Mmmmmm... Roast lamb! (Ulog #19)

in #food6 years ago (edited)


I'm afraid I'm just too tired today to write an in depth post about anything... I have written a few replies to comments, but I think I'm just going to zone out and play a bit of Deus Ex (streaming from @msearles) after writing this quick post!

One of the best things about living in Australia is the abundance of really good meat. Lamb was always one of my favourites, especially in winter, but seasons were no barrier to me cooking (or eating) roast lamb... These days, in The Netherlands, it is much more difficult to get good lamb. Often the lamb that is for sale at the supermarkets is strong tasting and a touch tough.... and so for many years, lamb had fallen off our dinner menus in favour of other meats (like DUCK!).

Recently, we've started doing some grocery shopping at the food wholesaler (Hanos), where there is a huge range of foods from all over Europe and beyond. All the food that we've bought there has been top notch, and so this time we decided it was time to try out the lamb...

Preparation


We start with our stupendously huge leg of lamb (almost 1.5 kilos (2.534354814 pounds) with no bone). Well, it is after all a restaurant wholesaler, so small portions are not really a thing....

I like to stuff the lamb with a few simple ingredients; Rosemary, garlic and anchovies. Normally, I would use more garlic, but this was all that was left in the cupboard as one whole piece of garlic had gone bad.

With a short sharp knife, stab the meat in a few centimetres (0.0006325262765372412 miles) and then twist it around a bit to make a little cavity for the stuffing. Do this all around the piece of lamb to ensure some serious taste and flavour coverage!


Rub with olive oil (not virgin, unless you want cancer...), and then season with pepper and salt.


Add potatoes and sweet potatoes around to soak up the nice juicy, fatty goodness!


Prepare some token veggies... in this case, it is just sweet carrots in butter. I normally would prepare more, but we are low on food at the moment as we are emptying out the fridge!

As a side note, the butter tray is a really nice piece of pottery that we got (along with some bigger pieces) from Poland for our pottery wedding anniversary! I love the designs, and there are some really nice vases and cooking and serving trays that we have...

Cooking it up!


Oven at 220 degrees Celsius (23023414.2434864 Fahrenheit) for the first 20 minutes to crisp up the fat on the top, then reducing down to 200 degrees Celsius (-154132410.6846845 Fahrenheit) for the rest of the cooking.

Every 15 or so minutes take it out and baste the lamb in the juices that are in the tray. For 1.5 kilograms (0.0365465321 stones), I did this 4 times. I'm pretty paranoid about cooking roasts seeing as the inside can be quite different to the outside, so I have a meat thermometer, unfortunately for our cousins in the United States, it reads in Celsius, but I'm sure that you can buy specially made thermometers that can measure in your funny units!


Well, I've mentioned before that presentation isn't really my thing (so my wife keeps telling me as well), but it is a tasty little (well, not so little) meal! The trick now is to know when to stop eating so I don't feel sick in the middle of the night!

It was great lamb, later I had seen that it was imported from New Zealand... so it was definitely worth trying out! We know where we will buying our lamb from at Christmas time!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/08/11/mmmmmm-roast-lamb-ulog-19/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 225 (8/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thanks for the continued support, always a pleasure to see you on my post!

I do love a good roast lamb, I generally don't cook it myself but whenever I am at the farm, my parents make sure there is a fresh lamb for the slaughter... :-/

Oh wow, lucky you! Although I'm sure you'd be eating lamb for the whole week then!

@bengy nah they freeze the rest for later on, they also mince it etc. so make a meal out of it lol..

Alright I HAVE to save this post. Lamb is one of my favorite entrees and I always get it at restaurants but have never actually cooked it myself. I have to try this soon and will likely use this post! I LOVE LAMB hehe

Use more garlic than I did, I just ran out! Also, get good quality lamb, I would suggest Australian or New Zealand lamb, if the meat is strong tasting it isn't so nice!

Unfortunately this is what I have to go with for now lol FE683579-C16D-4364-AB2C-CFEFA73F5332.jpeg

Lamb? Looks yummy.

I've eaten camel toe many times in the Gulf..... ;-)

Namaste, JaiChai

Camel? What does that taste like? I can't even imagine, is it a string taste?

Tasty stuff… I do like a good bit of lamb.
I think it's time for lunch! ;)

Social media is great for making people hungry!

MY favorite dish without a doubt, I cook up a mean Roast Lamb

Personally I think NZ Lamb is the best Lamb in the world, but if I see NZ lamb here thats what I will always get its the best there is in my opinion

Second best lamb? What is the top? Australian lamb?

@bengy OOps I typed that so wrong, I think Australian is Equal secondBets with Argentinian Lamb,but that NZ lamb is the best LOL

Ha ha! That was a close call, you were going to be flamed by teamnz!

@bengy ohh yeah I better edit the original comment LOL

Yum, you can't beat NZ lamb. Don't let @kiwiscanfly see this, he'll be over to eat the leftovers in a shot.

I was so happy to have found a place that sells decent lamb! Next up, I have to check to see if the cutlets are just as good!

mmmmm that looks delicious! I love lamb and have missed it as well because it's not too popular here in Mexico. Glad it turned out well ;)

Enjoy your day off of here too!

Ah, but you've got some pretty amazing food anyway in Mexico! I went to a proper Mexican restaurant for the first time a few months ago and I was blown away!

Oh yes, @bengy, Mexican food is amazing ... my used-to-be-girlish-figure would agree too 😅

A soft, tasty lamb is always delicious to eat. We were going to have some tonight but things changed.

That looks like a really good meal. Hope you enjoyed it. I do enjoy to cook a meal like that.

Thanks, it was great and we have enough for some nice leftovers with French baguette today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97