Raw Milk Friday

in #food7 years ago

It's raw milk Friday for me today! Every Friday I get to pick up a delivery of raw milk at the farmers market near my house. I have a contract with a local dairy farmer which gives me a small share in the herd. I get a share of the milk the herd produces as a result. It is a little bit like Christmas every week as I get more and more excited as the 3pm start time of the market approaches. The milk is "single cow" milk, never blended, with the name of the cow written on the jar. I am getting to know the differences between cows, and yes there are noticeable taste differences between different cows.

Maya is my favorite of the herd so far - her milk has a VERY high percentage of cream. If I hadn't swirled the jar around here prior to taking this picture you could have seen a thick layer of cream at the top. I wonder who I will get this week?

Raw Milk from Maya the Cow.jpg

Raw milk is safe and provides numerous health benefits. Read my previous blog post here for more info including links to further research:
https://steemit.com/food/@carlgnash/got-raw-milk

Sort:  

We're a big raw dairy household too! Great to see other posts about it.

Awesome! Glad to hear it. I have been preaching the benefits for years to anyone who cares to hear :) Cheers - Carl

We also get our raw milk on Friday! I prefer to call it real milk. Save the cream for coffee!

Real milk is a good descriptor as well - certainly "fake milk" is accurate for the pasteurized/homogenized variety! I just swirl the cream back in and drink it - getting that extra silky smooth creamy texture is a big part of the experience for me. Cheers - Carl

No.. That looks too good.. How did it taste?

@carlgnash

It tastes... like a favorite childhood memory, a warm blanket on a cold night, like an old friend or a new lover or a dip into a mountain creek. It sings a melody of purest cream with a soaring descant of clover and blue skies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43