Foraging for food-part2 gooseberries

in #food7 years ago

Yum Gooseberries. Those are good eats but you have to watch out for their thorns. Their leaves kind of look like maple leaves.
We would pick them in the woods in Wisconsin.
gooseberry-176450_1920.jpg
These green gooseberries we would use to make a gooseberry pies. This would be a pie with a bit on the tart side but still tasted great.
gooseberry-2529979_1920.jpg
The ripe goose berries we would always sneak some while we were picking them to eat as we picked them. We would also make pie with the ripe gooseberries and was much sweeter to eat. My mom would also make gooseberry syrup and jam and would can some and use them to make some tea too.

The gooseberries where we lived had lines going down the sides of them and had a little tail on them. They grow in a colder climate. And usually start being ready to harvest in July.

Stay tuned for part 3 Foraging for food-Blueberries

coffeetime.gif
Thank you @marxrab for making this logo for me.

Sort:  

I love gooseberries! I have one in my yard but it was neglected while I was on travel for a year and didn't produce any berries this season at all! ) :
At least it survived! Better luck next season for me I guess!

Best of luck with your gooseberry plant. It should be ok next year.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

We got some growing here, and they are delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39