Recipe Review of The Roasted Root's "BEET, TURMERIC, AND MANGO SMOOTHIE"

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Esteemed greetings and peace be upon you!


Source For The Roasted Root's Recipe Photo

What a glorious Autumn day to enjoy beetroots! You must be thinking, "Seriously...BEETS?!"


source

Aside from staining your hands and everything around you to making unmentionable things the same color, did you know how wonderful they are for you? According to Organic Facts:

The health benefits of beets include treatment of anemia, indigestion, constipation, piles, kidney disorders, dandruff, gallbladder disorders, cancer, and heart diseases. They also help to prevent macular degeneration, improve blood circulation, aid in skin care, prevent cataracts, and treat respiratory problems. These benefits of beetroots can be attributed to their richness in nutrients, vitamins, and minerals.

Are they sounding better?

Nutritional Value:

Beets have a wide range of health benefits because of their nutritional content, including vitamins, minerals, and organic compounds like carotenoids, lutein/zeaxanthin, glycine, betaine, dietary fiber, vitamin C, magnesium, iron, copper, and phosphorus, while also being a source of beneficial flavonoids called anthocyanins. They are very low in calories, with no cholesterol, but they do have the highest sugar content of all vegetables.


source

There are of course many benefits from whole fruits and vegetables...You get the idea though that those beets are treats (unless you have kidney stones, my sincerest apologies)!

Sounding even better now?

For a little side note: The inner nerd in me always likes to know "why" or how something works. It is no different from when I have experienced "beeturia." Did you know why or what this phenomenon is?


source

So yes, a glorious day for beets! I came across this recipe last night from The Roasted Root and I wanted to try something similar this morning. My neighbor gave me 2 fresh beets, I had a mango that was sitting in the refrigerator for a while and some ginger that needed to be used up. What a great opportunity to try something like this! I had to improvise a bit, but the results even my husband enjoyed!

The recipe called for:

INGREDIENTS
1 small golden beet scrubbed and chopped
1 ripe banana peeled and frozen
1 ripe mango peeled and chopped
2 teaspoons fresh turmeric peeled and grated
2 teaspoons ginger peeled and grated
Zest of 1 orange
1-1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

Sadly I did not have fresh turmeric, a golden beet, or an orange but I made it work. I substituted a golden beet for a red beet, fresh turmeric for a teaspoon of ground, and orange zest for half of a lime juiced.


Please excuse my pathetic excuse for a photo...as you can see my crutches were nearby and I already indulged half-way into my smoothie!

source

The recipe does call for additional toppings such as chia seeds or walnuts, so I added a sprinkle of chia on top of my smoothie. Although the smoothie was very grainy it was delicious. I grated the beet and ginger and diced a fresh mango. We do NOT have a high power blender as the recipe suggests, so others out there would most likely have a less earthy tasting beet drink. I don't mind it though, I love earthy delights and I hope you do too!

Be well!!

Sort:  

Beeturia! I learn something new every day. Cool word and a great post! Really nicely researched and formatted, great choice of images and properly cited at that. The smoothy sounds great and I thought your picture was fine LOL

Happy to have found you! Following :) Cheers - Carl

Thank you! Cheers ;)

Get ready to turn your insides BLOOD RED with beats!!!!

Congratulations @belovebelight! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone.



Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Whenever I hear about Beets it just reminds me of Doug.




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original work of the post author. To learn more about this certification visit the Badge of Originality genesis post:
https://steemit.com/art/@carlgnash/the-badge-of-originality-human-certified-original-works
and see also @carlgnash's totally unofficial mission statement:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original content creator! You rock!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Well, I certainly learned a lot... Think I'll be on the beet kick for a while. Especially with the holidays coming up, I'm gonna need a running start to keep the pipes clean lol

You will most likely need this over beets for the holiday gluttony:

I'd try it at least once. Sounds ideal for breakfast.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by belovelight from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39