Delicious homemade nut milk and no bake brownies 2 in 1 recipe in 5 minutes!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

It's that time of year again!

That's right i'm finally turning on my fridge/freezer, it was 17c today, blue skies and sunshine, so I think it's about time!
The winter felt too cold, with no central heating in this apartment, the plus side was doing my little bit towards sustainability by keeping the fridge off. It made sense as I eat and prepare everything fresh.

As the season changes my body starts to crave and need different types of foods, I want to eat more raw foods and I feel tired and sluggish when I eat hot or stodgy food.
Do you also feel like this?

For the last few months i've been having warming porridge for breakfast but now I wanted to start soaking oats over night and having them raw with some plant based milk. I'm not too keen on the shop brought stuff because they tend to have stabilizes and sugars. I got into making my own a few years ago and found it to be so tasty and really easy!

rawbrownie2.jpg

Making your own nut milk at home is really great because it gives you an excuse to make brownies as well!

The reason being is that when you make a nut milk you are left over with a nut pulp that you can use to make all sorts of delights, naturally I choose to make gorgeous brownies that take no time at all.


brownie.jpg

Making the Nut Milk

Ingredients

  • Nuts (I choose almonds) I used approx 300g
  • Bottled spring water
  • Nut milk bag like this one
  • Blender
  • Strainer

nutmilk.gif


Recipe

  • wash nuts
  • Put nuts in the blender
  • Add some water and keep adding more if needed whilst you blend
  • You decide how thick or thin you want your milk
  • Blend for a few minutes until nicely mixed
  • Grap a strainer over a bowl
  • Put the nut milk bag on top of the strainer and pour mixture inside it
  • Squeeze the bag so the liquid separates from the pulp
  • When finish remove pulp to another container
  • Wash your nut milk bag thoroughly

milk.jpg


Now for the brownie...

Ingredients

  • Nut pulp (I used my almonds)
  • Bananas (I used 3 because I was just making a small batch, use more if you like)
  • 100-200g Raw Cacao (just use enough to make it look chocolatey, if you prefer extra, that's up to you)
  • As much coconut sugar to your taste
  • Optional flavoring like vanilla or I used hazelnut oil
  • Nuts and dried fruits for topping.

nobakebrownie.gif


This is the easiest recipe ever because you blend everything in the processor, you don't need to wash up loads of utensils.

Recipe

  • Start by using the nut pulp and blending it in the processor
  • Add bananas until it's really creamy
  • Add enough cacao so it chocolatey
  • Add as much coconut sugar to your taste
  • Add any extra flavoring if desired
  • Spread out into a tray
  • Add any toppings
  • Freeze for a bit so it becomes rigid for cutting slices
  • When you want to eat some, let the brownie thaw a little bit

browniemilk copy.jpg

You can also make chocolate sauce topping by simply melting a chocolate bar, if you are health conscious make sure it dark or raw cacao. I just used my own chocolate bars I made earlier, using this chocolate recipe

rawbrownie.jpg

In all my recipes I recommend using alternative natural sugars, because of all the negative effects refind sugar has. Coconut sugar is particularly good for a variety of reasons.

Take a look at the health facts...

d167055cca5725bad1270dec677616b4.jpg

And just in case you didn't believe me about my fridge here is it off and just about to get turned on! I leave my Raw Chocolate making products in the top draw, when the fridge is off it smells absolutely divine in there!

fridge.jpg

I'm not going to lie, sometimes I stick my head inside to get high off the cacao aroma! It really works! :)

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

Banner.jpg

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

thanks its delicious

Always a big fan of simple recipes like this one!! I have one similar!;) So delish!!

Yummy these look amazing. Have you ever made brownies with black beans?

no i havent, but ive seen a recipe on here for them, can u make them no bake and RAW?, because i dont have an oven?

Yeah I have a recipe on here for black bean brownies, although you do have to bake them. It could probably be modified to be a no-bake recipe. It does have sugar in it though. haha

I dont always make that many treat, because it gets a bit addictive and too much sugar and stimulants can have negative effects like making ppl anxious, unable to focus or get angrier easier. I do this recipe tho because i dont want to waste the nut pulp. i tried some savory recipe with the nut pulp but v difficult and didnt come out too well. i normally just eat black beans as they are!

Treats do have sugar in them! I agree sugar can have a negative impact on people. I still love my treats though. lol

You can always sub refind sugar for natural sugar! im passionate about this because the refind sugar industry is very dirty and in the end so many negative impacts. Shop online or health food store for natural sugar! its really tasty and reduces cravings!

These brownies look very delicious! Great idea to combinde "milk" production with baking! ;)

thanx :) this combo was made for each other :)

i hate u 2 lol :)

Gosh I just love chocolate too. I eat it almost every weekend but sadly not sugar free.
I would love to have a bite of those brownies, they look so delicious.
We have winter here and I just can't cope with not having hot food. It is needed to warm me up :)

I know what u mean, i'm still eating hot food, im not 100% raw but eating raw cacao is very beneficial for health. I hope it warms up soon for you, i couldnt stand the long winters, even in england where it is milder. I get seasonal affective disorder so thats one extra reason why i moved south to spain. Theres so many health problem related to refine sugar, i recommend going to a health food shop or shopping online and getting some natural sugar. u will find cravings reduce and will be better for u in the long wrong, just a suggestion, its your life your decisions X

Yeah I know, I need to find a place to buy raw cacao from =) As you said there are tons of alternatives online. I just need to do the research.
Thank you, we just got another snow storm but I'm going on vacation tomorrow so I'm getting some sun and heat :D.
I hope you feel better in Spain. I get mildly depressed in the winter too. Dark, cold and not much to do. Really don't like winter time.

I know about the sugar, every time I eat sugary foods my arthritis in my big toe blooms up :D.
So I try to keep it to a minimum and it goes forward as I learn more recipes with natural sugars and so on.
So we are almost completely sugar free, except from the weekend chocolate :D. But that will dissapear one day too.

What a great way to use the pulp from your almond milk! Yum! It's chilly again here, but hopefully the warmer weather will stick around soon. I like more raw recipes in the summer, too.

:) where are u based? hope it warms up soon.

I'm in Atlanta, Georgia (Southern United States). It will definitely warm up soon and then I'll be complaining how hot it is, ha!

wOw.. HOW inventive..this looks decidedly paleo! amazing! brownies with no flour at all!

thanx hehe :) i actually I learned to cook paleo before i was vegan. A nutritionist i met was paleo and i was convinced by her awesome recipes, was a shame about the meat side of it tho, was all justified at the time because the meat was organic or grass fed but at the same time because of the price tag I never brought meat much eventually the logical conclusion was to go veggie and the vegan. I eat grains now tho but not regular wheat. I like spelt, rye, kamut etc Im not convinced by paelo anymore because the principles that we aren't adapted to eat wheat but ancient egyption cultures thrived because of grain productions, which meant they didnt have to eat meat but I would say its not meant to be the largest bulk of a human diet, that would be fruits and vegetables.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67427.51
ETH 3768.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63