'German' Burritos

in #food8 years ago

Fair warning upfront: The only thing German about these burritos is the cook*.
Blame my husband for the name. It stuck.


So I have a pound and half of ground turkey left over from the 'No Name' Country Pie I made earlier this week. When I have that much hamburger on hand, it usually ends up as meatloaf or burrito filling. The Pie recipe was the meatloaf version, so now it's time to see if the turkey will stand up to being burrito filling .

Nothing fancy. I just want flavorful.

Brown the ground turkey. Drain any excess liquid.

Mix in one tablespoon each of the dry ingredients (powdered garlic, chili, cumin, flaked onions and corn starch), plus 1/4 cup of the wet (bbq sauce, ketchup, and worchestershire sauce) ingredients. Those measurements are approximate, by the way. I just generally 'eyeball' the amounts when throwing this together.

Stir occasionally so it doesn't burn.

Assemble the filling down the center of a flour tortilla.

Shred a little cheese over the top. Oh, and when you rattle the packaging on the cheese,

you get generous offers of help! LOL! (Yes, she did get a few strands. Happy girl although it's hard to tell when she's this shaggy.)

Fold the burrito in thirds. The heat from the filling is enough to melt the cheese. Dummy me forgot to buy lettuce on the last trip to the store, dammit! I'm stuck with just low-fat sour cream as my only other topping. Will pick up some tomorrow & give y'all a better finish picture than this.

Honest, it tastes better than this bland shot would have you believe! The cumin really stands out against the turkey. It's usually more subtle when I use hamburger. We'll see if adding the lettuce next time 'round makes a difference. I think it might. In any case, it's nice to have a bit of meat and dairy on the menu again. I'll be limiting the portions, but it broadens my options considerably.


*From what I can trace, about 95% of my heritage is German... Fritzes, Hartzells, Weisers, Messers, and about a half dozen more, plus a Sullivan in there a few generations back just to make things interesting.


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 05 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

that is brilliant - German food lol, greeting from Munich, upvoted and resteemed

My husband has an off-beat sense of humor - this is a perfect example. I have no excuse. I married him. Lol!

Hello from chilly Chicagoland and thanks for the uv & rs!

i like his humour very much

@aunt-deb do you like cooking? Why don't you try joining the Steemit Culinary Challenge?

I sort of like cooking... mine is the variety of what sounds good for dinner & what do I have on hand? Plus, it has to be diabetic friendly (hubby) and/or minimal cholesterol (me cuz of a stroke). That limits my options.

The level of competition looks pretty stiff, too.

That said, I see the next one is lemon-centric. That works for me and hubby loves lemons, so now all I need is to curb the carbs/sugar. There're possibilities in there somewhere...

Thanks for the invite and I'll keep an eye open for the compatible ones.

Once I saw your pup, I lost track of the burritos, lol! She's a cutie!

Lol! Thanks!
Oh and that's her master plan always... distract you with the cute and then snarf up what she's really after! See, it works... ;-D

haha -- I laughed out loud at that! She knows what she's doing, alright! Snack-master D, she is! (D is for dog, of course.)

Good one.... Snack-master D! That just might stick, too. Perfect!

I'm sure your little pup would agree, if you give her a snack! ; )

I fix these a lot. Easy and quick. Oh, and the filling smells scrumptious when the cumin heat up. Yum!

Thanks! Silly name for it, but tasty meal. ;-p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84