Salute Your Health! | Tea for Two? Good Morning Granola!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0025 (2).jpg

Don’t you feel great when you start your day with a great breakfast?


Do you ever treat yourself by having breakfast using your best dishes? You know, the ones you save just for guests?


Breakfast is so important…no matter what time you choose to have it! I personally have my breakfast late each morning. As I get older, my portions are smaller, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy my breakfast. When I'm not enjoying a fresh juice, granola and yogurt have always been favorites, especially when I make the granola. I have a favorite recipe I would love to share with you. You know, the granola with the clusters….


DSC_0011 (2).jpg


I think the last time I bought a box of granola it easily cost more than $6/box. Not to mention you don’t know how long it’s been on the shelf! Making it yourself is so much better, save money and it takes very little time to make. I love to vary the ingredients each time!


todaysjourney.jpg

Good Morning Granola!


For this batch I used:

  • 4 cups Gluten Free Granola
  • 1 ½ cups raw nuts (I used pecans, cashews, sunflower seeds, walnuts)
  • Dash of Sea Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup liquefied Coconut Oil
  • 1/2 cup Organic Maple Syrup
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1/3 cup Raisins
  • 1/3 cup dried Goji Berries

I mix all except the Goji together in a large bowl. Really mix this my friends….if you have to, use your clean hands. You want to make sure everything is well coated.


Spread the granola on parchment lined baking pan. Press the granola down.


This will help make the clusters!!


DSC_0003 (2).jpg


Bake the granola at 350 degrees for 11 minutes. When time is up, turn the granola over to allow granola on bottom layer to brown. I also added the Goji berries at this time and mixed them in. They will burn easily so you don’t want to have them baking too long. Now press the granola down firmly again and bake for another 10 minutes. Don’t over bake…burned granola will ruin your day.


DSC_0006 (2).jpg


Take the granola out of the oven and let it sit for at least 1 hour. I usually cover it…helps keep the snacking down to a minimum.


More patience = more granola clusters


DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Voila, morning delight! Nothing like fresh granola topping fresh yogurt!


DSC_0040 (2).jpg

Oh, and treat yourself! Use your “special dishes!”


DSC_0032 (2).jpg

I hope you’ll try it! I would love to hear about your favorite granola recipe! Mr. Bird says he wakes up each morning looking forward to his granola and yogurt! I must be doing something right!

Thanks for stopping by,

And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 270 (10/03/18)

Thanks so much TSE! Appreciate being featured!

I am going to have to try your recipe for granola because I love clusters. A few years ago I decided that I would use the "good dishes" every day. My sons thought they were being treated like royalty! LOL No point in having good dishes sitting in the cupboard gathering dust.

You are smart @cecicastor! Crazy to let your good dishes just sit in the cabinet...why have them? I bet your sons didn't know what to do, afraid they would break something lol I hope you will try this recipe and let me know! Thanks so much, glad you stopped in!

Mmm, crunchy yummies. Sounds like a great way to start out the day! I would definitely have a hard time leaving enough to actually put in any yogurt...😋

lol, you are too funny...always make me smile my friend! Well, I guess I failed to include the part about snacking with the granola....never fear I'll always grab a handful when I need a little pick-me-up! So I'm with you on that problem :) Thanks so much!

I usually cover it…helps keep the snacking down to a minimum.

Lol... is there a certain bird beak in the house who takes advantage if you don't cover the goods? ;) i can't imagine this possibility... You know, I live for the clusters. I am glad to see you using the good dishes ON Yourself! Love ya momma.. can't wait to enjoy a late breakfast on the lanai with you and the fam <3

lol, you made me laugh so hard, I cried...and the other bird choked on his drink, hahaha! Can't wait to share breakfast with you, I'll be sure to have some granola clusters for you oxoxox

hahah ;) glad to provide the laughter for those i love! tell mr bird i said hello and that i see him peeking under the cover for those clusters! xoxo

Nothing beats homemade granola. I sure do a thing or two about burnt granola, haha. Nothing worst than biting into a hard, crunchy fruit with a burnt aftertaste. Love the idea of pulling out your good dishes to use. What a beautiful way to start the morning. Lovely post!

I know, so easy to make! Mr Bird certainly looks forward to enjoying it each morning. Thank you @loveself, appreciate your kind support :) It is fun to enjoy the nice dishes we generally save for our guests right?

After reading your post I was thinking, huh why am I saving my nice dishes for guests? I should definitely enjoy them myself, haha.

Homemade granola is the best. Reminds me to make a new batch today and get some coconut yoghurt started too. Have a beautiful day!

So good to see you! Thank you Amy! How is everything on your side of the world? Still rainy season for you? Things calming down here, luckily! Glad you enjoy granola, it's hard to keep it around our house! lol

Still rainy season but same as on your side it seems, things are getting a bit sunnier. Especially during the day! Nights are still quite rainy, but that's ok. Happy to see the sun back! Feels so good!

Your granola looks amazing, lucky Mr Bird! I used to make my own, you've just inspired me to start again, love the way you served it! I totally agree we should use all the pretty crockery and not keep it for guests or special occasions only, every day is special after all :)

That looks so yummy! I love using a special cup for my morning coffee – a small one. I hate coffee in a big mug. And I used to have a special plate that I ate my breakfast eggs on, one that I inherited from my grandma. That plate always reminded me of breakfast at Grandma's. But sadly it broke. I keep hoping I'll find a similar one on eBay – it was made at a pottery not far from where she lived. Maybe one day I'll find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52