Foraging for food-part 3 Blueberries

in #food7 years ago

Isn't amazing the free food you can find out in the woods. I do have to say wild blueberries are smaller than the ones you buy in the store.
blueberries-1576403_1920.jpg

Blueberries can be picked from May through the end of summer. What we had in the woods in Wisconsin were a low bush but I have heard that some grow taller.
Now I know that just about everyone knows what blueberries are, and their many of it uses.
blueberries-1838747_1920.jpg

What we used blueberries for were jelly,syrup,pies,muffins and pancakes. We would freeze our blueberries we picked. They keep their shapes and juices in better frozen.

Stay tuned for part 4 dandelions

coffeetime.gif
Thanks to @marxrab for making me my logo.

If you are interested in my past Foraging for food blogs here are the links:
https://steemit.com/food/@coffeetime/foraging-for-food-part-1-asparagus
https://steemit.com/food/@coffeetime/foraging-for-food-part2-gooseberries

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Loving this foraging series, @coffeetime. When I was young, my favorite Summer/Fall pasttime was picking black raspberries in the woods; only the kids were willing to put up with the thorns! We'd bring 'em back by the bushel and my mom would bake them into muffins and pies. Good times.

Now I've got a few acres of my own and a much smaller black raspberry patch, but the land is abundant with wild raspberries, strawberries, onions, and the occasional edible mushroom. The raspberry patch looks like it was cultivated by someone decades ago and has just continued on its own.

I am glad youu are enjoying my Foraging for food series @crytohero.info . It is so helpful for people to know what food they can forage for. And it tastes so much better than what you can buy in stores. I hope you will enjoy the rest of the series .

Love a delicious walk in the woods. Foraging it where it's at!

Foraging is really where it is at. All it takes is a little effort and knowing what to look for. And you get to enjoy being in the woods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52