The Art and Beauty of Giving~ Why I Enjoy Dinner Parties

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6906.JPG
I always keep infused water chilled in glass bottles, this one is Thai basil blooms, lime thyme blooms and mint

From a young age, the flavors, smells and conversation that were built around meals fascinated me. People seemed to get closer, open up and relax their personas around a good meal. I have always enjoyed going to restaurants but there is something more comforting and alive about cooking for others and having them sit and enjoy your food around the dinner table.
IMG_6918.JPG
As a teenage mother I became independent. Although I worked 2 jobs, there wasn't a lot of extra money to go out or to treat others with gifts. Yet my refrigerator and pantry were always stocked, and that was the start of my dinner parties
IMG_6919.JPG
Always keep a variety of drinks available including non alcoholic beverages
With common staples in your pantry and refrigerator, you can create delicious and easy to prepare dishes. Simple things such as candles, cloth napkins, mood lighting and the company of loved ones around a table of things prepared with your own hands and heart make for a lovely evening!
IMG_6905.JPG
Kale salad with pumpkin seeds, cranberries, lemon zest and horseradish dressing
I have always felt that taking some time off your schedule to do something nice for others is a great way of showing them how much they mean to you. Serving them something you've made with them in consideration and being a good host/hostess shows you care and their comfort and enjoyment is your priority.
IMG_6921.JPG
Shirley Temple Cake with Mint
I never stress about decor, I use what I have around. Wine bottles and rosemary sprigs in water make minimalist centerpieces as you can see here when I converted this folding party table into an extra eating area for my guests.
IMG_6920.JPG
Being able to welcome those I care for into my home to gather around a meal, planned or unplanned, will forever be for me a way to show them they are important to me, and I appreciate having them in my lives.
IMG_6917.JPG
What do you like to do for others?
IMG_6903.JPG
spanish chorizo breakfast hash
IMG_6732.JPG

Sort:  

Ok, All Meds have been filled and ready to look over this post... lol
Don't know if I brought this up before but You really need to publish a coffee table book with all these lovely posts. Throw in some recipes with all the pictures and maybe a selfie or two...:)

haha Have the blood pressure cuff ready as well!

Yes you've told me before but I would hate to carry the guilt of all the medical emergencies that would follow haha jk

Maybe sometime soon I just might. I have always thought about doing it, I just need to actually do it. I'm just so always doing something it's crazy!

Absolutely gorgeous post -- tops!

I can imagine that your dinner parties are a lovely event as you are so very gracious here, it shines through.

Geez, now you're making me blush.
Thank you <3

You are so creative @artedellavita! Just love your set up, minimalist but lovely, just like I love it!
Hope i'll be your guest someday!

Aww thank you! But your dishes and presentation are the beautiful ones, I'd feel shy haha

I like how you don't stress about decor and use what you have. Well done.

Yes! It's so much more easier and frugal. Repurposing is always best!
Thank you friend and a lovely Wednesday to you!

You can set a place for me anytime - Looks good!

Haha always, thank you :)

Such a beautiful hostess with talent and warmth. I like to buy people gifts and watch them open them. I like to buy gifts for the senses with smells, tastes, touch, visual beauty and sounds and life! Then they give lasting enjoyment.

Aww thank you!
Yes I can relate to that, my favorite part of Christmas, or gift giving, is to watch others open their gifts haha :)
That is so wonderful, you take all the senses in consideration, that is truly a treat for the receiver!
Happy Wednesday :)

Your very artistic and a really good cook, that food looks gorgeous, :)

You made this blonde blush :)

Is this all from a recent dinner party? I know you have a lot of things going on outside of here, but you should add event planning to that list LOL you always have things so well organized and looking as they should for the occasion.

Haha yes, I usually host 2 dinner or lunch parties in my home a week :) I enjoy it so much!!!

Congratulations @artedellavita! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wishing I was your next door neighbor. Haha Everything looks wonderful, love your style. The food oh my goodness ... lip smacking good

I wish you were my neighbor too!

Thank you for complimenting me, I'm gonna blush now lol ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47