Capturing the Bounciest Cheesecake

in #food6 years ago (edited)

MVIMG_20180329_190558.jpg

That... looks like a sponge cake doesn't it? Well it's not.

We went to our favorite vegan restaurant Buddha Bodai in Chinatown, and that link is about our last visit, and funnily enough, about bringing containers to save on non-environmental disposable containers.

Because today we did it again. My wife was already out and about, but before leaving she gave instructions for me to carry a bag to the restaurant. In a surprising reversal of brain damage today, I managed to remember to bring it. I figured it was some clothes we were going to return after eating. As I was carrying it to the restaurant, it felt oddly heavy. What the heck is in this thing?

But anyway, we met, we had nice conversation with a friend, and we had a tasty meal. Maybe it's the pro-meat stuff I've been reading lately, but I was feeling a bit of a craving for meat. But it was an odd feeling. I wasn't hungry, but I wasn't satisfied either. Then our friend mentioned that nearby there is a nice place that sells a nice fluffy cheesecake. Well, it's not meat, but it appealed to my sweet tooth. This day could end well after all.

The place was called Keki Modern Cakes (Yelp).

IMG_20180329_200052.jpg

A nicely decorated wall in the entrance. It was a small shop, pretty much a hole in the wall. I should have taken a picture of the cake display, because they offer a few interesting cakes:

  • Chiffon Cake - plain and green tea kind, very spongy.
  • "Fancy" Cake and "Fancy" Cheesecake - it looked like it was growing fur. This probably doesn't make it sound appetizing but it's the only way I can think of to describe it. Fuzziness. I'm sure it's also spongy, seems to be a theme here.
  • "Bouncy" Cheesecake - The thing we ordered. Seemed to be the right size for 3 of us, and we would take home whatever we didn't eat there.

Their cakes come in a paper box, so at least it's recyclable. But we saved a box. At that moment my wife took two pyrex containers out of the bag. No wonder it was so heavy! The real reason was actually for the vegan restaurant, since we usually order too much and need to take home. But that didn't happen today. But we requested that the bouncy cake be put into one of our containers.

After they generously fulfilled our request to store the cake in our provided container, I said the magic words.

MVIMG_20180329_200031.jpg

Let's Bounce. (Saying it makes the cake bouncier).

And we ate some of that cake right away. Let me tell you, that cake has got to be the bounciest cake I have ever eaten, and with a bit of creamy consistency from the cheesecake part. It's half cheesecake, half chiffon cake. And it was quite the sensation. Thinking about it now makes me want to bounce off the walls. Wait.... There's some left in the fridge. I'm outta here!


eonwarped_tax.png
steemengineBanner.png
eonwarped_red.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income:
MannaBase and SwiftDemand
Trade STEEM on Binance
Sola.ai :: Earn.com :: Refereum :: Earn STEEM
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #92 (4/2/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

In a surprising reversal of brain damage today, I managed to remember to bring it.

If you can give @catweasel your secret for this ^^^, I will buy you another cheesecake.

I love your humour. Now I want to look up how a cheesecake and chiffon cake blends together. You got my curiosity going. Enjoy the cake! Yum yum.

I want a cheesecake now, lol.

Awwwww, I love this kind of cakes! You just reminded me that I have some cake left too :D I'll try and have some.

I didn't think this kind is common hehe. Enjoy!

Does it bounce in your mouth too? hahahah. I bet they are yummy yummy!

It bounces and melts at the same time. Very weird. But really interesting and tasty.

Waaaah.... Sounds totally yum ^^

Wow. Sounds heavenly. Love the Let's bounce neon.

Yay meat!

SIGNATURE.png

Nice! I want to see the cake photo 😭😭😭

Which cake photo?

of the cheesecake? the one described in this post. lol

It's the one on the very top. Don't have other pictures though sorry!!

ahhh ohhhhh okay! :)

That's the kind of cheesecake I like, the thicker kind. Not a fan of those that melt in the mouth all too quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50