Battling Cynicism With Ice Cream & The Importance Of Action

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Life is difficult and sad. I often think of the good times like islands of light that we reach while sailing through a black void. The thing that has brought me peace is in understanding that it is through this fact that we appreciate what is good. Our whole existence owes itself to contrast. To borrow a phrase, "there is no light without a dark to put it in".

We should aspire to balance and realize balance does not provide eternal happiness, nor should we want it. Those who are enlightened still suffer, but they realize that suffering has its place and in its own way is beautiful as it represents a multi-dimensional experience.

I don't offer any advice on how to find this balance. To quote a man I have profound respect for, Allan Watts, " I'm not selling anything". But I do have a few thoughts, and from them you may have a few of your own.

I believe the greatest culprit that sees us slide into cynicism is repeatedly seeing the same negative view each day. I mean view both metaphorically and literally. Perhaps at your work there are negative people, but also you may have a stagnant outlook on what is possible for yourself. To battle these things I suggest adventure. Perhaps more simply put: movement. We get so over-burdened in our day to day lives with whatever stress we forget the amount of choice we usually still have. Although more significant action may yield greater results something as simple as going for a walk can offer us a whole new perspective on things. You may consider something you haven't. You may see something that inspires you. Human beings are capable of finding great negativity in the most mundane parts of our lives but in just the same way we can, if we try, find the positive. All that is required is that we act is some way. A small action, a great action, it doesn't matter, but act, and do it now.

I still find myself endlessly sad, lost, and too many times bolted to one place by fear. The difference now though is that I see the place for those experiences as well. Nothing is wrong when the sky is falling. In fact, everything is right, so long as you keep moving. A lake never looked so beautiful. A hug never felt so warm. A friend's smile never looked so bright, than looking back in the aftermath of a storm.

I show these images because they are nothing that I could have done for myself. They are places I've been taken by a friend. My small part in making them a reality is that I was willing to go. I was willing to leave behind the paralyzing negativity that demanded I stay in one miserable place. And look. See. When we step out the door what is waiting for us.

So how do we battle cynicism with ice-cream? We eat it. And we try different flavours. And most importantly of all: we eat it with friends.

Thanks so much for checking out my blog. I truly appreciate it.

Cheers
@Davetrippin

MY SOCIAL MEDIA CONTACTS

My E-Book - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M1HSDCV (Stone Heart) Horror Drama

Snapchat: DaveTrippin

Instagram: cdjameson

Twitter: http://twitter.com//Davetrippinon

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/charlesdjameson

Contact: [email protected]

https://www.youtube.com/user/DaveTrippin

Contact: [email protected]

https://www.youtube.com/user/DaveTrippin

Sort:  

Congratulations @davetrippin! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @davetrippin! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @davetrippin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56705.83
ETH 2400.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30