Eggplant Parmigiana

in #food6 years ago

Eggplant parmigiana, the origin of this extraordinary dish, is very doubtful: to contend it are Sicily, Naples, and Parma. But you can find it in all regions of Italy. As you go from one region to another you will find this dish cooked with many variations compared to the traditional Parmigiana.
Today I’ll show you the less caloric variant that I usually cook. In the original Parmigiana, you should fry the eggplant, while I instead cook them on the grill. in the picture below you can see the only 4 ingredients needed.

  1. eggplant (sliced)
  2. tomato sauce with basil (better if homemade)
  3. Parmesan (grated)
  4. sliced smoked provolone

It starts by slicing the eggplant and cooking the slices on the grill.
2018-08-14 10.14.10.jpg2018-08-14 10.22.23.jpg

Next thing to do is just to put down the ingredients by layers, starting with the tomato sauce (so the cheese does not stick to the bottom), followed by the slices of eggplant, the slices of smoked provolone and a plentiful sprinkle of Parmesan, and so on.

2018-08-14 10.26.23 400.jpg2018-08-14 10.28.30 400.jpg2018-08-14 10.29.50 400.jpg

Three or four layers of each ingredient would be the best and always finish with some sauce on the top.
I don’t use salt because the tomato sauce and the two types of cheese are already salted enough for the whole dish.

2018-08-14 11.01.32.jpg

If you want you can prepare the Parmigiana in advance and keep it in the fridge to cook it later on or even the next day.
When your ready to cook it, just put it in the oven for 30/40 minutes at 375°F/190°C. That's it, simple and delicious.

Thank you for following, I hope you appreciated this recipe.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-24T16:36:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

wow😍 what a great recipeyes_80_anim_gif[1].gif

That looks pretty good and easy enough for even me to make.
Glad you included the pictures with the instructions though.
I found your blog because @el-nailul featured you in this weeks @pifc curation challenge.

I'm glad to hear that. Sometimes I also replace the eggplant with zucchini, the dish will result a bit more delicate. Thank you.

Never realized how simple that is. Going to have to try this.

Never realized
How simple that is. Going
To have to try this.

                 - pifc


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Yes, simple but yet delicious.

hello @elemiah, I call this one before as eggplant pizza and have no idea about "parmigiana" thanks for sharing this with us, simply delicious is really the right words for this kind of easy and fast preparing food. I love eggplants and I used to make one with egg and cheedar cheese.

Yes they are delicious, and the good thing is that you can change the ingredients to taste and invent new dishes.

What do you think that made the dish delicious? Eggplants or cheese?

I think the combination, but I guess mostly it goes to the taste for each person. I also tried this dish with zucchini and it was good too, but for my taste, I prefer the eggplant.

Yeaahh... nothing can replace eggplants😉 good for the brain too.

That sounds so simple to prepare and looks so yummy. It is really worth a try. Thanks for sharing...

I came across your post through @el-nailul who featured it on his post as his entry for Pay it Forward Curation contest.

Welcome to Steemit!

Hi, yes it is very simple but yet delicious.

I grew up with a lot of Italian friends, and their moms always made eggplant parmigiana, and so as not to be rude, I'd choke it back but never really liked it. I think it was the texture of the fried eggplant. The idea of grilling it is very appealing to me, but even more so, is the idea of using zucchini (I read through the comments here; great idea by the way!!) I'm trying it for dinner tonight :)

I found your post because @el-nailul featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation contest entry; I'm one of the judges :) We'd love to see you join us with an entry of your own next week too :)

I'd also like to invite you to join @asapers. We regularly post a READ me ASAP publication where we feature our members' quality unnoticed posts, such as this one. But you need to be a member for me to submit it. I hope to see you there! :)

I'm also submitting your post to c-squared; hopefully they'll stop by to show their appreciation too!

and thanks again for the dinner idea :)

Thanks for this comment that I really appreciated. I will certainly follow the advice you gave me in this comment, I'm still new in this wonderful platform and I'm just learning now to understand how somethings work. So, I hope to hear from you again, every help or suggestion is always appreciated by those who are new.
By the way, I'm glad to hear that you've changed your mind about the eggplant parmigiana.

Hi lynncoyle1, I tried to join by your link (join) but (discordapp.com) says that the link isn't valid. What should I do?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for the interest shown for this post, it makes very happy knowing that others appreciate my work and gives me the will to continue.

You should have used the vegetarian tag. A problem with many eggplant parmesan recipes is that they use egg. Not everyone eats eggs, especially some vegetarians. While there is a debate with some on if using eggs still counts as vegetarian, some like to avoid them.

Nice recipe. I think I'll try doing the grilling on my iron grill thingie on the stove top, since I don't have a grill anymore.

Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it. I'm sure that any way you try grilling the eggplant will do the job, my mother used to grill it in the oven, it only takes a bit longer but the result was good as well.

This looks wonderful. Eggplant is not common in Finland, but I could test something similar with zucchini. It would not be the same but I'm assuming it would be good anyways.

Yes, I can assure you that even with zucchini its great. Sometimes I make it with zucchini even if I have eggplant at home. I like to change tastes sometimes.

Good to know, I could surprise my wife with this :)

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60