Healthy Eats | Never too Young! Garlic Roasted Veggie Stuffed Butternut Squash

in #food5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0019 (2).jpg

Dinnertime with the Bird Family! Always a fun time!


With a little bird in the house we were excited to see if he would enjoy roasted vegetables! Very interested in watching everyone eat, his parents have been giving him avocado, fruits and veggies to sample while they enjoyed their dinner. No pureed baby food for this little guy! Straight to the real stuff!


Tonight was no different, although there were some new veggies try! @mountainjewel brought Jerusalem Artichokes and Butternut Squash from her homestead! In case you haven’t tried one, the Jerusalem artichoke is delightful! Tastes like a potato, crunchy and light! We’ll include them with our roasted squash!


todaysjourney.jpg


Garlic Roasted Veggie Stuffed Butternut Squash

Stuffed Butternut

  • Butternut Squash
  • Golden Beets (and greens!)
  • Medium Onion
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Jerusalem Artichokes
  • Sweet Potato
  • Carrots
  • Shitake Mushrooms
  • Tempeh (for added protein!)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt (to taste)
  • Pepper (to taste)
  • Cayenne Pepper (to taste)
  • Bragg Liquid Amino (2 tbsp.)

Quite a spread right? Time to wash and chop!


DSC_0004 (2).jpg

While washing and peeling and chopping…

I roasted the Butternut squash on parchment in the oven for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees, and played with the baby a bit.


Back to work...time to sauté the onions…


When the onions are translucent, add the minced garlic and Saute a few minutes. Add all of the chopped veggies, salt and pepper liberally and cook until they’re lightly browned. Oh and don’t forget, sprinkle a bit of cayenne pepper! A little kick is always nice!


DSC_0006 (a).jpg


Now poured all of the browned veggies into your favorite baking dish, cover and place into the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.


DSC_0015 (2).jpg

I think the squash is done! Smells wonderful!


Scoop the squash out of the shell, being careful that you don’t tear the butternut shell; it makes a great serving bowl! Cut the squash into squares and set aside. Finally I sautéed the sliced tempeh and sliced shitake mushrooms in the Liquid Amino and toss with the roasted veggies and squash. If you don’t want to use tempeh, leave it out! The veggies alone make an amazing meal or side dish.


DSC_0013 (2).jpg


At this point, the Bird family was chirping like they hadn’t eaten for weeks! Patience, patience…


Ok, Dinners On! Squash for the little guy, and now everyone is happy!


DSC_0037 (2).jpg


Needless to say, the veggies were a hit! Thanks @mountainjewel! We so appreciated the gifts from your fall garden! Love the time we had together. Family and fellowship is what it’s all about!


So glad you stopped in my friends! Do you have a special family meal you share during the holidays? I would love to hear!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Yep. That looks pretty yummy. How did the little guy do?

He loved the squash! They have this little pacifier thing they put the squash in and he eats it that way, he ate it for several meals. It's amazing what they will try, anything mom is eating...they want! Thank you @enchantedspirit!

They look so good I do love roasted Veges

I know, what a great comfort meal, right? Thanks @tatoodjay, so glad you stopped in! Happy New Year my friend!

sticks head through screen
inhales deeply

...YUUUUUUMMMMMMMMM.... Can I come over for dinner? Please?

That last picture with your grand babies hand in there is pure gold @birdsinparadise. Bra-frikken-vo, you killed it. Those veggies look delish and that stuffed squash is perfect for a winter din din. Great job friend! Hey, I’m so glad you made it to the food fight Friday train. Way to make an entrance 😉

He is just too sweet...I can't tell you, the smiles win me over every time! He loved the squash, not bad for a 6 month old! Never too young! Thank you @puravidaville :)

Oh I bet he loved it. I can imagine you puréeing this tasty squash for your grandchild. I wouldn’t mind puréed squash once in awhile, kind of like a pudding 🤷🏼‍♀️

AND a little baby hand in the picture?!

Great job chef, it’s nice to see you in the #fff kitchen again. Happy Friday @birdsinparadise.

He was just too amazing, just had to share! Thank you @dandays, you are so kind my friend! Such a warm welcome!

Gorgeous little baby hand model;)
This looks so delicious and very healthy @birdsinparadise!

Couldn't resist those baby hands, aren't they amazing :) He loved the squash! Never too young to start! You're so kind @lizelle, thank you my friend!

this meal was sooooo tasty! the tempeh was such a great addition. our pleasure MUAH!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! No thanks to your loving contribution :) love you sooooo! oxoxoxo

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 355 (12/29/18)

Had to go look up what tempeh is. Never heard of it. (But I figured it had to be something healthy.) Very nice presentation.

The veggies were amazing! My daughter and her husband loved the tempeh, so I added it for them! I think you would love the roasted veggies, thanks @thesteemengine! So glad you stopped in!

Not only is this nutritious, but it also looks so yummy, I wish I could crawl through the screen and share some!I love it and thanks for the recipe!

It looks so festive!

!tip

You are so kind! Thank you @dswigle! Great to see you, Happy New Year to you my friend!

Oh my goodness! I was serious!

I know! Thank you @dswigle!! I would love to share these veggies with you :) Too bad the usps doesn't move a bit faster, lol

Hehe! Truth! :) And thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68296.35
ETH 3839.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64