Gānbēi,gānbēi,gānbēi,gānbēi.

in #food6 years ago

I went out to dinner last year with a group of Chinese businessman and some work colleagues, which was loads of fun. There were 8 of us and it taught me a lot on how they think. We were having dinner in an authentic Chinese restaurant.

The Chinese believe that they have to be the best hosts possible and more is better. I had no idea what that entailed ,but understood afterwards. The dishes that arrived basically covered the entire menu ,but were sample tasters so everyone could try a bit of everything.There was more than enough food and more than you would eat normally.

We were asked what samples we liked the best and the Duck and fish came out as firm favorites. We had been chatting and drinking the rice wine with the usual Gānbēi which is cheers in Chinese and bottle after bottle was being flattened. There was no sipping but downing of half glasses and over the evening we must have had more than 18 bottles between us.Every gānbēi represented one bottle and it wasn't cheap either.

We thought we had eaten but then 2 whole ducks appeared and a fish appeared and we realized we should of kept quiet. We had no idea by saying what we had enjoyed meant and now this was them showing how good at hosting they were. Most of us were full already , but we had to eat as not to offend them. I can eat with the best of them . but this was ridicolous.It was a fun evening and their personalities came out as we went through the bottles.

This made sense the other week when I went out to dinner with the two Chinese agents. I was a guest ,so they wanted to spoil me. I feel bad now thinking about it ,but I didn't have a starter or pudding and just had a main course.I had some drinks with them and they kept on trying to get me to have more food and drink. I was being polite and kept on saying no thanks the whole evening.

Maybe I should have used an Uber and drank more to make them feel better , but that is not me. I can understand why people like doing business with them as you are really treated and I am sure others take advantage of their hospitality.

Image source internchina.com

Sort:  

Years ago, I read in a paper about a Korean guy who said alcohol was his "hobby". Not beer, not wine or whisky. Alcohol (presumably ethanol as he was a drinking man). I've never heard alcohol itself being called a hobby in Europe. I guess some people really like getting drunk together.

I think it is in their culture to entertain and they just don't stop. They consume so much alcohol and have heard of stories from some of our guys travelling to the factories. They like to break you in to guarantee deals are done. It is good fun, but if you are visiting a factory every day over a two week period they all want to get drunk with you.

Sounds like Russians. My stepfather-in-law got me properly drunk when I met him for the first time. Good times. When Soviet and Finnish leadership used to meet they'd go to sauna and drink vodka. Copious amounts of vodka would be consumed in the 1970's and the 1980's in this type of meetings. In Finland, leaders wouldn't eschew drink back in the day, either. It was ok for trade union bosses to negotiate on collective agreements with the opposite side while shitfaced. Nowadays, alcohol at work is a no-no.

When I was in Korea , soju was a major part of every meal and I think it is similar. I really liked it and it was also very cheap!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 12.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.738 which ranks you at #4931 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 4921).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ha! very interesting sir cryptoandcoffee. Next time I get invited by Chinese business people I'll remember to pig out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72