Travel Blog 20 Part 2: The Absolutely Most Delectable and Extraordinary Food Experience I ever had in the Mystical Land of Amsterdam!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Warm greetings to my fellow steemit friends~

As promised, there will definitely a part 2 of Amsterdam coming up also my most anticipated post because it's all about Food! Whenever there's food, there will be the direction that I am going to. HAHA~ that's my ultimate weakness right there, please don't pick on me! :D

Speaking of food, what do you think Amsterdam is famous for their food? Any ideas???
Wines? Desserts? Sausages?

The Answer is Beers & Cheese!

KEUK6952.JPG

The Magical Cheese Shop

Little do you know that this small country is so distinguished from the others due to their successful engagement of the cheese industry through the exporting demands to various countries like in the US, Germany and UK.

Cheeses in Netherland holds a strong title and dignity in their culture. Hence, in within Amsterdam itself, famous cheeses like Edam and Gouda are named after the origin of the place. Not to mention their absolutely stunning creation of Dutch Blue cheeses!!

5095BE13-0066-4482-A5A3-E2C398DBFBA9.JPG

Look at the cheese wheels! I've never seen so many cheeses in my life. If you're living in an Asia country and the moment you saw this much of cheeses, it's like O-M-G! How on earth would I thought there are so many variations of cheese in this planet!

I was shocked and anticipated at the same time, exploring different cheeses and the best part was free samples! HAHA! I am more than glad that they giving out samples that well, I could try a million different kind of cheeses without breaking my little-broken wallet.

But, to be honest, the smells upon entering was odoriferous yet smelling very delicate. It's the feeling of loving and hating at the same time. But, I am loving it!!

Next,
If you're a big fan of Heineken beers, you should already know their originality.

DZPA1882.JPG

Amsterdam is the source of all your beloved Heinekens' was born. You can already tell from the photo, the massive and overwhelming queues, also, the Hype of beers remained to be the main attractions for all the fans out there. Also, people are naming it after the adulthood Disneyland "Disneyland of Beers"

All our dear malts and hops were brewed in this magical mystical building of happiness before it turned into a museum or experience centre for groups to visit and experience the true tale of the beginning of Heineken.

What would you really expect in the museum is of course tasting! But, also experiencing the process of making your good bottle of good old beers. With the guidance and explanations from the expertise, it will get you through a brand new understanding of how things work.

IMG_9246.JPG

No holiday is holiday without having a sinful meal. Hail to RIBS!!

As much as I contemplated whether or not I should have gone for this tantalizing looking slab of meats. But my stomach wants what it wants and I showed no mercy towards it. I have to say! Be your true self and I found mine, of being the carnivore that I was meant to be. Hahahaha~

IMG_9250.JPG

I mean...Look at it, doesn't that makes you salivate?!

Well, I am drooling now!

The tenderness of the ribs was unbelievable. The oozing out juicy ribs were fall off the bone tender. It literally just melts without even the need of effort to chew. It is pretty common and typical that ribs tend to be a lot of jaw exercise had to be done. But, I was blown away by the effort they made to cook it to perfection and the flavour! Someone, please stop me! Once that I am going toward the flavour, I just can't stop talking!

The flavour was absolutely amazing. The lush peppery, tinge of sweetness and the spice rub with the who knows special glaze on top of the ribs literally just shut my mouth. Where you know how good it is to deserve the moment of silence!

Well, they definitely did not let the ribs overshine the rest of the platters. The tender, juicy cooked to perfection steak and lamb chops definitely one of the highlights too. With just simple salt and pepper seasonings were sufficient to let them shines!

I was left with a gigantic smile on my face with a 100x gravity force pulls on my tummy. Well, I declared it a "Food Coma" after this wonderful mouth-watering meal.

571A3894-E4B7-4A50-BDC4-EC227C69C365.JPG

Markets in general are my to-go places of all time. I just love the vibes, the actions going on and on within the market. I mean, knowing the source of your food is the best place to understand more about the city, don't they?

Another reason would be, eating. I find it very interesting to be in a market, observing and experiencing creativities around the world. It's fascinating to be in the community that able to thrive with their creativities and innovations from whatever sources they have.

Despite the fact that I am a carnivorous human living form, I am a smoothie kind of person too. Whenever I see smoothie, I gotta stop to get it even if it's just in a mall or while I am doing my grocery shopping. I can't tell you why, but, I just love it!

IMG_9251.JPG

Please do not judge me for being crazy over meats. It's just not so common for us to find such goodness in Asia countries. Even we do, we are probably paying a crazy huge amount of money for these overpriced of cured meats in the supermarket due to the extremely import taxes incurred.

I mean, you always crave for something you don't have, isn't it? Well, I got ya~~
If you're familiar with cured meat, you should be able to tell and don't deny my obsession.

Before even coming to Europe, the only thing in my mind was just bacon. But, after trying this. Nonono~
There's so much more to explore and I am excessively obsessed with it, the Chorizos, Iberico Ham and the foie gras tasting and texture similar spread were stunning! It's so creamy, buttery and savoury that is absolutely my kind of deal. Of course, it's not a daily meal so, don't you worry :))

JBIG9629.JPG

There's no other place better than the butchery. I love meats and they loved me too! So, there goes the love stories~~

Loooook at that!! Does that make your eyes sparkle?

I had my eye all set when I was walking randomly at a Chinatown looking kind of street in Amsterdam. I had an emergency brake on my feet and made a 90-degree turn right into the entrance of the shop that I had my boyfriend shocked. He must have been thinking that I am crazy. But, it is how it is :D

We ordered up the freshly sliced "Prosciutto Ham" sandwich and also their "Home-made meatballs with Baguette" to get us rolling down the street. All I can say was, this was no better than having it in a restaurant or cafe. You can definitely tell the freshness of it even the baguette is how it is supposed to be, crunchy and fluffy on the inside where it is supposed to be. I was shocked of the quality of the food we got and literally over my expectations.

CFNG8217.JPG

Just in case if you're wondering where it is. Look out for this one and only temple in Amsterdam. It is just a few shops away.

IMG_9334.JPG

Amsterdam is widely known for their international cuisines, especially for Moroccan. This particular Moroccan restaurant called "Restaurant MOZO" had some outstanding reviews and we had our mindset to give it a try regardless of the bad weather that hit on us and I have absolutely zero regrets!

It is probably one of the best restaurant that serves the best Moroccan dishes. Also, the Hummus. Oh, dear hummus. I had millions of hummus before and this is exceptionally delicious! Like really really delicious that words could not describe it. Who would have thought that a simple hummus would have that super intense and robust flavour.

IMG_9337.JPG

Please excuse me for this photo quality, I was using my iPhone at a low lighting environment. As you can tell already with the signature low light photo quality from an iPhone.

But anyway, you haven't really tasted any Moroccan if it ain't from a Tajine. The piping hot shrimps gravy will keep will wide awake especially during the cold and chilly weather. The aroma from this tiny pot of goodness lifted up my eating spirit, blood rushing down my vein as my anticipation to finish it hiked to the maximum even though I am already pretty stuffed! The warm fluffly bread dipped and soaked up the gravy is literally the best thing ever!

IMG_9327.JPG

It is always nice to get high up to witness the beauty of the city as a wrap. Sky Lounge in Amsterdam is a hotspot for tourists who loved the skyline while enjoying their favourite beverages. This is definitely one of the highlights in Amsterdam.

PS: I really do love their popcorn! It's savoury with the lime seasoning and it's extremely addicting~

Conclusion

These are all the selected highlights dishes that I have generalized for you. I definitely had a blast sharing with you guys and hopefully you will like it :D Please do let me know what you think and I am always happy to hear from you :D

Disclaimer: All photos are taken originally with Sony A5000 and with my iPhone 6.

Check out some of my latest blogs at the link below:

  1. Cooking 5: Stuffed Mozzarella Cheese in Juicy Homemade Meatballs that cheeses are oozing out with every bites~
    https://steemit.com/food/@explorernations/cooking-4-stuffed-mozzarella-cheese-in-home-made-meat-balls-that-is-oozing-out-with-every-bites

  2. Travel Blog 19 Part 1: My Journey from East to West, First stop Amsterdam~!
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/travel-blog-19-part-1-my-journey-from-east-to-west-first-stop-amsterdam

  3. Special Edition: Flashbacks of my exciting, ups and down in 2017! How I ended up travelling full time~
    https://steemit.com/travel/@explorernations/special-edition-flashbacks-of-my-exciting-ups-and-down-in-2017-how-i-ended-up-travelling-full-time

Do share me some love if you like the article, follow me for more travel and food posts :D

Resteem & Upvote, this could encourage & support me to continue making good articles for you

Fellow steemit friends, do check out Steemit Bloggers which is a community to help Steemians to build a better empire on Steemit!

Support Steemit Bloggers, help to spread the community. Together, we can be Successful!

Steemit Bloggers

For all the lovely girls out there, there's a group on "discord" that you could join where they spread much love in the community for you to join. There's where you find all of the love and support from our lovely ladies~

Check out: TeamGirlPowa
Join us at Discord! TeamGirlPowa

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Omg the cheese, yes! I was passing through Gouda on my bike trip there this summer and I ended up staying an extra day so I could eat more cheese and see the cheese market there.

And then when I got to Amsterdam I went to this really cool place called De FoodHallen, which was an old tram station that they turned into an international food hall. Here's a picture from it and link to it for this b/w photo content but I hope to write about my trip there more soon: https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@qpdx/black-and-white-contest-food-i-scream

That's really really cool! Travelling is all about exploring, I am more than happy to have known that from you! I will definitely keep an eye on that for the next time I am visiting Amsterdam again. Also, thank you so much for sharing me your photos and I will be keen to check out your profile too. Keep in touch :)

Love seeing post from other countries especially the European ones. I would love the chance to travel to Amsterdam one day. Thank you for sharing your experience.

That would be great! Stay with me, there will be more European post coming up soon!
Finger crossed for you! You'll definitely visit there soon and hopefully you'll share your experiences too :D Looking forward to that..

OMG! Im cheese lover !
seeing the photo can imagine how good is the taste !
Nice reading anyway ! Free vote for u !

I have never seen that much variety of cheese in my life. It's definitely very eye-opening!

those ribs seriously look tantalising! I guess the 'food coma' was worth every single bite. was the food expensive over there in terms of MYR?

Absolutely, I will still salivate every time looking at it. I would say prices are very reasonable, what you pay is exactly what you pay for even after conversion.

O-M-G!!! If you declare 'FOOD COMA', then I declare 'EYES COMA'! Gouda cheeseeeee! Oh myyyyy... Thank you for sharing your experiences here! :)

Don't you need to say thank you! I should be the one saying thank you for your lovely comment and it definitely made my day! It is the best motivation that I have, meeting readers like you :D It's definitely a blessing. I am glad you liked it and there's more to come, on my travel post soon!! :D

Please post more okkkkk! Followed you. I need more 'EYE COMA' posts. HAHAHAHA!

food is love and tasty food is romance

You're such a genius! That's exactly the word I am seeking for! "Tasty food is romance" absolutely loving it :D

I am hungry now after looking at the food here. That must have been even a better journey for your taste buds.

It has definitely been a blast to my taste bud and to be honest, I was more than surprised and it's way out of my expectations of what we could find in Amsterdam and being lucky at the same time. Thank you for checking me out :D

SUCH AN AMAZING POST

so much yummy food to look at WAAW

Thank you@Victoriyani :D Please stay with me, more travel and food post are coming up soon!

Food and Travel, there is nothing better ;D

Thank you! Guess you're definitely a travel addicts too? :) Hoping to see you around~

This post has received a 5.22 % upvote, thanks to: @explorernations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46