Smoothie | Another Healthy Dose of Liquid Sunshine!

in #food6 years ago

phonto.jpg

Good Morning Fellow Steemians!!



Cabbage….now before you close the post, hang in here with me!


IMG_3236.JPG

Let me share a little bit about why we should eat cabbage!

Did you know:

  • Cabbage is one of 6 foods which is instrumental in prevention of Type 2 diabetes?
  • Cabbage is packed with antioxidants!
  • Cabbage is the second most economical vegetable, following behind the potato!
  • Cabbage studies have recently found eating Red Cabbage can help lower LDL Cholesterol.
  • Cabbage is extremely high in Vitamin C and K.
    source

I know many of you associate cabbage with sauerkraut, coleslaw, or perhaps corned beef and cabbage for good luck on New Years day. But cabbage can be more than that!

But I’m here to tell you, cabbage is a really healthy add to your diet!

Green cabbage is nutritious too, but Red cabbage is even more nutritious! This spring as you are planning your garden thrown in some Red Cabbage seeds!

So come with me, let’s make another….

Healthy Dose of Liquid Sunshine, Cabbage Style!

You will need:

IMG_3222.JPG

1 cucumber
1 golden beet (include greens)
4 stalks of Kohlrabi
1 lemon
1 apple
4 carrots
½ small head red cabbage
3 cups fresh spinach

serves 4

Wash all thoroughly, peel cucumber, carrots, lemon and beets. Chop as needed for blending.

IMG_3225.JPG

Process through juicer or blender.

And there you have it! Look at that sunshine coming out of that glass!!

IMG_3235.JPG

I think you will find this will be tasty! The lemon adds a bit of tartness to the drink! I think your kids both big and small will love it!

Thanks for stopping by today! I enjoy sharing with you and would love to hear your favorite smoothie recipes.

And as always blessings to you

Feel free to stop by some of my earlier posts

How to make Sun-Dried Tomatoes
Fish Fuddle | Jamaican Me Crazy!
Bouncing Blueberry Potts | Yes, they are edible!

Sort:  

This sounds so good. I usually add more fruits because my hubby isn't to keen on a very green taste! I love it though! So much plant goodness in one glass!

I know, my husband isn't too keen if it tastes a bit to "earthy" as my husband says! lol So I do try to balance to keep everyone drinking the juices.

I've used cabbage in my smoothies, too! My friends all think I'm nuts, but as long as you have a good blender and some nice pairings to go with it you can hardly even tell you're drinking cabbage. :)

Fantastic, I totally agree. There is a hint of cabbage but I do not mind, especially knowing how healthy it is! I really try to use more vegetables than fruits... to keep the sugar down.
Thank you!

I'm with you on adding veggies! I feel like it can be a missed opportunity if you don't add them. I do add a good bit of fruit right now since I need the calories for my running at the moment, but when I'm not training as hard I scale back, too. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 18:07:05
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 41.75/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33