Protein, Fat, Fiber and Greens Every Meal

in #food5 years ago (edited)

I have tried several ways to lose weight in the past year. The most success I have had was with Intermittent Fasting. I stopped losing weight after the first ten pound loss, during the first two weeks. That got depressing after 4 months of no additional weight loss. I've watched carbs, counted calories and so many other things...

I have found something that I think will work for me. I watch a vlogger called Katie On The Flip Side. She has had huge success in losing weight with help from a book called "Body Love" by Kelly LeVeque. I have the book on order but I think I have enough of the basics from Katie to get started.

The idea is to eat a Protein, Fat, Fiber and Greens Every Meal. It's suppose to be the fuel our bodies need. And to be honest its a concept I can understand. I have struggled with knowing what foods to eat in the past. I feel it will be much easier for me to pick foods from each of those 4 categories.

Here is an example of my plan:

IMG_0378.jpg

Katie drinks a protein shake every morning that consists of ingredients close to what I have purchased above. I made one this morning and loved it. So far it has kept me full. I may consider trying to add a little Flax Seed in mine from time to time as well.

This also works well for me because it's a healthy fast option before work.

IMG_0379.jpg

Katie eats a Chicken Salad for lunch every day. I love chicken salad and think that could also work for me. I purchased the above to get me started, although I do plan to start cooking fresh chicken as I need to in the future.

I also plan to change up what I use in my salad to keep me coming back to it each day. For today, I will smash a boiled egg to put in it. I also plan to use a variety of salad dressing every day, as Katie does.

The great thing is, if I do get tired of the salads, I can just pick foods that are a protein, fat, fiber and greens.

IMG_0380.jpg

While I still plan to keep water as my main drink everyday, I do like my caffeine. My green tea and honey will work for this way of eating but I am a person who likes to change up what I drink.

Katie gave me a great alternative to use. She uses different products than I bought, pictured above. But its the same concept. Today I will be trying these two ingredients in my water to see how I like it.

IMG_0381.jpg

In the photo above, I show you other things I got to go with my new way of eating. For my dinners I plan to have whatever meat I want for protein and other foods that fit into each of the other categories.

We are having Salmon tonight. I have shredded Almonds I can sprinkle on it for fats, fiber and added protein. (Or I can snack on whole almonds as a side.) And I am pretty sure Broccoli will work for my green.

Wish me luck guys, although for the first time, I don't think I will need luck. I feel like this is something that will work for me.

If you are interested in watching Katie's video that influenced me, you can here. I love Katie and her family, I am sure you will too.

If You Are Reading This, I Hope You Have An Awesome Day!

Photographs are owned by @debralee
steemit selfie.png

My other social media's:
Twitch
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap


https://steemit.com/@archdruid

Sort:  

I hope this new plan works well for you Deb. If you can, drinking tea and coffee black helps keep the weight off.

Thanks! I love tea but coffee messes with my stomach. It's a shame because like coffee.

I hope this plan works for you, I have chicken and salads most day for lunch and it seems to be helping me its snacks I struggle with especially with it getting cooler, but I am staying stable or loosing a little ( very little at the moment I will be happy if I can stay the wight i ma over winter

Good luck with your diet sounds interesting and one i may need to try

Thanks Jay! So far I have found Almonds to be a good snack, it doesn't take many to make me feel full. :)

I may have to try them, I am terrible for snacking sometimes

Snacking gets me too. The claim with what I am doing now is that cravings go away after a few days because your body is getting that it needs. So far so good today. :)

Thats great good luck with it :)

I hope it works out! If nothing else at least you are eating and drinking healthier.

I gave up trying to lose weight last year. I just enjoy stuff now.

Thanks, so far I can say that I have not wanted to snack or have anything else. I am trying to change things up for lunch and dinners. Especially dinners. It's a good thing I love the stuff that is good for you anyhow. I live with picky eaters so I basically have to make my own sides separate from theirs. I thought it would be more of a pain but I have not minded so far. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31