Hot Pot After Work

in #food7 years ago (edited)

MVIMG_20180207_195619.jpg

Mister Hotpot

The plan: After work, we go to Brooklyn's Chinatown to eat something and then buy a bunch of stuff for the upcoming Chinese New Year, foodstuffs and decorations.

After reading a bunch of posts about Malaysian food, I wanted to find that. So I picked a spot not far from the hot pot place we eventually went to. Let's just say that I should not be in charge of picking things. The brain farts again.

  1. The place was a hole in the wall, which is not a problem but not the atmosphere my wife wanted. It's cold and damp outside, and she wanted a... let's say nicer spot.
  2. The restaurant is not even Malaysian. I guess I did not look closely enough after I searched "Malaysian" on Yelp. The pictures just looked good and I ran with it.

Anyway, I think she wanted hot pot anyway, so after she saw the place and was disgusted she looked nearby and saw this place. Much better. In the meantime, I was walking from a far away (0.7 miles) subway station since Brooklyn Chinatown is still that inconvenient.

The hot place was very nice. After ordering they bring you the soup and ingredients arranged in a very colorful manner.

MVIMG_20180207_195619.jpg

Yes those aren't decorations. Those all go into the boiling witch's cauldron at some point.

About the broths, the one on the left is a Chinese herbal broth and the one on the right is spicy kimchee.

One of the fun ingredients is a fish ball stuffed with fish egg paste. I took a small gif of it here.

200w (1).gif

Satisfyingly gross right? But tasty. After making such a hole you can dunk the sauce inside for an even more flavorful punch.

Warning: your clothes will stink of the hot pot smells after. Probably a result of splashing the soup and sauces everywhere. It can get pretty messy.

We ordered too much so we took some of the uncooked things to go. They also let you store the leftover soup, though by now I'm not sure if it would taste good after so we left it.

About the plan? We went late so after the nice meal there was nothing open. We found a place to buy a decoration right before closing. And I got a bubble tea from a Kung Fu Tea nearby.


steemengineBanner.png
eonwarped_tax.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @eonwarped for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

It all looks delicious! I love Asian food! Im certain that if I went to that place I would eat until getting sick.....

...again :D

Lol. You would want to go to an all you can eat hot pot place then. This one is unfortunately pay by the topping. It is good though!

The gif is so cute!!! :D I don't know why it looks happy to me.

your clothes will stink of the hot pot smells after.

I don't think I've ever eaten this kind of food, so I don't know if it's good or bad that my clothes will stink of it.

One day, when the stars align, I'll try it. :D

Bad. Throw it in the wash right away. Doesn't matter how good the food smells, it's just going to be weird on clothes :)

I've tried like convenience store hotpot so that must have been not so appetizing as this but I enjoyed it so I might enjoy yours even more.

Oh that's definitely not the same :)

Looks good! But i don't know if i would like smelling like the food i ate for the rest of the day. I thought i read stuffed fish eye ball, then i had to backtrack and it just a normal fish ball thankfully lol.

Eyeballs soup! Get your eyeballs soup!

VERY Good, Boss!
Did you bring home any leftovers for Opal? :D

Nope! She gets a treat bone though. She'll thank you later

Hiya Eon

That food looks so healthy and colourful. Wow, the fish ball gif brought me back to my teenage years, popping zits in the mirror. I've never tried fish eggs paste. What spices do they use to enhance the flavour?

What's a bubble tea?

Cool post.

Cheers
Anji x

Lol zit popping. I'll think of that if I want to purposely lose my appetite. That is satisfying though.

Spices... Chili oil, vinegar, soy sauce, onions

Bubble tea is....hmm. well, milk tea, with these chewy sweet balls made of tapioca. It's basically a dessert drink. We order it without the "no sugar" option but it's still sweet from those tapioca balls.

Hehe great stuff

Love the chilli, vinegar, soy sauce, onion mix. Mmm. My local chippy does something called salt&pepper chips. It's a rare treat. They cook onions and green peppers in a magical flavour then pour it over chips (you call them fat fries or something over there lol). Anyway, OMG, they're DELICIOUS. There's garlic and chilli and other magic in there. Probably heroin or crack cocaine too.

Bubble tea sounds amazing. I'm gonna have to try that.

cheers
Anji x

Wow that's the pot filled with love and joy feeling so delicious :D

Brooklyn's Chinatown seems to be the perfect day to enjoy delicious dishes wow it was great to see : )

beautiful it looks and that gif is wow you had a good food :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35