Healthy Eating | A Fig-y Fall Coconut Granola Kind of Day and Jury Duty?

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0124 (2).jpg

Boy, today was certainly an interesting day!


I was selected to report for jury duty! Because this was an election week, jury selections were postponed until today.


My number was a low one so I knew I would be up for grabs pretty early!


I arrived early at the courthouse and gathered in a room with 75 of my local peeps. Of course I hadn’t slept well with dreams about murder trials and being sequestered for weeks. We filled out forms, pledged to tell the truth, and watched videos about the trial process. To my surprise we were dismissed from duty after 3 hours because 3 of the 5 trials for the day settled, and 2 were continued. Whew!


The judge came in to thank us for our service. He told us its always interesting how attorneys are able to make things happen when there is a jury waiting in the wings. At that point he indicated we were done and wouldn’t be called again for at least a year! Interesting morning, just trying to do my Civic Duty!


Arriving home I decided it was time to cook! I find experimenting and creating in the kitchen is a great way to clear the mind, don't you? I promised a follow-up post a few days ago using the coconut I processed so it looks like today is the day!

DSC_0063 (2).jpg


todaysjourney.jpg


Fig-y Fall Coconut Granola

Today’s Ingredients!

  • Gluten Free Oats (2 ½ cup)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (1/2 cup)
  • Organic Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)
  • Cinnamon (1 tsp)
  • Nutmeg (1/2 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
  • Butternut Squash Pulp (1/2 cup)
  • Vanilla (1 ½ tsp)
  • Fresh unsweetened Shredded Coconut (1/2 cup)
  • Raw Pecans (1/2 cup chopped)
  • Dried Figs (1/2 cup chopped)
  • Raw Pumpkin Seeds (1/4 cup)

I made Butternut Ancho Chili the other day but used only half of the squash so the timing was perfect for this recipe! Did I say squash? Yes, really! We're using squash for this granola.


Trust me on this my friends!


Remove the squash pulp and place it in your favorite blender. Squash really takes on flavors very well. This will taste just like pumpkin pie when it is finished. I think you'll love it!


DSC_0036 (2).jpg


Add the Spices, Coconut Oil, Vanilla and Maple Syrup and blend until smooth.


DSC_0037 (1) (2).jpg


Pour this in a bowl with the pecans, pumpkin seeds and granola. Really mix this until all of the granola is well coated.


DSC_0042 (2).jpg


Now spread this mixture evenly on a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake at 325 for 20 minutes. Stir and bake for 30 additional minutes. Now add the coconut and figs and bake for an additional 5 minutes. Watch this carefully, if you think your granola is getting too brown, cover the top during the last few minutes. Let the granola cool and store it in an airtight container.


DSC_0050 (2).jpg

Your house will smell heavenly!

Enjoy this granola with your favorite yogurt, smoothie bowl or even as a snack!


We enjoyed this on toast layered with non-dairy Cream Cheese and sliced Bananas!


DSC_0110 (2).jpg


I hope you’ll try this wonderful fall treat! Great when you have a sweet tooth, just grab a bite my friends! Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 307 (11/09/18)

Butternut squash in granola? Super creative and super tasty! I would love to eat a bowl of this granola. The chewy figs and crunchy pecans scented with cinnamon...delicious!

Thank you @loveself! I too love figs and pecans in granola. This reminds me of the fall season :) so tasty with granola too. Hope you're having a beautiful fall!

I love granola and this recipe seems very yummy. I would not have thought that pumpkin would go into it but since it does have a fairly mild taste, I guess it works great 💚

When I decided to try this I had wasn't sure if I would end up with a big mess, lol I was pleasantly surprised, the spices really did the job. One bite and you think, fall! :) Thanks for stopping by @zen-art, appreciate !

This post has been upvoted for free by @nanobot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @nanobot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

Wow @birdsinparadise, you really are a genius, I would never in my wildest dreams have thought of pumpkin granola!
I do agree with you about kitchen therapy, gets rid of all the cobwebs no so ;)
Thank goodness your jury duty was over so quickly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64