DIY Kitchen | It's a Strawberry-licious Saturday!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0012 (a).jpg

It’s Strawberry Season my friends!


Time to celebrate with a bit of strawberry humor…

  • What do you call a sad strawberry?...A blueberry!
  • What is a scarecrow’s favorite fruit?...A Straw-berry!
  • What do you call a strawberry that uses foul language?....Berry Rude!

I know, I know they’re bad but hey, it’s Saturday! And Strawberries are in season!

DSC_0007 (a).jpg


As you can tell, I love Strawberries! I love the slightly sweet tart taste and they’re great with breakfast, lunch, snack time and of course desserts! Strawberries are packed with antioxidants and specifically Vitamin C! We can’t get enough of that during the winter months! They also have been found to have antimicrobial effects, help fight against harmful bacteria which are present during this time of year.


It’s fun to make Strawberry everything from pies to cookies, protein bars to smoothies…oh and of course Strawberry preserves! The price at the market is so cheap I buy in large quantities, preserving all I don’t use in the kitchen. One of my favorite preservation methods is dehydrating. Dehydrating the berries really intensifies the taste. Not only do they have a long shelf life this way, dried strawberries added to cookies and protein bars really adds an amazing strawberry-licious punch!


DSC_0001 (2).jpg


todaysjourney.jpg


Lets dehydrate Strawberries


What do you need? Strawberries! Nothing else, I promise! Wash and slice the strawberries, removing the stems and leaves.


DSC_0009 (2).jpg


  • Lay the slices on your dehydrator trays or a parchment lined baking sheet. Make sure they’re not touching! Dehydrate for 8-10 hours on @ 135 degrees or if using an oven use the lowest oven setting. Keep an eye on them… they won’t take quite as long in the oven. They should be dry but still pliable! Let them cool and then place the strawberries in a glass jar, filling 2/3 full. I usually let the strawberries sit for a few days before using. Note: if you see any moisture in the jar they are not fully dried…dehydrate a bit longer.

DSC_0012 (2).jpg


Beautiful aren’t they! A great fruit snack as well!


DSC_0022 (a).jpg


Thanks for stopping by today. Stay tuned my friends! Tomorrow I’ll be sharing an amazing protein bar using, you guessed it, Strawberries! In the meantime, do you like strawberries? What is your favorite strawberry recipe? I would love to hear.


And as always, blessings to you all


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Great idea to dehydrate strawberries! Oh I love anything with strawberries but if I had to pick my favourite, it would be a pavlova!
Strawberries & cream plus meringues are pure heaven!
7258xSVeJbKkzXhyseBP4PYz11eBDT8sW2oR1a4vfVFS6HrNpRnepvXg2mALqgpYqt9s65zV3E8pSVpmL9n39r6GT6eBsw4RL8xfW4CfK36xEiMetXkLzXxiWNxQu9dhYirfD1ZFtB2fg.jpeg

Oh my goodness, these are beautiful!!! I would love to have this recipe my friend :) Wow!

I did it for Steemit Iron Chef last year, meringues with a nutty base and served with strawberries and cream. Just a regular meringue recipe :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 362 (1/05/19)

Oh my goodnes I have to try this. What an easy and delicious idea. And there is never enough ideas for strawberries. Well done My Dear Mrs.Bird. I hope you are having a wonderful begining of 2019 🍓😍🍓

Thank you dear Lena! 2019 is off to a big start...busy, busy! I hope all is well with you and your familly! Not too cold I hope! I too love strawberries, they just make me smile :)

I do love strawberries in any way, but the best tastign I always find are ones you picked yourself, I remember fondly helping Dad to pick the strawberries in the garden, and probably annoying him for eating to many LOL

Aww, what a great memory @tatoodjay! We used to have strawberries in the garden, nothing better right?

Ohh yes it was such a pleasant memory so long ago but still such a fond memory of mine
and oh yes without a doubt best way to eat them

I love all berries but strawberries are definitely a favorite. I didn’t know you could dehydrate berries in your oven, great to know. Can’t wait to see your strawberry protein bars 😉

Yes you can!!! Just check frequently...should take a couple of hours but it works!

Dehydrated strawberries are delicious! As always; beautiful photography @birdsinparadise!

I know, so packed with flavor.. I'm sure your little one would love them! Thank you for your kind compliment, I'm so glad you stopped in today!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45