Slop! Homestead Cookery Borrowed Earth Style

in #food6 years ago (edited)

KIMG4066-01.jpeg

This is my entry into the #whatscookingchallenge by @jaynie. Check out her most recent #whatscookingchallenge post here.

I was challenged by @watersnake101, his entry was amazing! A trek beside him to the local market begins a post filled with pics to get your stomach churning!

I recommend you check it out here.



Lets begin this challenge in one of my two favorite places at Borrowed Earth Homestead...

The Garden!!

I head out to the garden to look for something that is shouting to me.

I'm ready to eat!!

KIMG3969-01.jpeg

Today it's the peas!

Read more about these peas here!

KIMG4010-01.jpeg

So I gather up a shirt full along with a few Onion flowers that needed removing and head inside to begin shelling the garden peas.

KIMG4016-01.jpeg

Pause for beauty.... This one was so full!

KIMG4017-01.jpeg

The peas are ready! Time to fill the bowl with more veggies from the pantry.

This bowl is a perfect veggie portion size when cooking Homestead Slop to feed four!

KIMG4022-01.jpeg

Carrots are next, sliced thin to cook fast. The garden carrots are still weeks away, looking forward to them.

KIMG4024-01.jpeg

Onions are added. Those flowers from my garden make me nervous mine won't grow nice bulbs... Removing the flowers is my best chance.

KIMG4026-01.jpeg

Celery... Something I am not growing this year.

KIMG4029-01.jpeg

Sweet colorful peppers fill up the bowl!

KIMG4034-01.jpeg

I could stop right here and grab a fork.

Instead let's head to my other favorite place on the homestead...

The Kitchen!!!



We are homesteading, which in our case means we are building our home as we go. I don't have refrigeration, pork is what was in the cooler and needs to be eaten. So Pork Slop is What's Cookin'

I often make one dish meals, we have only a camp stove, currently with one burner! Dishes I call Slop!

KIMG4039-01.jpeg

The pork gets chopped up and put in the skillet with spices to marinade an hour or so.

KIMG4041-01.jpeg

Tonight's spices are a creative blend of soy sauce, garlic, ginger, black pepper, lemon pepper blend, and cayenne pepper.

KIMG4046-01.jpeg

Time to fry! I add a good dose of olive oil to the pan, dump in all the veggies except the garden peas and fry until they are a bit tender.

KIMG4047-01.jpeg

Next I stir in chicken broth and rice. I go a bit heavy on the liquid to rice ratio as I don't have a lid that fits my pan tight.

KIMG4052-01.jpeg

Stirring in the garden peas is the last step. The whole sloppy mess gets brought to a boil then turned down to simmer until the rice is tender.

Its Finished!


Here's a bowl full of Pork Slop! Served up with Love from my garden and my kitchen.

This is how I cook most nights, a hearty homestead meal for my hardworking crew.

KIMG4066.JPG

Last but not least... @jaynie always serves dinner with Wine as I recall.

Here in the Ozarks I don't keep Wine on hand, so I include a wee jar of our Local Homebrew to complete the picture.

Replace the 'W' in wine with a 'Sh' and you have Shine...

Moonshine that is! XXX for uncut!

A sip of this White Lightening will curl your knees as it warms the rest of you right through.

Cheers!

KIMG4057-01.jpeg

Here's a wishing you were here smile. A beautiful end to a productive day. Hugs All!

KIMG4079-01.jpeg

I almost forgot to nominate some folks...

@freedomtowrite
@jayclar30
@warpedweaver
@earthmother
@armadillocreek

What's Cookin' at your house?

~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Homesteaders Online

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Your garden harvest is so wonderful looking! And to be able to make your dinner out of it is amazing!

It feels Right to be eating from home, from our neighborhood.

Extending my fresh season this year is high on my list.

Intentional bits of a beautiful life.

Are you getting close to eating from your garden? I've been minimally involved here these last few weeks, I am feeling out of touch with everyone. Glad to be back!

How wonderful to be able to start eating out of your garden already. I am just getting mine into the ground.

Looks like a delicious meal.

Your short growing season makes for many challenges. I give you Northern Homesteaders tons of credit, I don't know that I could do it.

Do you preserve much food? The season must be intense if you do.

Yes we do have quite a short growing season. I usually start most things in the house in late March and early April to extend our growing season. We do preserve as much as we can. I will start early next month dehydrating lettuce, alfalfa and kale for the winter. I guess it is intense, I never thought of it that way. We are just really busy all the time.

I dry a lot of wild greens, but I never considered the lettuce. I have a lot of hearty romaine right now. Thanks for the idea!

My pleasure, enjoy.

Guess i gotta cook up some yummy stuff this weekend!

Please do!! I've eaten your cooking, seeing it will be wonderful, but not the same.

Wow. The slop as you call it looks delicious! And the close up of those peas really shows how luscious they are. And all that over a one burner camp stove. Pretty impressive. :)

The name "Slop" comes from the years raising my boys. It makes me smile to just say it.
The camp stove has been all I have had for four years. I have become rather skilled at it.

Thanks!

You absolutely rock @borrowedearth I am super impressed. Fresh veggies from the garden and you prepared a humble meal that looks absolutely delicious. That moonshine was unexpected at the end which made it perfect!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T02:34:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.55/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87