Healthy Eats | Spicy Mojo Tostones!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0020 (2).jpg

Have you tried a new fruit or vegetable lately?


I hope you have! If you haven’t please do! I think you’ll find some amazingly delicious and nutritious treats out there! I know we’re all so busy and usually on auto-pilot whether we are at the local market or even the farmer’s market. We eat those “tried and true” favorites! I usually look for fruits and vegetable I'm not familiar with, it's like a treasure hunt!


Well this week, I have another healthy treasure to share


DSC_0005 (2).jpg

Are you familiar with this little gem? The Plantain…


a very important staple food for many living in tropical countries. Unlike the common sweet banana plantains are almost always cooked before eating. In fact they’re horrible raw! Plantains are high in fiber and very nutritious! They’re rich in vitamins A, C and B6, potassium and magnesium. They’re great for your heart and being a complex carbohydrate they’re great for your waistline!

Another Superfood! Plantains to the Rescue!

todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Mojo Tostones!

Tostones

  • Green Plantains
  • Garlic Powder
  • Sea Salt/Pepper

Spicy Mojo Dipping Sauce

  • Avocado
  • Fresh Cilantro
  • Fresh Parsley
  • Jalapeno
  • Garlic cloves
  • Fresh Lime Juice
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt
  • Pistachios or Walnuts

Spicy Mojo First…


by throwing everything but the pistachios into your favorite food processor. Pulse away until everything is well combined. Add the nuts and pulse again until you like the consistency. If you want a thinner dipping sauce add a little water until you get the best consistency. Now into the fridge to chill!

Now to the Plantains…


we slice the plantain into 1 “ slices and then peel the slices. It takes a minute or so, but you can do it.

DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Into the Frying Pan…


Browning each side, about 3 minutes each side. When the plantains are golden brown transfer them to drain on toweling.
DSC_0012 (2).jpg

Without Burning yourself…


flatten each plantain between the layers of a piece of parchment. You can use a wooden spoon, your hand, whatever works for you! Remember, they’re hot, hot!
DSC_0015 (2).jpg

Back to the Fire…


to cook for another couple of minutes on each side. We want these guys nicely browned and crisp! When they’re done, drain again, sprinkle with a bit of garlic powder, salt and pepper.

Grab the Spicy Mojo Sauce and start dipping!


DSC_0032 (2).jpg


This is a popular dish in many tropical areas. We love them! The plantains have a very mild flavor but paired with this sauce…watch out! I hope you’ll try this! Make sure you use green plantains for this dish.


Even if you don’t try this recipe I do hope you’ll take a moment to try a new fruit or vegetable this week! You’ll be glad you did, and your family will love you for it! Thanks for stopping by the Bird nest!

And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

You are so cool encouraging everyone to try something new and step out of their comfort zones! I’m so proud of you; you’re amazing!! This one looks amaaaazing yum!!! XOXOX the brain will never get old if you keep changing courses- you taught me that! 😘🥰

I have you to thank for the steppin out and trying new foods...although I don't think I'm up for worms....lol :) You are an amazing daughter! Thank you for supporting my craziness, hehe I am so proud of you as well, stay cozy warm and enjoy those good books oxoxox

Don't tell me she eats worms too!

I've never tried plantain, as I dont think it's easy to get here, but if I find it, I'm going to try these!!!!

I love your experimentations with food - do you think Steemit has encouraged this even more?

Thanks @riverflows! I would probably say Steemit encourages experimenting more although I do love to cook and share with others. Having family with food issues and health issues motivates me a great deal and having moved to a tropical climate provides a real treat when you visit the markets :)

So gooood. I can imagen a little sugar and cinnamon on these too for a healthy treat. Here, we’ve been buying plantains a lot. At least I think they’re plantains. I put them in Dandays shakes and he loves them. Great post you kitchen sorcerer you.

hmmm, hadn't thought about a shake! What a great idea! Can you eat them? I know with your food restrictions you are limited but I thought these would work? No? A little bit of sugar and cinnamon sounds tasty, I 'll have to try that one too. Your amazing @puravidaville, love to hear from you!

Another must try, must be absolutely yumm!

Thanks @lizelle. I'm had friends over for book club and our book was about Cuba. It was fun to share Cuban food with them. These were perfect finger foods :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 405 (02/19/19)

Ohh this is so simple but oh so good. Ate plenty of them in the Dominican Republic. Strangely enough no plantains in Cambodia.

Thanks @amy-goodrich. They're so quick to make, just another new food to try out. :) Shared them with friends and they loved them.

This is wonderful and a great reference for a nice yummy recipe from fruits and vegetables! Over here at the Food Bank we occasionally receive fruits like plantain (or similar to it) from the aboriginal families we supported with other food source including stationary and books as well.

Sometimes we do have no idea how to cook it and I believe in Malaysia, this could be the ones used for deep fry by the stalls (as the whole thing - for the tiny ones) and we just call them pisang goreng (deep fried bananas)

Best Wishes,
Daily Bread Food Bank

Thanks for sharing this information @gtpjfoodbank! I love learning about how foods are prepared all over the world. Although I don't usually deep fry foods I wanted to try cooking the plantain authentically to taste the true recipe. If I understand my research correctly allowing the plantains to ripen more allows them to sweeten, the green ones aren't sweet. I'll have to let them ripen and then try them again :) Could be a tasty sweet treat right? So glad you stopped by! Have a great weekend!

I agree, it is like a treasure hunting when it comes to fruits that you haven't tried yet.. this is what I like about your post! will be looking forward for your posts, keep it up! I'm excited to try your recipe ;)

Thanks @davidanderson, glad you enjoyed the recipe! I hope you'll try it some time. Be well

Hello @birdsinparadise i just upvote you and follow you

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65739.28
ETH 2626.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66