Using Political Humor To Sell Tacos

in #food6 years ago (edited)

One food truck owner from Pennsylvania has been using political humor to sell his Mexican food and establish a brand for himself. Proclaimed to be Mexican food so good that Trump would want to build a wall around it the sign reads.

The owner finds it to be a humorous way to set himself apart from the competition and it seems to be working, he says that it makes people smile and that it's been helping to attract customers. The food truck industry is a competitive business and this is a funny and creative way for him to set himself apart from the rest and to try and be memorable to those who visit so that they come again.

Because the food truck industry is so competitive there are some individuals who will wait a year or more just waiting for the chance to gain permission to be able to sell. As well, they'll need to often pay hundreds or thousands of dollars to maintain their position and pay for licenses or various fees etc.

This isn't the first time since Trump has taken office that we've seen this play with wall humor, there have been various restaurants putting up signs that suggest the food is so good that it would require its own wall. And it's even happened at restaurants outside of the U.S..

The owner behind the Mexican food truck insists that he isn't trying to offend anyone with the marketing strategy. His intention was to hopefully make a little fun of the current political climate, feed people some good products, and make them smile if possible.

“It's an attraction and I want my community to be a part of the attraction. I want the community that I'm part of to grow as I grow. I want this community to grow with me," - Ricardo Santos

Trying to use political humor can be a risky strategy as it has the potential to upset, though it can be vastly beneficial if used efficiently. Humor has been shown to be linked to higher recall so there is a greater chance of a funny message being a more memorable one. For now, the strategy seems to be working for Santos.

Pics:
pixabay
imgflip
tenor

Related Posts:

Food Trucks Fight For The Freedom To Compete

Government Reverses Food Truck Restriction After Being Sued

Sort:  

My fav meme... "Roses are red, Tacos are enjoyable. Don't blame a mexican just because you're unemployable"

I like it.
I think it is very cool. I think the world is too mad and too serious that a little humor doesn't hurt and it's actually what we need, but I bet there are few people who don't approve of it.

Yes I think it is a humorous way for small business. However, I feel it would be too risky for a national big name brand to try. It is a fine point for sure, and things are so politically charged, you cant even discuss it with your friends!

that's a good point! doubt a bigger brand would be able to get away with it as easily 😂👍

Ha ha! That's a top slogan!

I only recently had 'real' Mexican food, it is really quite stunningly good! Hope the food truck was also as good!

can't compare to taco bell 😂

Cute marketing gimmick. I hope the tacos are as good as the humor. 😊

with that sort of marketing, they've got to be! lol

Using humor to sell food,is a good idea but the food better be worth it too.

good point 😂!

Joking is all well and good, but the food better be delicious if you are making claims like that!

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally agree haha

@doitvoluntarily certainly political humor, as religious are very difficult to address, you have to be tactful to make humor with it. however if it serves eto sell, it is all well, I would not do it, my opinion is that an edible product, should be sold and make a difference for its quality.
I wish you a wonderful Sunday dear friend

very good idea but I think it is not very convenient to apply it in some countries like mine for example

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84