STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #42: Bagels (Entry 1). Bajgle (Zgłoszenie 1) [EN/PL]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Bagels

👇PL👇

English

I have realised yesterday evening that I have been challenged. And I have accepted the challenge, well, at least tried.

I decided to go for the classic: plain bagels. They are delicious, reasonably easy to make (once you have the ingredients) and fun.

The recipe: https://breadcentric.com/2016/10/16/bagels-bajgle/

As usual, I have added a bit of gluten to the flour as the one I have is not high gluten. Diastatic malt did its job. I had however to fit the schedule into my work-from-home-and-take-kids-to-school type of day, so they had a longer bulk proof and shorter final proof. Also, some holes were made too small and the bagel had no place to expand:
DSCF7613.JPG

UNPROVEN FUN INFO ALERT: bagels have originated from obwarzanki - a round type of bread sold as a snack at stalls throughout Kraków, Poland. Polish Jews had problem buying bread during Sabbath. Obwarzanki are boiled before baking. You don't boil bread in water -> obwarzanki is not bread. Simple, isn't it?

I measured the ingredients in the evening. The nice thing is that I can just put everything in a single bowl as there are no phases - just add water and mix it.
Dry ingredients for bagels

After morning mixing, I was supposed to leave them for an hour - have for two.
Mixed dough

Dividing
Dividing

Shaping and into the fridge for 5 hours (was supposed to be 6)
Shaping

Boil (water with barley malt syrup)
Heating up the water

Boiled bagels

Dip in seeds
Seeds on bagels

Put on trays
Bagels on trays

Bake & Enjoy :)
Bagels

The crumb:
Bagels - the crumb

It was a busy day and I haven't managed to make myself an egg and bacon bagel for supper. If I manage in the morning, I'll post it for sure :)

Please upvote if you like this post - thank you! Follow me if you'd like to read more about baking and software development.

Po polsku

Uświadomiłem sobie wczoraj, że rzucono mi wyzwanie. Postanowiłem je podjąć, a przynajmniej spróbować.

Wybrałem klasyk: zwykłe bajgle. Są pyszne, względnie łatwe do zrobienia (gdy masz składniki) i przyjemne w robieniu.

Przepis: https://breadcentric.com/2016/10/16/bagels-bajgle/

Jak zwykle, dodałem trochę glutenu do mąki, gdyż ta, którą mam, nie ma wysokiej zawartości. Słód diastatyczny też spełnił swoją rolę. Musiałem jedynie nieco zmienić harmonogram, aby dostosować przepis do mojego dnia w stylu "pracuj z domu i odstaw dzieci do szkoły", więc pierwsze wyrastanie było dłuższe, a drugie krótsze. W niektórych bajglach zrobiłem zbyt małą dziurkę i nie miały jak się rozrosnąć do środka:
DSCF7613.JPG

NIEPOTWIERDZONA CIEKAWOSTKA NA IMPREZĘ: bajgle wywodzą się od obwarzanków krakowskich. Polscy żydzi mieli problem, bo nie mogli kupować chleba w czasie Szabatu. Obwarzanki są gotowane przed pieczeniem. Nie gotujesz chleba w wodzie -> obwarzanki to nie chleb. Proste, czyż nie?

Wymierzyłem składniki wieczorem. Lubię w tym przepisie to, że mogę wszystko wrzucić do jednej miski i nie ma żadnych etapów przygotowania - dodać wodę i zamieszać.
Dry ingredients for bagels

Po porannym mieszaniu, miałem zostawić na godzinę - zostawiłem na dwie.
Mixed dough

Dzielenie
Dividing

Formowanie i do lodówki na pięć godzin (miało być sześć)
Shaping

Gotowanie (woda z syropem słodowym)
Heating up the water

Boiled bagels

Oblepienie ziarnami
Seeds on bagels

Na tacki
Bagels on trays

Piecz i korzystaj :)
Bagels

Miękisz:
Bagels - the crumb

To był długi dzień i nie zdążyłem zrobić sobie kolacji - planowałem bajgla z jajkiem i bekonem. Może rano się uda, wtedy dorzucę zdjęcie :)

Zagłosuj jeśli podoba Ci się ten wpis - dziękuję! Obserwuj mnie jeśli chcesz zobaczyć więcej o chlebie i programowaniu

Sort:  

Yuuummm

Send some over!!!

👍👍👍👍

Come over, still a couple left :)

Hi @breadcentric, so sorry for the delay in acknowledging your entries. I am delighted to see you did two so I will look at the other in a mere moment! These bagels look fantastic... they have that homemade rustic look which I like, and the coating of seeds makes them so tempting. I always liked them toasted and topped with cream cheese :-) The crumb looks excellent too, just the way I would expect a sliced bagel to look like! I've never tried making these myself but I do feel inspired now, so perhaps I will give it a go and see how they turn out. Great entry :-)

Thanks!
What I would do is a BLT. Or with an extra egg and some cheese. Let's say I already had a lot on my plate in the recent days ;)

I'm delighted to announce your bagel recipe won second prize! Congratulations @breadcentric, I'm very happy you decided to take the challenge!

Thank you! This was fun to take part in. I really appreciate the effort you put into bringing to Steemit community together!

Congrats on 2nd Place in the Challenge

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49