This isn't Pulp Fiction! Why would I pay $9 for this at the local grocery? Hold up! I can help you save $$$

in #food6 years ago

IMG_3095.JPG

Yes, really! Come long fellow Steemians and I will show you how! It's really simple, trust me!

If you’re buying Almond meal/flour at the store you’re probably paying between 8-9 dollars for a 16 oz bag!!

Used widely for baking cookies, muffins and breads, Almond flour/meal has a bit of a nutty aroma. Almond flour can be used in many recipes in place of all-purpose flour. Almond flour is made from blanched and skinned almonds. Almond meal is made from almonds with the skin left on. Almond meal can be a bit denser in texture. Both are gluten free, high in protein, low in carbohydrates and high in vitamins.

source

If you followed my post yesterday see here we were making almond milk. You may remember we not only made milk but we also had almond pulp when we were finished!

Well, I hope you held on to your pulp!

IMG_3071.JPG

Because we are going to make almond meal with the leftover pulp!

It is so easy!!

Preparation:

• Preheat your oven to its lowest setting. (My oven’s lowest setting is 200 degrees)
• Spread your almond pulp on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

IMG_3074.JPG

• Place in oven for 2-3 hours. When pulp is dry, take out and cool.
• When cool, pour dried almond meal in blender or food processor and whirl until it's a fine powder
IMG_3088.JPG

See! It’s that easy!

IMG_3093.JPG

Store in an air-tight container in the fridge! Happy baking!

IMG_3102.JPG

Now read on, this is the best part!

We used 1 cup of raw almonds and we made 48 oz fresh almond milk and 12 oz of Almond meal. The last time I purchased raw almonds the cost was roughly $2.25/cup.

We all know you can easily pay 3 dollars for a 32 oz container of Almond milk and a 16 oz package of almond meal costs between 8-9 dollars! Not only are you saving money but best of all,

FRESH FOOD AND NO ADDITIVES, NO PRESERVATIVES.

That sounds like a win-win situation for all! I hope you all will try it!

I hope you have enjoyed my post today. Please stop by any time, I’d love to hear from you!!

Feel free to check out some of my earlier posts!

When you realized you are what you eat, I realized I was nuts!
Friday Foodies | Fire! We’re turning up the heat!
I almost lost my daughter to Asthma
We’re rolling out rockin Raisins!

Blessings to you all!

Sort:  

Definitely a win/win! Thanks for sharing this trick.

I used to have the magic bullet - and loved it....I think I went through 3 of them. Finally I got myself a Vita Mix....the only difference is with smoothies is in the creaminess. But if I had a choice, I would still use the Bullet bc I really only make smoothies, rarely anything else.

I think my next step will be a VitaMix. I have an Omega Juicer now and the Bullet so I rotate between the two. Really enjoying my juice smoothies right now but i really love the creaminess with smoothies too. I hope you'll try this, then you won't have to buy the almond milk for the smoothies ;) Thank so much @countrygirl! (by the way, I love your name! )

Aw, thanks so much. I wasn't sure re my name but I think it suits me. I like yours too....guess you chose it because of where you live? If you have a membership to Costco they often have specials. I got mine there online. I didn't buy the dry jug but you might be interested in that for use with your flours and any other dry mix.

This is incredible!
I think I missed the almond milk post- I'll have to head over there now!

Well thank you @goldendawne. When I tried this the first time I too was stunned. It's too easy! I hope you'll try it!

Yes it's informative do follow

I love this post as much as the almond milk post. I am ordering my bag this week and will be looking for almonds. I can't wait to give this a go. Upvoted, Resteemed, and added to my To Do list :) Love it!

Yay! You are so sweet! You really will be amazed at how quick and easy both options are. I know I was. Thanks friend for your kind support!

Awesome! We’ve never done that! You’re so smart 😉

Thank you, I have learned a lot from you guys! Blessings

I always wondered how people made this! May I link this article and feature your username @birdsinparadise in the next Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? Let me know, thanks!

I know, it's so fun to make and so personally satisfying to know what we can make on our own! Sure I would be honored to be included in the newsletter! Thank you friend!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 13:18:35
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 21.30/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thanks and have a great day!

Using almonds to the fullest extent good job! I will definitely try it making things of our own is quite satisfying. Keep it up!

Thank you, so sweet of you!

It was sweet of you @birdsinparadise to share such a helpful post. I made my son almond milk myself rather than letting him buy when he wanted while doing grocery yesterday. It was good in taste, fresh and of course pure. Keep it up !
image.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32