on the side of my Rooibos Vanilla tea (€1.50). :))

IMG-20170724-WA0017.jpg

We also ordered. . .

2 Jägerschnitzels (€11.90 each)
1 Pepper Schnitzel (€11.90)
2 Salads (€2.50 each)

The four of us would share three mains. Would it be enough?

The Wait Time was punctuated by Tennis Balls smashing into Hard Sand Court

Our ears were soon entertained by the loud banging sounds that told us our schnitzels were getting pounded thin. The wait for our food had begun!

The wait time is not such a big problem in the summer, since dining patrons get to while the time away being spectators to the many spirited games of tennis in the sand courts in front of the restaurant (in the winter, the courts are often empty…waiting can get a little mundane and tiresome then). Our eyes zoomed in on the welcome distraction of two on-going tennis matches.

IMG-20170724-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20170724-WA0007.jpg

IMG-20170724-WA0010.jpg

After about 15 minutes, the salads arrived.

IMG-20170724-WA0015.jpg

IMG-20170724-WA0019.jpg

Two big platesful of Jägerschnitzels arrived in another 20 minutes or so. We were very glad that we didn’t order one main per person! Two large semi-stacked pieces of pork cutlet covered in a heap of fresh mushrooms in a creamy, bacon-ey sauce..

As if that was not enough, the schnitzels were flanked by a mini mountain of Bratkartoffeln (pan-fried potatoes). I could see quite a lot of nicely caramelised edges. How promising! :)

IMG-20170724-WA0018.jpg

The Mann’s Pepper Schnitzel was the final dish to be served. It didn’t look as attractive as the Jägerschnitzels to me, but it's always good to diversify the order. . . as @whatisnew reminded me about in a comment recently! :)

IMG-20170724-WA0014.jpg

Yummy or Crummy?

We really enjoyed the Jägerschnitzels. The meat cutlets were not too thick, so there was a good ratio of crumb to meat going on (this is important for me, a person who tires easily of too much meat). The mushroom sauce ladled on top is rich, hearty, and creamy — the perfect accompaniment to the freshly-fried juicy pork cutlets. :) The pan-fried potatoes were gorgeously well-seasoned and coated with delightful bacon drippings. Yumm

The pepper sauce was passable, but I would just stick to the Jägerschnitzels in future! ;)

Have you had a Jägerschnitzel before?

Address:
Tennis Club Rot-Weiss Düsseldorf
Lenaustraße 14
40470 Düsseldorf, Germany
Open:
Mon: Closed
Tue - Fri: 11:00 - 22:00
Sat, Sun: 12:00 22:00
Contact: 0211 6277233012

Thanks for reading my post! If you liked what you read, there's more! Click on the pictures below to see my recent posts in this series:

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Food.is.love #6: Miss Eggface Makes - a Fluffy Spotted Omelette

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 00.04.01.png

°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°--°

Food.is.love #5: Eating dim sum in Rotterdam

thumb_IMG_20170622_090100_1024.jpg

Your support is a great encouragement to me. Here's a big THANK YOU from me! <3

Sort:  

I would gladly wait even 2 hours if I had to, for a meal like this one! My mouth was watering, my stomach was growling, and your presentation made it so that I could actually taste every single thing; it was delicious! What a great idea to order different mains to share; all of the different flavors were pleasing to my taste buds and my hungry belly. Thanks for inviting me to dine with you my friend, in this comfortable atmosphere.

See...I told you that you made me feel like I was right there with you! :) Where are we going to next?

My you sure are a patient one ;) You read it while hungry!!! I thought you'd learnt!! ;))

I'm so happy that you feel like you are right there with me :)) Hmm let's see, where next...Why, we've got a whole train map of stations to drop off at!! :)

Correction: Tennis Club Rot-Weiss Düsseldorf in the Gerresheim Mörsenbroich district of Düsseldorf.

Your pictures come out really great! Your writing is also inspiring. It almost feels like we are there with you

Thanks @rupaibabu! :) Glad that you felt included in the post..that's the whole point :)) Have a good Tuesday!

Food looks sinfully good. Drinking tea in Germany sound quaint but I'm not beer drinker too. :-)

Hehe with the sugar cookie, I gladly choose to be quaint..Rooibos vanilla was a good combo, I found! :)

Thanks for dropping by again, @ace108! And for the resteem action :)

You're welcome. :-)

You had me at bacon gravy. Good eats you had there girl!!

hehe thanks @jaymorebeet! It was very yummy..but the richness does get a little overwhelming..thank goodness I had my tea to cut it back.. :)

The food looks so good! drools

How's the dim sum though? Similar to those in SG/MY?

Can I nominate this post for @ocd?

Ooh you can nominate an author twice? I would be very happy if you nominate this post for @ocd, @howtostartablog! :)

The dim sum in Rotterdam was not on par with those in SG/MY..however, there is one gem of a dim sum restaurant in Düsseldorf where half the dishes are on par with those in SG/MY..The chef there is...you guessed it...Malaysian Chinese :))

I guess a lot of Malaysians don't wanna stay in Malaysia anymore LOL.

We've had an author nominated more than once before so I guess it should be okay, as long as there's a gap between nominations. See how it goes :)

hehe okie thanks for the nomination anyway :) I think it's not only Malaysia, but a worldwide trend for our generation to dream about living elsewhere other than their own country (and some actually just go and do it)..

It was a great journey, I really enjoyed this beautiful journey with you by your Amazing Photography... @foodie.warrior

Thanks for the comment, @dihoa! Glad you enjoyed yourself :)

Emmm... Delecius... ....

Thanks @altafalazzam! Have a happy Tuesday! :)

I visited Düsseldorf this April but only tried the Japanese food that everyone recommended (:

The Schnitzel looks really crispy and delicious and maybe I can convince my family to go to the Tennis Club Rot-Weiss if we visit my sister next time (:

Your sister lives in Düsseldorf? :) Yes there is lots of quality Japanese food here thanks to the thriving Japanese community here (third largest in Europe).

You should try the Schnitzel next time :) Drop me a note next time you come here, we can have a meal or a drink together!

Yes she does (: lives and works there!

Of course, I will do that, but it can take some time 'til I'll be there again ^^

hehe that's great! You'll always have a reason to come @cobaus :) I'll be here waiting :)

Oh I must come and visit one day, the food looks amazing, and cheap too. I'm with the beer. Fancy a visit to Southern Spain? You are always welcome - we food lovers and Steemians must stick together. :)X

Yes! Drop me a note when you do come to visit..I would be very happy to bring you to taste some happy eats :))

I've always wanted to go to Spain..I've not been there yet.. :( Where are you from originally, dear? You mentioned about getting good big holes in your ciabatta in England!

I live in Southern Spain and you are very welcome to come and visit any time. Nice inexpensive holiday for you all. I am English, and lived in North Yorkshire before moving myself, my cats, dogs and three horses here. Love it here though, inexpensive place to live and lovely warm climate. Almeria Province, Andalucia, Spain - the rural part but not too far from the tourist areas. :)X

From the north of England to the southern coast of Spain :) There must be some lovely seafood about where you live now..You moved your cats, dogs, and horses too?? How did you do that?

Yes, I've heard how inexpensive food in Spain is! Thanks so much for the invitation!! I'll be sure to drop you a note whenever I get my Spain flight ticket :) And then it'll be tapas galore time :))

Hi Doll, not the coast about an hour inland. I love rural, traditional Spain. Come any time you and your family are very welcome. I move into my new house, well old, new, in October, and am so looking forward to it. Lovely countryside, and delicious traditional tapas, much cheaper than the tourist spots. Moved my animals expensively, one of the reasons I am now broke! Hey ho. Drove small animals over in my car with a friend, had the horses transported over. :)X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55