DIY Nut Butter | Oh nuts! Its been on the shelf how long? Take charge of your food!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3128.JPG

Do you check the expiration date labels on everything before you buy it?

Everything?

I know I don’t.

Grocery Shelf life:

Did you know eggs can be on the shelf for 45 days
Potatoes can be stored for up to 11 months before they reach stores
Depending on the state,milk can be on the shelf anywhere from 12 to 21 days
source

I don't know about you but this doesn't make me feel very good.

We do have options! Buy from local farmers! Go to those farmer's markets, or even better grow or make your own!

Ever wonder about the age of those nut butters you buy at the local grocery?

Dating products is not even required by law. Infant formula is the only product in which product dating is required by the government. Sell by dates are just a guide for the stores so they know when to “rotate” their inventory. But most stores struggle to stay current. New software is constantly being developed to help them.
source

Knowing this I decided to take matters into my own hands. Part of my 2018 journey is to be more mindful about my health and well-being, examining my food. I know how to make a lot of things I buy at the store....but I've been to lazy or busy, but not anymore!

So join me Fellow Steemians while I churn my own nut butter!

We start with Raw Almonds

IMG_3060.JPG

You will need:

1 cup raw almonds
Salt ( optional to taste)
Olive oil or coconut oil (optional as you like for texture)
Dates, honey, agave (optional for added sweetness)

makes 1 cup almond butter

Preparation:

You will want to soak your almonds overnight in filtered water. (8-10 hours).

IMG_3063.JPG

Next morning:

Drain and rinse almonds
You can either dry the almond in the oven or if you have a dehydrator this works as well. Today I am using the dehydrator. (If you use an oven, set your oven to its lowest temperature. Dry 8-12 hours.)

Place almonds on dehydrator for 10-12 hours. Make sure they are dry.

Place dried almonds in your food processor. You will want to stop the processor periodically and scrape the sides. Initially the almonds will be crumbly. You will notice the almonds "heating up". This allows the oils to be released from the almonds, they begin to produce butter.

Be patient, keep processing! You may process for 15 minutes!

Gradually the almonds will begin to smooth, you may add a bit of when butter becomes smooth.

You may add salt if you wish!

Add honey, dates or agave if you wish!

See, I told you we could do it!

IMG_3124.JPG

Store in airtight container and refrigerate! Now isn't this great! Fresh, no additives and no preservatives!

IMG_3126.JPG

Thank you all for stopping by!
Birds in Paradise
Feel free to stop by and check out some of my prior posts!
Why would I pay $9 for this at the grocery? I can save you $$
When I realized you are what you eat, I realized I was nuts
Friday Foodies Fire! We’re turning up the heat!
How I almost lost my daughter to Asthma
Health-We’re rolling out rockin raisins

Sort:  

gorgeous post! and i must say having tried this recipe you just made it's a hit!!!... super delicious and had my taste buds begging for more.

shelf stability is such an important thing that many don't think about. rancid or stale oils are just about one of the worst foods we can put in our bodies! thanks for this enlightening post!

As always, such kind words! Thank you @mountainjewel!

Oh wow! Thank you so much @vegan.niinja! I am truly honored. Your posts are consistently amazing. I thank you so much! Looking forward to the next one!

I am just going to make this tomorrow! So good to make your own nut butter! Healthy and simple;)

Fantastic, let me know how it goes. I have really had fun with it. I loved adding the dates this time. Really added some depth to the butter! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56