Pasta making (served with Duck and corn) - (Ulog #16)

in #food6 years ago


This morning (after sleeping in from a long night with the little one), I had promised that I would make pasta with our oldest daughter. We also had some duck breast that needed to be used, as it was bought yesterday right on the use by date (who can resist a 50% discount?) and some tasty looking corn. However, it would be the pasta making that would be the little highlight of the meal!

We (my daughter and I) have made pasta in the past, but she was complaining that it was quite some time since we had done it. So, it is a pretty easy thing to do, and the pasta is so much nicer than the dried pasta!

The recipe

The recipe that we use is a pretty simple one:

2 cups of flour
3 eggs
2 tablespoons of oil
a pinch of salt
tablespoon of water as needed

The pasta making


Measuring out the the flour and dumping it into a mixing bowl was the first thing to do. I should have thought ahead and used a flour sifter, but I was pretty tired so I completely forgot! Oh well, potentially slightly lumpy pasta in the making (although, in the end, it proved to be okay!).


Adding the salt is always one of the favourite bits. She keeps trying to hide the fact that she doesn't put it all in the bowl and tries to get away with licking it off her palm. I guess a little bit can't hurt, but I know she is dong it...


I had just been in France for a concert, and as always, I stock up on food, wines and lots of nice stuff (going there with a nearly empty suitcase). One of the things that I had brought back this time was this lovely nut oil. I really smells nice, my daughter seemed to think it smelled like fresh bread! Anyway, it was a nice chance to add it to the pasta dough.


Cracking the eggs... my wife always lets her do it, but this is the first time for me!


Hmmmm... I should trust her more, perfect egg cracking, no shells in the dough!


Mix Mix Mix! I hate doing this part, when it at the start of the mixing, it is really sticky and it gets all over and through your fingers. Lucky there was someone else that was willing and keen to do it!


Well, after the sticky bit is done, then I do the kneading. She didn't want to do this very much anyway, and was keen to get as much of the dough off her hands as possible! I was happier to take over when the dough wasn't as sticky! Win-Win!


After letting it sit for a little bit (I'm not sure why, probably to let the dough mature a bit... or to think about the meaning of being a dough), it is time to use the pasta machine. Unfortunately, the table we have doesn't fit the clamp, which makes it a pain in the arse as the machine moves around while you turn the crank.


...but I was feeling in a particularly inventive mood today, and we jury rigged a solution with the kiddie chair!


In an unusual moment of forethought, I decided it would be nice to take advantage of the good weather and we could do it outside. Also with the added bonus of keeping the mess outside!


After many runs through progressively thinner rollers, it was time to cut the pasta... leading to:


Home made PASTA!

The rest of the dinner


This next bit wasn't really for little girls, so I continued onwards with the cooking whilst she perfected her cartwheeling!


Duck and Corn! This is going to make for a nice summer meal!


The duck was just cooked in it's own fat along with lime juice and bit of salt and pepper. It was going to be cut up and mixed into the pasta anyway, so that's why I decided to cook it in strips rather than as a whole breast.


The original dinner plan did call for some fresh capsicum (paprika) on the side... but we had a thief.


The best thing about fresh pasta is that it cooks in a minute or two in the salted boiling water. In fact, you have to be a little watchful as you don't want to overcook it into a gluggy mess.


I'm not a good one for presentation, but here is the end result, which we ended up combining with a nice French cidre (more loot from the tour!). Well, I had cidre, my wife is still feeling under the weather, and the kids turn into nasty drunks...

Dessert


I would say that every dinner should have a dessert of some sort (I know my wife disagrees on this...), and this evening we rounded it all off with some tinned Lychees (I'm too lazy to peel them in the evening!) and nice vanilla ice-cream!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/08/01/pasta-making-served-with-duck-and-corn-ulog-16/

Sort:  

I LOVE making home made pasta. I make mine in the Ninja blender. I don't have a pasta roller thing, so I just use a rolling pin and a pizza wheel to cut mine. It means it's not as even/precise, but it works! That whole meal looks DIVINE!

What is a Ninja blender? Is it a food processor or some sort?

I think your method is probably the real old fashioned traditional method! After all it is pretty much the same thing! I also hear that wood has a better effect on the dough than metal?

It's a food processor/blender basically. I just can't knead/mix pasta dough by hand anymore because my hands fall asleep thanks to carpal tunnel.

I'm not sure about the wood/metal. I have been making pasta since I did it with my grandma and my mom as a kid. I actually don't even eat pasta much at ALL unless it's homemade (and that's rare, because it takes more work than I usually want to put into it). But my family considers it a HUGE treat!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 215 (8/03/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I've never made fresh pasta... Always wanted to though.
We will have to find a pasta maker my kids love making a mess, so this will be fun😂

It ends up being pretty easy! You can always make the dough the night before to keep in the fridge.

Really good Ulog my friend that was great. I love doing things with my older daughter and she is only 3 but this is a idea to do soon anyways

Soon! It is a little slower with their 'help' but it is more fun!

Making past seems easy enough. I have never made it and always wanted to try fresh pasta but I don't have the machine for it. I just love pasta. And only recently have tried duck and it is not too bad.
This will be some awesome memories for you and your girl to have later on. Something she can carry with her for years and years to come.

Ooooohh, duck is not too bad? It is my top meat choice! Followed closely by lamb...

Making pasta is pretty easy and having a pasta machine is really worthwhile if you like pasta. It ends up being really quick to make (without kids), and it cooks in about a minute or so! You will notice the difference!

I might just get myself one :D

I have had duck only once though so I am determined to eat more of it. I have never had any lamb before. Not something we have too common of here.

Duck are delicious! But I have only eaten the ones that grow up around our farm, and even though they eat creepy slugs and squishy bugs all day, they taste fabulous!

Do you catch (or shoot) wild duck? We mostly have the imports from France, or the ones that are farmed here in NL.

Very interesting! I am not quite familiar with Europe, but I imagine you trade food back and forth all over!

In Colombia I have never seen duck in the store, its either from a local neighbor farm, usually alive. We bought two as an adolescent, and ate the male, the female flew away to a neighbor farm, we kept an eye on it but they later ate it ;p

I have since fattened another male, they are nice to have to keep the slugs and bugs more under control. They eat bugs I never even see!

Ducks for bug control, that's a great idea! Do they eat your veggies as well, or are they safe?

Food trade is pretty good here, the EU zone in free travel of people and goods and services is a great thing!

Good! Yeah the ducks have been moving without regards to borders for years and they seem to be doing pretty good!

There are certain weeds that they eat, perhaps we don't plant much of what they would eat, we do have a lot of medicinals but I never noticed that they touched a thing...

....ok my wife is saying that they took out a bunch of lettuce and then we didn't plant that again because ducks taste better than lettuce, and they did eat some dahlia flowers and a wild mustard plant that we would eat if they didn't.

Yum! The process seems to be fun as well :)

It's pretty fun to do with kids! Not much that can go wrong....

A delicious looking dinner for a beautiful family! Cheers!

Thanks! It was a great dinner with fine company!

Awww your daughters are so beautiful! I love seeing families cooking together, it’s such a wonderful thing.

I am so glad I read your post. My husband and I have been talking about making our own pasta for awhile now but just haven’t looked into what we needed. I didn’t realize the ingredients to make it was so simple...like I have everything you used available in my kitchen right now. The only thing that’s missing is the pasta maker which I will be pricing now.

What a great looking meal! Thanks so much for sharing~ 😊

It is great fun to cook together if we all have time!

Pasta making (at least the basic one) is pretty easy and well worth the bit of extra time. We also put some of the dough in the fridge for this evening (maybe with an olive and anchovy tomato sauce). You can also get adventurous and start flavouring the pasta!

I’m really looking forward to trying this out. I love seasoning and flavoring food so I’d definitely try some variations.

What a feast! I bet the pasta was AMAZING!

It was pretty nice, we'll use the extra dough tonight, but this time with a tomato sauce of some sort...

I loved it when my little ones got involved making meals. Loads of great memories there. That looks very yummy.

It's lots of fun to do together, and it is subtle training for the future when the kids can cook and I can just sit back and enjoy!

I have to tell you that is the best part. I taught my son so well some of the dishes he makes come out better than mine 😎

I'm looking forward to that! Already the oldest does sometimes bring us toast in bed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47