Healthy Eats! | Leaks and Blueberry Lemon Scones

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0037 (2).jpg

Definitely a rough weekend at the Bird’s nest!


Record rain for 3 days and roof leaks! Ugh! Quite unexpected in a new home! Buckets and towels were the order for the weekend!


Well, today’s a new day and the rain has thankfully stopped. The insurance company has been contacted and after all of that we needed a cup of hot tea and a healthy breakfast!


We love blueberries! They’re packed with antioxidants, and full of vitamin C it’s a great fruit to eat during the cold and rainy winter months! Blueberries are always available in our area so they’re a frequent addition to our smoothies, juices and treats!


How do Scones sound to you?

They sound amazing to me…especially with Lemon and Blueberries

DSC_0013 (2).jpg

todaysjourney.jpg

Blueberry Lemon Scones


I used

  • Gluten Free Flour (1 ¾ cups)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (1/4 cup)
  • Baking Powder (1 tbsp.)
  • Sea Salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)
  • Vanilla (1 tsp)
  • Full Fat Canned Coconut Milk (3/4 cup)
  • Fresh Blueberries (1 cup)
  • Fresh Lemon Juice (1 tbsp.)
  • Lemon Zest (1 ½ tsp)

Sift the dry ingredients together and then add the Coconut Oil, Maple Syrup, Vanilla and Lemon Juice The Coconut milk had been refrigerated overnight so I was able to scoop 3 tablespoons from the solid coconut and add it to the mixture. The dough was not as smooth as I would have liked so I added a few tablespoons of coconut water. That produced just the perfect dough! Gently fold in the Blueberries and Lemon zest and we’re good to go!


DSC_0017 (2).jpg

  • Form the dough into a 7” round about 1 ½” thick, cut it into 6 wedges and place it in the fridge for 30 minutes. Just enough time to make my morning juice!
    DSC_0020 (2).jpg
  • Now it’s time to bake scones! Out of the fridge, separate the wedges and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.
    DSC_0026 (2).jpg

Summer or winter, scones are always great. Bluberry-licoius!


DSC_0045 (2).jpg

Great with coffee, tea or milk!


DSC_0055 (2).jpg


Sometimes it’s nice to take a moment and reflect. I hope you all have a great week! Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

They came out great! If they taste even half as great as they look, it would still be very tasty ;-)

Thank you! They were good ...in fact I had 2 ;) It was just that kind of day, lol Thanks @daan!

Hey... I could make these. Easy ingredients... I want to eat them through the computer screen, but that is sadly disappointing. Might have to do up a batch with the kids tomorrow. :)

I hope you do!!! These were tasty this morning. (In fact I had 2, lol) Your kids will love these treats! Thank you @katrina-ariel, blueberry anything is great on a cold morning

I am sure they were delicious. I would have picked one straight through my desktop screen if possible!

Thank you @lymepoet! I think you would like them :) I would certainly send one your way if I could :)

I have a leak in my roof, too. We don't get much rain, but I've been battling the damn thing for a couple of years. It's a flat metal roof and I think maybe I crack it just fixing it. I've got a plan when it gets nice and warm to use a tar product...

Anyway I'd be in for those scones rain or shine or anything in between. They just look scrumptious.

ugh, yes the leak....roofer showed up today and gave us a $2500 quote to "repair". Hard to believe we live in a home that is 1 1/2 years old and we have a roof leak, crazy! I guess that's why we have insurance? We have always fixed leaks in our other homes but this one is a tile roof...I don't want Mr. Bird up on a tile roof at his age. It'll be okay...and yes, the scones really helped, lol Thanks @bigtom13, appreciate the kind words.

So, only last year, when developing a healthy and gluten free recipe for scones, did I discover these triangular scones Americans make. My world was literally shook lol. I grew up with white English sconces with cream, and then here come these scones shaped like pizzas.

I know, every time I make these I know the true scone "purists" are a little sick about it :) (btw my daughter and I love to watch the Great British Baking show...I'm always experimenting to modify their recipes so they're a bit healthier, lol ) These blueberry scones are good I promise! Were you successful making the English white sconces gluten free option? I would love to try it :)

Oooh! I love the Great British Bake Off. Mary Berry is my hero! Have you tried her Beef and Ale Stew with Horseradish Dumplings??? OMOMGOMGOMGOMG NOMZ. I also love the illustrations they do on the show of the food.

So, my scones actually came out very similar to yours, but they were super delish, and I loved the fact that they were not sugary at all

Here's the link :D

NOOO I haven't tried the Stew yet!! There are so many wonderful recipe ideas...where do you start, lol I too love the illustrations, they are so beautiful. The breads and the desserts are unbelievable, watching the show just makes me want to cook! I'm planning to experiment with a few that I saw on the latest episodes..I'll share if they turn out ;) Oh, did you know Mary is not on this latest season? I think her health is not the best....I loved her, she was so elegant. The new replacement is okay, just not Mary. So glad to meet someone who loves the show! How fun! We'll have to compare our favorite recipes!! Btw...your scones are beautiful, I loved your post. I haven't baked with corn flour but I bet it would work well with Almond flour...they looked so yummy! Yay for Blueberries ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 384 (01/28/19)

Thank you @thesteemengine! I thank you for the curation :)

When I saw your title, I thought you'd misspelled leeks. And I was wondering, Ok ... leeks and blueberry muffins. How's she gonna make THIS palatable?

I read it the same way! Hahahah! Good to see I am not the only one! Though don't think leeks and blueberries would be such an awful combination. I am sure someone might have tried it by now!

lol, glad it caught your eye! Not sure what that would taste like although since I use juice pulp in some of my recipes I have found veggies often don't change the flavor! ;) You're right, I'm sure some have tried crazier combos than I!

geesh, I wish it was a misspelling...that would be easily corrected. lol, I may be crazy but no leeks in my scones! These made my day, in fact I had 2! Guess the title worked, made you look! ;)

Blueberry mixed with lemon zest is one of my favorites. This scones look delish my friend. What a fancy and yummy breakfast to wake up to. Love it. What kind of juice did you pair with it? I just got a juicer this weekend and am looking for a good green juice recipe. I’ve never juiced before so your recommendations would be greatly appreciated 😉

I am so excited for you!!!! I loooooove my juicer (as you know) Hmmm okay green juice...if you can have lemons I would do spinach, ginger, cucumber, celery 1/2 lemon and cilantro when you can add a green apple (I love granny smith, they're tart and not sweet) This is a great detox and anti-inflamatory juice. You can of course use kale too. I love including carrots and beets in my juices, they're sooo good for you and truly an energizer. You'll feel so good after you drink these drinks. I try to buy organic as much as I can. And...you know you can use the pulp lol I can't wait to hear what you think. When you are able to eat a bit of fruit, raspberries, blackberries, limes and lemons are the lowest sugar fruits! My daily drink always includes spinach or beet greens, carrots, cucumber, beets, lemon and a fruit. Your guys will love having a juicer!

Yes, yes and yes! All of that sounds so good. Our farmers market is tomorrow night so I will pick up a boat load of veggies to get to juicing right away. I actually have a Granny Smith Apple in the fridge as a test item but I’ve been to chicken to try it yet. Haha… in stores I haven’t seen berries yet, other than strawberries but they are test items for me too. Friday morning will be our big juice day… yay! I want to make some kind of “sweet bread” and or crackers with the pulp. We’ll see :)

Let me do a final test with the pulp and a bread...I'll do it in the morning and let you know if it is okay ;) So excited for you and juicing!!!! We can share cooking experiments!!! I think raspberries have a lower sugar than strawberries too bad they're not available yet!!

I just saw a farmer with some blueberries too. We didn’t get any but it’s good to know that black berries and blueberries are available here. We make our first juice this afternoon, after the gym. I’ll let you know how it turns out :)

Yes, yes and yes! All of that sounds so good. Our farmers market is tomorrow night so I will pick up a boat load of veggies to get to juicing right away. I actually have a Granny Smith Apple in the fridge as a test item but I’ve been to chicken to try it yet. Haha… in stores I haven’t seen berries yet, other than strawberries but they are test items for me too. Friday morning will be our big juice day… yay! I want to make some kind of “sweet bread” and or crackers with the pulp. We’ll see :)

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Wow, thank you so much! You're so kind to share my post today! :)

Thank you! I'm so glad you stopped in! Perhaps you'll try making them sometime and let me know what you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31