ADSactly Food - 🍰 Healthy Blueberry Scones 🍰

in #food6 years ago

cover.jpg

This week's episode of ADSactly Food is a reader request. Our lovely friend @gails-word-syrup requested a healthy version of Blueberry Scones. Growing up in South Africa, which at one time was a British colony, and a very prim and proper English grandmother, scones were a weekly occurrence for us, with lashings of cream and strawberry jam. Scones were actually the very first baked item I learnt to make, and so I would invite my gran over for tea and serve my scones. I think this is where I learnt the fine art of small talk 😂😂


I must say that I was surprised when I was doing my research for a healthier scone recipe, it seems to be a mainly UK and South African thing. I did see a few American scones, but they looked a bit funny. They were triangular! No, people. This is not acceptable.

baby-scones-with-jam-and-cream-41958-1.jpeg

This is a Scone!

The majority of healthy recipes I found were American, so I had to give in to the triangular shape, as to be honest, I was really unsure of the why behind this strange shape. I actually thought it had something to do with the healthier recipe, and lack of gluten, but after much research, I see that this is just how it is done in the US.

What Makes a Scone a Scone?

This is a question I had to ask myself when developing this recipe, in order to stay true the traditional scone.

A scone falls under the category of "quick bread". Quick bread is classified as "any bread leavened with leavening agents other than yeast or eggs." 1 Quick breads are known to be, as the name suggest, quick to make, reliable in their structure, ie, they won't flop.

Scones are generally made with the shortening method of mixing, which means that the fat in the recipe is "cut" into the dry ingredients. We do this to create a flaky texture in the bake. Generally, the fat needs to be cold, in order to melt when baking. This creates a lovely flaky, soft texture.

high tea.jpg

A Typical High Tea Table, Often Containing Scones - Source

So, when I saw that all of the "healthy" recipes omitted butter, I was shook! I just couldn't. I weighed up my options - coconut oil would melt before it hit the oven, I don't believe in margarine (this is wayyy more unhealthy than a natural fat like butter). I considered buttermilk and Greek yoghurt, but all of these were liquid, and I was afraid they would mess with the dry/wet ingredient ratio. In the end, I consoled myself with the fact that my recipe was completely gluten free and had only natural sweeteners, and included the butter.

You may know from reading my past posts, that I love alternative, healthy versions of traditional recipes, for example, my Almond Nut Butter and my chocolate cake made with beans, so developing this recipe was really quite fun. I omitted flour by substituting with ground almonds, an almond flour, if you will.

The result was a light, crumbly bake, sweetened by the juicy blueberries. I'm pretty proud of the outcome, and would definitely recommend making this if you are looking for a tasty, healthy alternative to the traditional scone.

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-30 at 19.59.30 (1).jpeg

🍰 INGREDIENTS 🍰

  • 1 1/2 cup raw, unsalted almonds
  • 1/4 cup corn flour
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 T cubed, cold butter
  • 3 T Honey
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 1 egg

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-30 at 20.00.23.jpeg

🍰 METHOD 🍰

Preheat the oven to 350'F/180'C. Blitz the almonds in a blender until very fine. You can also buy almond flour, which is already blitzed super fine, but I had some almonds in the cupboard, so I decided to blend them myself. Combine the almond flour, cornstarch, salt and baking powder in one bowl. We are using corn flour as the combination of corn and almond flour creates a flour most similar to actual wheat flour.

IMG_1401.jpg

Cut the cold butter into the "flour" by pressing into the mixture with a fork. You should be creating quite fine crumbs.

Mix the blueberries into the mixture, and add the honey, vanilla extract and the whisked egg. Mix until just combined, and pour into a lined cake tin.

IMG_1406.jpg

Bake for approx thirty minutes, until a skewer comes out clean. Once cooked, leave in the tin to rest for at least twenty minutes.

Serve as is, or with a drizzle of maple syrup.

IMG_1459.jpg

Thank you so much for reading along. Please let me know in the comments if you have any suggestions, or would like to request a recipe. I particularly enjoy healthy bakes, and foods that have an interesting history to them.

WhatsApp Image 2018-03-30 at 19.59.30 (5).jpeg

Sources
1 - Wikipedia

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

The pictures of this recipe are very delightful. It looks very crunchy as well.

I've asked you before @introvert-dime why you vote up all your own replies at basically full strength all the time, but the post itself at VERY low power (around 7% usually it seems) and here is the deal.

It is considered pretty scammy here to do that.

And you have been doing it a long time and it is time to address this poor behaviour.

Once in awhile is fine. Not all day, every day for weeks on end.

That is garbage behaviour here.

You seem to pick high profile posts, or users to do this on always and then vote your comments to the top increasing your visibility and you do this all day long, every day, all the time.

That is frowned upon here, not like you need someone to tell you this behaviour is scammy and poor.

I think I might start pasting this reply into your scammy replies to people, since your replies are all self-voted to the top for VISIBILITY. ALL THE TIME.

-- here is the proof just recently again, on SteemD.com which I encourage everyone to check out on the blockchain.

This Reply posted April 3rd, 2018 to @introvert-dime, as I have done with them before..... without reply.

I agree everything looks super delicious

yum

Wow, looks incredible!

thank you very much

Nice work .. well done
The recipe looks really wonderful,
Thanks for sharing

Ohh...it's like a nutty, blueberry cornbread! Looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing.

Yes, similar! It was really tasty. Thanks for your lovely comment. 💓

Looks so delicious!

This is absolutely perfect and they not only look delicious, but beautiful, thank you so much for posting....that didn't take you any time at all. Thank you @princessmewmew / @adsactly.. the placement of the mint leaves and berry toppers , talk about eating with your eyes! Stunning. You truly make pieces of art. Your food styling and presentation are magnificent. Truly appreciate you taking the time for my suggestion. Love you Girl!!

Hi! It is my absolute pleasure! I love a challenge.

Thank you for your kind words, the actual taking of the photos can be more fun than the eating of cake - Who woulda thunk?!

Many hugs and kittens! xxx

I'm sure it must be very tasty and tasty, an interesting post. Thank you for sharing @adsactly. please help to support me.

It’s my pleasure. Thank you for reading. Upvoted your kind comment.

thank you very much

@adsactly loving the recipe.It is not exactly like the humble scones but to be honest yours looks tastier.Blueberries are the best espec in muffins.I like your healthy alternative.Will have to give this one a go!👍🏼👌❤

Awesome! Yup, unfortunately nothing quite beats a fluffy scone with lashings of cream and jam. These were quite satisfying though!

Mmmmm must be clotted cream and strawberry Jam.Feeling hungry now.lol.Was just checking out some of your post.Love antique furniture, there is so much history behind it.Do you also restore the items too?

we try to buy the pieces in good nick, so we don't have to spend too much time restoring (it can be time consuming and quite expensive) but we can do it if need be!

I see you post a lot of recipes, looks great. Followed you, looking forward to seeing your posts!

Aww bless you.Following you back also.I really like how your very eclectic.When i was younger i wanted to be an interior designer.I loved the whole up cycling of furniture and very unique antique pieces.I use to go to alot of boot sales with my dad.Your posts just reminded me of my youth.Will defo be checking out your future posts.❤

Wow! I like this kind of dessert @princessmewmew. 'Crumbly' desserts:x:x almost my favorites! I love the fact you had healthy ingredients! It looks really really good! Send me a slice pleaseee! ♥ ♥ ♥

ahhh thank you! healthy and delicious - I can get on that train!

Haha.It would be super super amazing :X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86