๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿซ Smooth and silky RAW vegan chocolates! Valentines day healthy treats ๐Ÿซ ๐Ÿ’•

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

It's that time of year again and what better way to beat the winter blues and say I love you, even if it's just for yourself, because we all need to love ourselves and others more!!! Chocolate boosts serotonin levels in the brain like a 'love drug'. Not only that, these chocolate are super healthy because they are RAW you will benefit from all the essential nutrients and antioxidants that cacao has to offer. It has been used for sacred and ceremonial practice since ancient times due to its powerful properties to lift the mood and elevate pain.

Just what I need to get me through these dark cold winter days!

chocolates4.png

Basic Chocolate Making Equipment

Chocolate molds
Thermometer
Spatula
Stainless steel or glass bowl
Stainless steel saucepan

Ingredients

Ideally source good quality Organic ingredients

140g of cacao butter
80g of cacao powder
1-2 tbsp of coconut oil
2-3 tbsp of coconut syrup or agave nectar

The white tops are just made with coconut butter and sweetener, this only works in a cold climate, otherwise it will melt. I also added goji berries, coco nibs and some desiccated coconut to the bottom of some of these chocolates. I encourage you to get as creative as you like, add nuts, raisins whatever takes your fancy.

chocolate3.png

Method

Melt your cacao butter and coconut oil slowly over a ban marie
To keep the chocolates raw make sure to take the cacao butter off the heat before it reaches 46ยฐC (115ยฐF )
Once the butter is melted, stir in the raw cacao powder well
Add your sweetener of choice and mix it in really well until the temperature goes back down to 27ยฐC (81ยฐF )
To make sure your chocolate is properly tempered bring the temperature back up but not above 31ยฐC (88ยฐF)
Spoon or pour the chocolate mix in to the molds
Wait for chocolate to set (you can speed this up by putting them in the refrigerator) then Enjoy!

You don't have to temper the chocolate if you don't want to, it's quite difficult to master but it does create beautifully smooth chocolates, that have a satisfyingly crisp snap when you bite into it. To be honest I've failed many times getting this right and I found the temperature of the environment you are making them in makes a big difference, it worth a try non the less but not necessary.

The most important part is enjoying the chocolates, you will find raw cacao is very strong and it is wise to eat in moderation, if you can!

chocoRAWsmall.png

Raw v's Ordinary Chocolate

Raw cacao contains nearly four times the antioxidant content of regular processed dark chocolate, 20 times more than blueberries, and 119 times more than bananas.

Raw (naturally fermented) cacao and processed chocolate sold in bars (roasted cocoa, sugar, milk) are two completely separate foods.

Studies have found that by adding dairy this actually blocks the absorption of antioxidants in chocolate. While processed chocolate may taste delicious, the benefits of cacao are only found in the raw form.

cocaovscacoa.png

๐Ÿฅ‘ ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿฅ ๐Ÿ‰ ๐Ÿ‡ ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ“๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ๐ŸŠ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet ๐ŸŒฑ can change your life and change the world
โœŒ๏ธJoin the food revlution nowโœŠ

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

Sort: ย 

Wow they look so cute and yum. As a Belgian, I love my chocolates... especially when they are vegan ;) Steem on!

Beautiful photography makes me so hungry... Nice

Yummm, looks amaizing๐Ÿ˜€

Thanks sunrock, i be happy to trade them with you when your in barcelona ;)

They look amazing!! ๐Ÿ˜ I looove chocolate so this going to be a perfect treat for myself

These look so good! I think I'm going to have to switch from cocoa to cacao now that I know the difference. This was so informative as well. I'm definitely going to attempt to make some myself.

Hi Chiaandgreen, i'm glad it helped you, i had no idea either until i started making it myself, i was astounded by how healthy it is but its so strong that i rarely eat it now, and any other sweet products for that matter, even tho i was the biggest chocolate monster I know! Be sure to buy the Cacao labeled raw but you only want to use it for things where you are not going to cook/bake it, otherwise it will loose its healthy properties.

Wow @celestialcow our images are gorgeous this week - theyโ€™re so good they are making me crave these beautiful chocolates you made ๐ŸŽ‰

Thank you for your entry into the #vegandessertcontest! ๐Ÿ’š

Thank you so much! I was lucky I could get good pictures of these with my friends camera and natural light! loving everyone's entries this week, because chocolate is so divine!

Wow I am going to give this receipe a try. Question?? Where do you find the caco butter never heard of it before reading this post??Thanks

Hi Libby, I just made a post about it here, check it out!

Wow, looks very nice and delicious! The perfect present for Valentine's day! โค๏ธ Now you have activated my sweet tooth! ๐Ÿ˜€
CU,
Chris aka smallstepschange

I know what you mean, i almost ate all the chocolates whilst posting this! The best thing we don't have to be guilty about the sweetness, natural sweetners aren't like refined sugars, much healthier!

haha, can totally relate to this! You are right, no refined sugars is a big plus!
CU,
Chris aka smallstepschange

Upvoted โ˜ Have a great day!

These look fabulous ๐Ÿ˜ Congratulations my Dear! This is a very noce entry to the conest :)

Thanks again Miri, I really needed these chocolates right now :) I appreciate your lovely comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66