Real Milk Friday

in #food7 years ago

Well it's that time of week again when I am waiting for 3pm to roll around and the farmers market near my house to start. Every Friday I pick up my delivery of raw cow milk at the market. I posted about this last week as "Raw Milk Friday" (https://steemit.com/food/@carlgnash/raw-milk-friday) and @customcoconut left a reply that they call raw milk "real milk" in their household. I think this great - it is REAL milk, and pasteurized/homogenized milk is definitely FAKE milk.

Last week we got milk from my new favorite in the herd, a cow named Buttercup. Living up to her name, Buttercup is a MAJOR cream producer and her milk was amazingly creamy and sweet. Check this out - the layer on top is CREAM. Delicious delicious cream. My wife and I each drank a 1/3 cup of cream off the top while we ate a fresh baked cookie from the market and it was bliss.
20170721_180244.jpg

Raw milk (from pastured cows raised ethically) is categorically safe to drink. Real milk is easier to digest because of beneficial probiotic bacteria and contains numerous other beneficial active components which reduce risk for allergies, improve skin health, support the immune system and help prevent nutrient deficiencies.

But don't take me at my word - please research this topic yourself and then do yourself a huge favor - try some raw milk!
Some good beginning places for the safety and benefits of raw milk (these summarize current research and cite the original sources for further reading):

High level overview of safety and benefits of raw milk:
https://draxe.com/raw-milk-benefits/

Detailed rebuttal of specific FDA claims against raw milk:
http://www.realmilk.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/RebuttaltoFDARawMilkArticle-MAR2012.pdf

Sort:  

Also you can use it to make great Kefir, which is not that difficult, if you have access to the grains. Better than the store bought Kefir, which have quite a bit more sugar in most cases.

My favorite use is to use it for awesome french toast, as we also get the "real eggs", while we are getting the real milk.

Another great use is to make thin style (Nordic) pancakes or Finnish Kropser (a giant oven baked pancake).

I have always wanted to get into making my own kefir, I have some friends that I can get the kefir grains from. I just have never gotten around to doing it. Soon! Along with making my own sauerkraut :)

Sounds like a plan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38