Foraging for food- part 1 Asparagus

in #food7 years ago

When I was a child one way we provided food was going out and foraging it for free.

Asparagus grew along the sides of the roads in Wisconsin. We would take buckets and walk the ditches on the side of the roads picking the wild asparagus. We would do this every spring until the asparagus started looking like ferns with small white flowers and they were to woody to eat.
This provided a free vegetable for us to eat and can that we did not grow in the garden. We collected a lot of free food that grew in nature to help provide food for our family.
asparagus-2425267_1920.jpg

Stay tuned for part 2 of foraging for food-gooseberries.

coffeetime.gif
Thank you @marxrab for making this for me.

Sort:  

That's really awesome you could pick it wild. Asparagus is one of my favorite foods but it is often expensive to buy here. I'd like to plant some in my garden next year so I can pick it for years to come.

That's a good idea. It's a favorite of mine too , but I only buy it if it is on special or for a special occasion.

I like your post. @coffeetime I have followed you

Congratulations @coffeetime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 62795.13
ETH 3443.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51