📸 3 Tips to instantly take your food photography to the next level + #FoodPhotographyFeature 📸

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 22.40.56.png

These tips work regardless of whether you are using a DSLR camera or your smartphone.

Steemit will be much more valuable if we produce quality content. The better the content, the better the rewards we all share!

Here are 3 tips that you can use to instantly take your food photography to the next level:

1. Use natural lighting 🌅

For naturally beautiful photos that are perfectly lit, you can't go wrong with taking your food pictures near a large window flooded with sunlight. But make sure your subject isn't placed in direct sunlight as this will not give you great results, rather place your subject near the window out of direct sunlight but covered in diffused light.

Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 21.51.49.png Source: Pixabay

2. Use a Tripod

A tripod was something that instantly gave my photography an upgrade. It gives you the ability to choose from where the viewer's eye will be looking at the photo so you can easily craft the image exactly how you want to.

Using a tripod allows you to style to the camera. When you don't use a tripod the image constantly changes as you move the camera with your hands, this means you never get a consistent image and therefore it is much more difficult to get the "perfect' shot.

IMG_3575.JPG

As a result of using a tripod, your composition skills will improve significantly!

Using a tripod will also reduce motion blur, giving you a sharper overall image.

3. Choose the Right Angle 📐

A pizza and a burger need to be shot from completely different angles. The burger needs to be shot at a 0 or 45 degree (side) angle as most of the burger's detail is on the side. On the other hand, pizza has all of its detail on the top and therefore a 90 degree (top) angle works better here.

This pizza was shot at a 90 degree angle:
7583907200_IMG_2514-2-min.jpg

These fruit cups were shot at a 0 degree angle to capture all of the detail of the fruit layers:
IMG_1655.JPG

BONUS TIP: Edit Your Photos

Editing your photos makes a big difference. I use Lightroom, there is a desktop and free mobile app that makes editing your photos quick and easy.

Here’s a photo of my chickpea tuna sandwiches before editing:

7516829216_IMG_2416.JPG

And after editing with Lightroom:

IMG_2706.jpg

Massive difference right?

Please let me know in the comments if you would like more info on how to take better photos or how to edit your photos.

Every week we will feature someone’s food photography, and share more food photography tips.

If you found this helpful please consider resteeming, so we can all improve our skills together! 📸

Thank you for reading!

Check out our blog Delicious Plants for more easy, healthy recipes and to download our free guide to making vegan pizza! 🍕

We're also on Instagram, Facebook and Pinterest!

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips. Makes me realize I need to put more thought into this process.

I find that the more you prepare and plan your shots the better results you get.

If I don’t plan exactly how I want the pictures to look I waste so much time trying to get it perfect while shooting 🙈

Great tips! These are all easy to understand for beginners. Thanks for sharing these. Upvoted, followed, resteemed.

Brilliant and informative post! Your photos are always amazing 😊

Thank you @lolzwithlisa! 💚 we are trying to improve everyday and we are starting to see results - thank for the support ⭐️

Thanks for the tips... I will be using my tripod more when it's dark and I have to stay indoors for my pics. I love to get pics with nature as my props.

Using a tripod when the light is low is key to getting better photos! Thanks for reminding me I should have included that in this post 😆

I always try and get some green or something from nature into my pictures - it instantly makes it more appealing 🌱 thanks for reading Amy!

Thanks for the tips... and I agree everything looks better with a little bit of nature ;)

super helpful 👍

Thank you deliciousplants for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.94% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Great tips! I keep working to try to get better at this. Even if your recipes taste delicious, no one will want to make them if they don't look good!

That’s what I found in the beginning too - my food and recipes were godsmackingly delicious but the pictures were subpar so no one tried them! 😂

Loved this information. Thanks for the tips. Also going to have to check out the vegan pizza!

I hope you like it! 😆

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 40.42% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69183.52
ETH 3807.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71