Ohh I Got A Story Of Food Contamination To Make You Cringe - Blockchain Coffee “Mouse Droppings”

in #food5 years ago

Something I experienced on SaltSpring Island while just starting my career into baking almost halted interest in the industry dead in my tracks!

I was working at Country Grocer as a baker doing my normal thing, I was new and had no idea what was what in the slightest. I thought all was going well until the head bakery department rep came to our store for a visit. I was mixing and doing the dividing/moulding while my manager was working on the oven.

All seemed well, I was quick to pickup the fundamentals of the job but there was one key aspect no one educated me about till that department rep came to our store. He reminded me of Pepé Le Pew with his accent and cologne so pungent it would rival a skunks.

So Pepé steps up to me and starts grilling me about details, over & under mixing, relaxing dough, terminology, I was eager to learn and was trying to absorb as much as I could.

He asked if I knew the reason for soaking seeds and continued to go over and reach into the seed bucket pulling out a small soggy handful. “Without soaking they do not get digested properly and just pass right through the human body” he said while squishing some seeds giving an example of how soft they are. He then put a small amount in his mouth only to hurriedly spit it out. Pepé had bitten into mouse droppings 🥴🤢🤮

It seems that we had a rodent problem and what Pepé spat out was just the beginning of a long investigation into an ongoing issue that my manager had long been ignoring. Where we stored the multigrain seeds was not safe from rodents and they would get into the bag leaving behind droppings. Those seeds would get used by my manager despite having a hole in the bag he never investigated himself as to why. So for countless years he was selling mouse dropping multigrain bread and no one not even myself had any idea, hard to tell amongst all the other seeds once soaked.

That wasn’t what turned me off though, it was one simple thought having been confronted with food contamination for the first time. If no one has ever realized our multigrain bread contained mouse droppings or returned one of our loaves because of it, what else goes into bakery goods that no one will ever be aware of?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Support Us With Your Vote!

#OneLoveDTube Community Main Page

#OneLoveIPFS Subscription Page

#OneLoveDTube Uploader

Free Use #Press-Kit

Have You Tried @Pariko Yet? Download On iOS/Android Here

Start Using Partiko and Get 15 Steem Power Delegation

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Get Paid For Daily Activities! Download @ActiFit Fitness Tracker On iOS/Android Here

Get Paid To Play! Join The Drug Wars Here



Wallet of a Minnow, Heart of a Whale

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Oh gross! Good work! I shudder at this and the many ongoing issues of packaged food we assume is safe!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea it’s definitely something many people are not aware of 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, restaurants are famous for these things, too 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG that is why I hate to look into the kitchen 😅

Toast it, slather it with butter and jam, and I'll eat it @d00k13. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol you so would! I’ve stayed away from multi since 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

We really don’t know what we are eating unless we grow it and cook it ourselves.

Straight up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.75% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Dunka 👌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 12259 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Woop der it is 🙌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol I stay away from multi cause of it, yea never freaking know right?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93