Food in Beijing Series #8: A Green Dumpling for Qing Ming, a traditional snack.

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer:
This post is written by Reena.K herself.

Qing Ming Festival a.k.a Tomb Sweeping Festival

Qing Ming Festival, also known as Tomb Sweeping Festival is a traditional festival that falls on the 15th Day of the Lunar Calendar. In other words, we have a public holiday from 5th till 7th April 2018. And SUNDAY becomes a working day in China.

"What? Sunday becomes a working day?"
"Let's save this for another interesting post that I might rant. LOL"

-Reena.K

Well, first things first, let's not forget that this is

Food in Beijing Series

Can we all turn on the Food mode switch?

Ok, I going to introduce something I never try in my entire life
*Drum Rolls

WeChat Image_20180408235713_副本.jpg

What is this?

This is 青团(qing tuan), there is no specific English name for it, it's basically a Green Dumpling with bean paste fillings.

The Green Dumpling is a traditional snack from Jiangnan province. The Green Dumpling is made from bean paste or lotus paste wrapped with mugwort juice mixed into the glutinous rice flour. The Dumpling is not sweet and not greasy, and has a sweet grass fragrance to it.

Some shops that sells the the Green Dumpling uses juice from other leaves. Traditionally it is used to as an offerings to the ancestors on Tomb Sweeping Festival but people now have eat it as a snack for spring.

What does it taste like?

I like the fact that it isn't too sweet, I would have this as a dessert with a cup of hot tea. It is like a sticky rice ball but the plastic wrap keep your hands from actually touching it. It is easy to eat, not too chewy and the bean paste just melts in your mouth.

Green Dumpling vs Cake

If I choose to be healthy I would go for the Green Dumpling, because one piece is good enough to make you full.
This snack goes perfect with Green Tea

How about Green Dumpling with Coffee?

I should try it next time, I still can't tell how well these two would go well together.

MUGWORT FACT!

Do you know that mugwort has medical benefits of relieving asthma and it promotes the bile to function well? The mugwort juice is also consumed for beauty because it promotes the blood circulation of the body.


So what do you think about the post about? Have you ever seen anything like this before? Or you are just like me, seeing this for the first time. leave the comments and let me know. FYI, comments are all read by me personally.
Cheers,
Reena.K



Check out my previous posts
One more step to 50!!! A Steemit Diary: reflections and progress
Food in Beijing Series:What I did on Easter + Drooling Pics
One more step to 50!! brief newbie guide at the end of the post

banner!!.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Looks very healthy. I have not tried it before.

I am sure it is much healthier than the junk food I am used to but I cannot honestly say I think that sounds good... lol! I have a pretty adventurous spirit, but not taste buds!

hahaha. this isn't too bad. I personally have not try their durian pastries here

You had me at green tea and bean paste dumpling which I love eating here

Had to double check mugwort as I know it in video games as medicine for wounds haha

lol. I forgot about mugwort in video games but i do know that chinese medicine talks a lot about mugwort. I didn't know you guys have bean paste dumpling too in the Philippines too, is it green too? It's my first time having it . I was a bit afraid of trying green stuff but thankfully it actually taste really good.

Yeah we have because of the profound Chinese influence in food here. We have the oldest Chinatown in the world.

It comes in all colors, green and violet are notable. I love it with tea.

I think I'm not Chinese enough because i nvr seen this back home. 😂
it seems that the Chinatown in the Philippines kept most of the tradition while at my home country it evolves towards HK or Taiwan influence, young generations start to follow what's latest in on the TV shows and some traditions are even forgotten

Hahaha funny that you say that but may have some truths as most of the Chinese here are from mainland China out to make a good living and have a lot of opportunities.

Yes that is a fact of life as people go for what is the trend and forget tradition.

Interesting. I've never seen this green style dumpling. Your posts are always educational! Keep up the good work :D

Thank you for the support ! i really appreciate it. by the way, I'm organizing a contest giving away SBDs , its free to join, just support that post and write an answer.
click here

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 17:32:04
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 72.70/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=asianetwork
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=food-iin-beijing-series-8-a-green-dumpling-for-qing-ming-a-traditional-snack


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 07:29:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 77.80/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49